We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spacious & Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland
Ranked #11 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spacious & Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here on for just one night when attending a 30 year school reunion. Really a pity to just be here for one night as the 1 bedroom apartment (2130) in M Block was really quite spacious, nicely furnished and decorated. Other serviced apartments I have stayed in historically have been a little soulless. Here they have at least put some prints and mirrors on the walls, a nice throw on the bed, cushions on the lounge. All of this makes it feel much more homey than your typical serviced apartments. The apartments, whilst not in the most picturesque part of town in Zetland are in good proximity to Sydney CBD (about 15 mins and $20 to cnr King and George Streets) and are fantastic value. I paid $115. This is compared to most hotels in the CBD for that night at $300+. The only minor downside, in my view, was, the young woman who checked me in on arrival was a little perfunctory. The young lady who checked me out was much friendlier.
I will definitely be back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland when the need arises.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuitarmanBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear GuitarmanBowral,

It is a pleasure to read your delightful comments and we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Meiton Zetland.

We pride ourselves creating an experience for our guests at Meriton Zetland and providing delightful experiences. It is wonderful to see that you have enjoyed your stay and encapsulated your own special memories.

I was disappointed to read that your experience with a member of staff was perfunctory. It is rare to receive such feedback and I will certainly have this issue addressed with the colleague in question and we will go through your comments with our team to improve the services we provide and pride ourselves on.

GuitarmanBowral, we hope to welcome you back to Meriton Zetland in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Nathan Coote
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    578
    98
    24
    24
See reviews for
583
560
155
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here on the last day of our NrL grand final holiday and i just want to say thankyou to the staff who just were so so helpful.Great customer service,great room just loved it.Beds are to die for just so comfy.Great work Zetland will definitely be back every year.

Room Tip: probably corner suites are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Kell R,

It is a pleasure to read your wonderful comments!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your prospective NRL team won the deciding game. I’ll certainly pass on a message to all of our team here at Zetland in regards to your wonderful service feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nathan Coote
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Meriton at Zetland is great value - runs like a machine, staff ALWAYS very helpful, accomodation and appointments all brilliant. Full kitchen, brand new, quiet, everything works, everything is new. Get in before they put the prices up!!

Handly to rail and bus transport; on the way to the airport but still close to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear GaryM1961,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay.
I am happy to know you were very pleased with the upkeep of the apartment and the convenience offered during your Sydney City trip.

We look forward to having you stay with us again at Meriton Zetland.
Kind Regards,

Nathan Coote
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great Rooms, clean, lovely comfortable furniture, excellent venue.Would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to this area of Sydney.I would certainly stay there again. Handy to shops, etc.Car Park and lifts are both very close to the rooms, making it easy to transport your luggage from the car to the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margw53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Margw53,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Meriton Zetland. I am ever pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Meriton Zetland. Our fully self-contained apartments do mean that you can unpack and feel at home very quickly and I’m glad you enjoyed your experience at Meriton Zetland.

The spacious living arrangement certainly ensures a convenient and more comfortable stay for all of our guests.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Nathan Coote
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

For the last leg of our Sydney + NSW trip, as the Meriton in Kent Street was fully booked, I went for the sister property in Zetland, which is located almost halfway between both the Airport and CBD.

After doing the check-in, we were given Unit 929, which was on the 9th floor of Block O, the tallest one amongst Meriton Zetland's five blocks (all 22 levels of it) and gave a nice view not only of the surrounding area but even the cute rooftop gardens on the adjoining buildings! While the 1-bedroom apartment was of roughly the same size as Kent Street, it had that "fresh and new" feel to it, as the Zetland property opened in 2012. The usual facilities were in place, including a modern and fully equipped kitchen (although slightly smaller than the one in Kent Street), spacious living + dining area, comfy bedroom with TV, airy balcony, and large toilet.

However, the value-for-money is in the Zetland property's rates, which is much cheaper than similar 1-bedroom apartments in the CBD. For such a contemporary and comfortable unit, we only had to pay AUD152.00 per night, which is the price for a 3-star hotel in the City Center. Equivalent apartments in Sydney would easily cost over AUD200.00 per night, for sure (in fact, Kent Street charged us AUD197/night, which is considered quite affordable)!

As for parking, there were two levels of basement car parks and similar to other Meriton properties, I had to take a ticket from the entry machine and then get it validated for AUD25.00 a day for unlimited entry-exit from Zetland. While the daily rate was still pricey, it was cheaper than Kent Street (AUD35/day), presumably due to the location that is 15 minutes outside the CBD.

Speaking of location, this Meriton property is in the Zetland suburb, which is adjoining Alexandria (my wife has a friend staying there), Waterloo (where another Meriton is located), and Mascot (the airport precinct). However, even though food options were quite limited in Zetland, we only had to take a short 10 minute drive to Randwick, which is where many Asian students of the UNSW reside and there was an abundance of Malaysian / Thai / Indonesian / fast food restaurants to go for! As for stocking up on groceries, another 5 minutes drive would lead us to Waterloo, with a large Coles Supermarket almost next door to the local Meriton building.

In short, if you want an apartment which is on the fringes of the CBD but at an affordable price, then Meriton at Zetland comes highly recommended. Of course, while there are buses stopping at South Dowling Street, it is always easier to go to the City with your own rental car instead!

Room Tip: If possible, go for a unit on the higher floors of the 22-level O Block, for better views of the sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear HannTi_Tan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Meriton Zetland. I’m glad you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location to explore Sydney.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Nathan Coote
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Being on my own, and arriving on a very warm day, I was bowled over to be upgraded to an apartment. The staff was great, the apartment great and I enjoyed the area. Not far from railway station, so close to the city. The map that reception gave me was very helpful especially in finding the supermarket. I would stay again next time I am in Sydney.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony if you like watching the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sharon D,

Thank you for your excellent feedback in regards to your recent stay at Meriton Zetland.
I am very pleased to read that you found the hotel located in a handy location close to surrounding cafes and local transport.

On behalf of the team, thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Zetland soon.

Kind Regards,

Nathan Coote
Senior Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

They don't accommodate booking instructions at all and even when I've spoke to the desk about future bookings they don't follow through. There's also frequently things wrong with the room (broken washing machine, damage carpets, flooding in the sauna) which is pretty bad for a new building in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland
Address: 8 Defries Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zetland The plane has landed and you’re now in Sydney! Moments away in the vibrant suburb of Zetland, a luxurious suite promising all the comforts of home and resort style facilities eagerly awaits your arrival! Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland is located 3.5 kilometres from Sydney Airport, 4 kilometres from Sydney CBD and boasts 334 oversized, contemporary suites complete with modern, fully equipped kitchens and internal laundries. Take it all in as you open the balcony doors of your suite, enjoy the fresh breeze and appreciate the inner city suburban atmosphere surrounding you. A swim in the heated 20m lap pool will have you energised after your flight, unwind in the spa and sauna and keep up your fitness routine in the state of the art gym open 6am – 10pm, complimentary and for the exclusive use of our in house guests. Comfy, plush bedding promises the perfect night’s sleep, and enjoy pampering in style with luxury Peter Morrissey bathroom amenities. Our superior service staff are available 24 hours to assist you and are more than happy to recommend nearby dining, shopping, attractions and transport. East Village shopping centre is close by with supermarket, specialty retail and eateries. Neighbouring suburbs of Waterloo and Surry Hills offer popular inner city dining and cafes. Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland offers an exciting accommodation option for those stopping over in Sydney between flights, an extended stay or a weekend city escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Meriton, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing