We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fitted the bill perfectly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meriton Suites Zetland
Ranked #11 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Picked up my daughter from USYD and she still had a take home exam to do. the One Bedroom + Single gave her a bed and a desk to power up her laptop with free wifi and she was able to finish her exam by midnight so that it could be handed in the next day. We needed an apartment near to the east of the city for a medical appointment and the location was great. everything was new, the staff were great and our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickandRina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear MickandRina F,

The apart you stayed in, we call a 1BED-T. Like your comments read "Fitted the bill perfectly". These are great apartments that give a little bit of extra space for privacy. I do hope that your daughter receives a good outcome from her exam.
I will also pass on the comments about the staff. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Belinda L Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,975 - 2,981 of 3,110 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a business trip for 2 nights, the apartments are along side Sth Dowling street in Zetland just near Moore Park Super Center, the apartments themselves are very nice though the beds are very hard which is not to my liking. There is no-where to get a decent meal, I was sent down the street to a coffee shop which had cockroaches coming out of the food area - ah - there is no-where to do grocery shopping which would have been handy since the apartment had a full kitchen, best bet here is to order in. The noise, it does not stop, you can't open a window, and forget sitting outside, the traffic is pretty much 24/7 and the walls and ceiling are very thin, I could hear every word being spoken in the unit above. Apart from getting no sleep forget trying to catch a cab, we had reception call a cab and after an hour we were still waiting, in the end we were forced to ring work and have someone come and get us. I can't think of any reason you would want to stay here, and for $290 a night room only, go stay at the Stamford near the airport at least you will get a good night sleep, breakfast in the morning, and a cab when you want it.

Room Tip: If you are forced to stay here, make sure you ask for a room as far away as possible from Sth Dowlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller_Chelly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Traveller_Chelly10,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Zetland and thank you for your review. I am truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to discuss your concerns in more detail. If you could contact us via'tripadvisor@meriton.net.au'this would be appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Belinda L Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed at this accommodation in a 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment was excellent. Spotless an smelt fresh. The apartments were tidied very day. We saw the cleaners arriving in the morning. The lifts were being cleaned every morning too. The cleaners were very friendly an did a great job. We were checked in by Fran, who was excellent. Very friendly an helpful. He gave us a map of closet shops an places to have breakfast. We were checked out by Nke, she too was very friendly. Would love to come back to the Meriton! Thank you

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Lorraine S,

"Excellent stay" Thank you. It is always great to read fantastic comments such as yours. I will definitely be passing on all your feedback to all staff especially Franz and Ake. Franz is only new to the team so its great to see that he is following in his peers footsteps like Ake.
Thank you once again for you review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Belinda L Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

location near airport and 5 minute walk for bus to Sydney and very good value.
[received special rate as just opened.
The area is a bit dead at moment as it is in Victoria Park and units are still being built and only very small choice for cafe and food in close walking distance.
However only 5 minute drive from Colesnd restaurants and cafes etc near Danks St

Room Tip: ground floor apartment is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doolan864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear doolan864,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our new Meriton apartments at Zetland. We have only been open now for 5 months but working hard to provide a great place to stay.
Shops have started to be built and in the near future which will make this area fantastic.

Kind regards,
Belinda L Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

1 bedroom appartment with all brand new stuffs. My mum enjoyed it and I do happy for the easy parking and all way driving through the city. it's nice for weekend but weekdays are noisy cos new appartment are under construction next door and starts too early in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynthiaYingC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear CynthiaYingC,

"Great Apartment" Thank you for such a great review. I was glad to hear that you and your mum found it up to your standards.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Belinda L Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Apartment itself was nice - however requested a balcony and could not open the windows, had a staff member come to assist who did not know how to open them and I could not sit and admire the view as the balcony was very stuffy. Also requested assistance from a housekeeper on how to locate my room - and was told that they didn't know the room numbers and locations. I thought this to be very strange. Reception staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucienicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Lucienicol,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Zetland and thank you for your review. Negative feedback is not really something we like to read but in this case it will be constructive. We do have a lot of new staff at the moment and from what your review has mentioned we really need to do some more training with floor staff.
Thank you for the great comments about the front desk staff, I will pass these on.

Kind regards,
Belinda L Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We where staying in a 2 bedroom appartment for 2 nights for a total off 316 dollar. It was like coming home in luxery. I loved de space and great to have a king bed. We walked from the hotel to green square train station, that was a 10 min walk. We bought some breakfast stuff to prepair our breakfast, everything was available in the kitchen.
Also the internet was very fast. The bathrooms where very nice and spot on. With a great bath in one of the bathrooms. If I ever come back to sydney I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Moira13,

"What a amazing apartment" Thank you for that. The review you wrote was great. Our units are like living at home, very spacious and the king size beds are great.
The supermarket and train station are not too far and can be a relaxing walk to buy some breakfast groceries.
We would love to welcome you back next time you are in Australia.
Kind regards,
Belinda L Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#23 of 179 in Sydney
2,118 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Zetland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Zetland

Address: 8 Defries Avenue | Zetland, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $97 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Zetland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be invited into the vibrant inner-city suburb of Zetland by our friendly porter assistance and experience superior service 24 hours a day with our professional and hospitable Guest Services team. Boasting 334 oversized and spacious suites, we promise all the comforts of home while at the same time showcasing resort style facilities here at Meriton Suites Zetland. Our range of Classic Studios to Modern Suites with 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms are fitted with comfy, plush bedding with deluxe linen, guaranteeing the perfect night's sleep while our luxurious, beautifully scented bathroom amenities will leave you feeling pampered. Featuring well-appointed kitchens and internal laundries, a reflection of the better quality priority of our Meriton Suites brand, our guests are able to take absolute comfort throughout their stay with us. Take it all in as you open the balcony doors of your suite, enjoy the fresh breeze and appreciate the inner city suburban atmosphere surrounding you. A swim in the heated 20 metre lap pool will have you energised after your flight, unwind in the spa and sauna or keep up your fitness routine in the state of the art fitness centre, complimentary and exclusive for our in-house guests. Come home from a day out to a freshly serviced suite, with our housekeeping team working daily to provide luxury cleaning for your comfort. Take some time out and browse the net with our complimentary high speed Wi-Fi connection, accessible from all parts of our hotel, including your suite. Strategically positioned 3.5 kilometres away from Sydney Airport and 4 kilometres from Sydney's CBD, Zetland is undergoing an urban renewal in the construction of modern retail, business and residential developments, making us the perfect place for all travellers looking for a convenient location. The newly established East Village shopping centre is only a couple of minutes' walk away, fitted with supermarkets, specialty retail and eateries to cater to all tastes. Neighbouring suburbs of Waterloo and Surry Hills offer popular inner city dining and trendy cafes while our location only moments from Green Square station and bus stops can transport our guests to the sights and wonders of Sydney in an instant. To discover the local area, our guests will love our positioning in between two of Sydney's finest golf courses - the Australian Golf Club and Moore Park Golf Club. Only a stone's throw away is the historic Sydney Cricket Ground, Allianz Stadium and Royal Randwick Racecourse. The Centennial Parklands will be the perfect setting for a daily run or walk, where travellers can be encapsulated by its beautiful surrounds, lush grassy areas and a magical water fountain or for a designer fashion shopping experience, Paddington and Surry Hills provides ample choices along their boutique scattered streets. Be whisked away to an exciting urban locale and stay with us at Meriton Suites Zetland, where you will find better comfort and better value in our luxury suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Meriton Suites Zetland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing