We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Suites Zetland
Ranked #13 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Me and my wife stayed there for four nights and each night we went to this nice little Italian Restaurant for Dinner. It is about 4-5 minutes walk from the hotel and is called LIttle Piazza. Hope the reception recommends this place to all future clients.
Hotel is Nice, Brand New and Staff are so nice too

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Peter H,

Thank you for your feedback and kind review. It is always pleasing to read good comments and were happy that your enjoyed your stay.
We will pass on your comments about the Little Pizza restaurant.
Our friendly team hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,207 - 3,213 of 3,320 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed two nights at the Meriton Zetland and we were very happy with our unit. The only problem is that there is a lot of construction happening in the are and there is a great deal of noise from trucks, however if you closed the doors it wasn't too bad, but closing the doors meant you had to turn on the air conditioner as it was too hot otherwise. To get into the underground carpark you need to swipe your key, however the key swipe is on the wrong side of the entrance and exit, this needs to be rectified before there is an accident.
We did enjoy are stay, the staff were very pleasant and the rooms were very comfortable with all the mod cons. We are staying at the Meriton in Danks Street, Waterloo on Sunday and hope it is as good as Zetland.

Room Tip: I would ask for a high floor facing Defries Avenue as the other side would look over South Dowling S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadiseDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Paradise dreaming,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our new "Great Apartments" and thank you for your review. Unfortunately we are still under construction and there is still a little construction noise.
The car park is duel access but we are making changes to upgrade the system for better access.

Our friendly team at Zetland hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartment Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Furniture and amenities couldn't be faulted. Carpark was a construction zone. Requested a password for the internet twice then gave up asking. Bathroom door wouldn't close properly and Foxtel didn't work at all. In a 2 storey apartment, we were surprised that there was only one telephone in the whole apartment and that was located downstairs in the study area. I know these are new apartments but were grossly overpriced for a one night stay, which we felt was a rip off.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Janelle W,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us a Meriton Zetland and thank you for your review. I am truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I would still like to discuss your concerns in more detail. If you could contact us via 'tripadvisor@meriton.net.au' this would be appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Couldn't fault the interiors of these brand new apartments. Well apointed spacious rooms, friendly, helpful staff, and beautifully landscaped grounds. Quite luxurious in fact, but be aware not all buildings are complete as yet . The Swimming pool and gymnasium not yet available, but everything is expected to be finished with all apartments operational by February, 2013.
The Zetland district was once heavily industrialised, but the factories are now gone and lots of new multi storey residential buildings are popping up everywhere and roads improved, A very nice central park has been created about two blocks from the Meriton.
On the down side, there are yet no shops or supermarkets or any facilites much at all in the immeditae vicinity. About 6 minutes walk from the Meriton there are two restaurants and a convenience store. The nearest public transport is a bus route, also about 6 minutes walk and a train station 15 minutes away. (The bus journey to the city is very slow.) Not all the footpaths to reach these points have been properly formed as yet.
There are more modern high rises being built in the vicinity and there is a huge hole in the ground adjacent to the Meriton where a mammoth high rise building is about to commence. Some the dust I suspect coming from the excavation is deposited on the exterior windows and outside walls of the apartments. There is a lot of noise from truck movements and building activities all day, but the apartments are well insulated if all doors and windows are kept closed, but it is not pleasant to sit outdoors on the balconies. Work on the creation of a shopping centre will commence soon close to the Meriton as well.
Be aware too that the apartments front the Eastern distributor, a busy 6 lane roadway and there is traffic noise both by day and night no matter which apartment block you are allocated. However the noise is barely audible inside the apartments. .
At the moment, the area is not so nice mainly because of the building activities, but in time I think it will be much more pleasant, when the district is fully renovated, but that will some time away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard would probably be more pleasant if traffic noise annoys you. Rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShepLapstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear ShepLapstone,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our newest property Meriton Zetland. Yes we do have “Luxurious” apartments at Zetland and spacious too. But unfortunately we are still part of a construction site which will be finished early next year. The garden in the centre of the complex is designed to bring a little tranquillity to the inner city. I am sure, once complete it will be your home away from home when choosing a peaceful time away.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff, I will be sure to pass them on. Our friendly team at Zetland hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartment Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My ground apartment was lovely and so new that the paint small was nearly overpowering. Stuff like no powerpoints that you can use near the desk and a front door (clear glass) that couldn't be covered up (no privacy) didn't help.

Give it another 3-6 months for some fine tuning and these apartments should be great. Right now I hope you're not sensitive to paint fumes.

Room Tip: Don't take one of the ground floor rooms unless you don't mind being seen from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Ulrich M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland and thank you for your review. The apartment you stayed in was one of the last few that we did put online to sell during opening. I do apologise that the paint smell was over powering for you but we have since deodorised that apartment and the smell has now gone.

The doors however, are not in real sight of people walking through on the street as the gates at the front do protect this. But since your review we have decided to tint them a darker colour for our guests to feel more comfortable.

Thank you once again for you recommendations.


Kind regards
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Been staying at the Meriton apartments for years and was looking forward to trying this new property out. Everything is very new and clean as expected. The apartments were very spacious and smelt really nice! The staff were friendly and there was free street parking on the weekends (4hr limit on Saturdays, unlimited on Sundays). The hotel is also close to Danks Street which has quite a few amazing cafes for brunch and a small town centre.

We only had two issues with the place: 1. The sheets were really rough on the skin and not very comfortable at all. 2. The traffic in the area is appalling. We booked a taxi from the hotel to dinner in the city, but it never even arrived. We ended up driving ourselves and soon realised why the taxi never came - the entire suburb was in deadlock traffic as the hotel is quite close to two stadiums that regularly host events.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay. The hotel was very quiet and reception was lenient with our check-out time. We would consider staying again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ally1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear ally1945,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our “Nice new apartments”. It is nice to read such great comments about the cleanliness of the apartments. I will be sure to pass this onto our House Keeping Manager.
I am extremely disappointed with the taxi service not showing up as we have been in frequent contact with them to ensure they have our details in the system.
And yes, the Sydney Traffic can be an issue when we have events on at Moore Park but I would suggest to ask reception for an attentive route.

Our friendly staff, hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Meriton Serviced Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The property has only been open a couple weeks and the finishing touches are still being applied however they don’t distract from the comfort and value of the property. Its hard to knock a two week old property. Access to and from is brilliant as the Eastern Distributor is very close. Secure Parking is a breeze, and the warm welcome and ease of check in was professional and efficient .The surrounds are a little soulless at present ,due only to the fact that future developments are still being completed and in times to come the precinct will come alive . If you don’t have a vehicle then you may be better served looking at another property within the group . Value for money and I definitely would stay again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Street M, Manager at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear myskils,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our "Brand New Property" at Zetland. It is a really exciting time for us, only being open for two weeks. The finishing touches are still being applied but we are working hard to meet the standards within the Meriton Group.

You were our first TripAdvisor review and we are so pleased that you will definitely returning and your recommendations will start Meriton Zetland in a positive light for future guests.

Kind Regards
Serviced Apartment Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#24 of 182 in Sydney
2,250 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 182 in Sydney
4,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Zetland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Zetland

Address: 8 Defries Avenue | Zetland, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $79 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Zetland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be invited into the vibrant inner-city suburb of Zetland by our professional and hospitable Guest Services team. Boasting 334 oversized and spacious suites situated across 22 floors, we promise all the comforts of home while at the same time showcasing resort style facilities here at Meriton Suites Zetland. Our range of Studio to Modern Suites with 1, 2 and 3-bedrooms are designed to be up to three times larger than a traditional hotel room and are fitted with comfy, plush bedding with deluxe linen, guaranteeing the perfect night’s sleep. Featuring well-appointed kitchens, internal laundries and modern flat screen TVs complete with a range of Foxtel channels, guests are able to take absolute comfort throughout their stay with us. The newly established East Village shopping centre is only a couple of minutes’ walk away, fitted with supermarkets, specialty retail and eateries to cater to all tastes. Conveniently located only moments from Green Square station and bus stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Meriton Suites Zetland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing