We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful Pub Grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro

Bistro
81 Goulburn Street | (Cnr Pitt Street), Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9211 2992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,147 of 4,981 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Pub, Irish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: Maloney's has all the warmth, heart and atmosphere as if it was transported from the Emerald Isle. Open 7 days a week, Maloney's has fantastic Bistro Meals, Irish Menu and drink and dining specials. Great destination to head into for a fun filled night with friends or a quite pint or two.
sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

For a good value pub meal you can't go wrong with Maloney's.
It hits a spot!
I recommend the Chicken Schnitzel with Bernaisse sauce and beer battered chips.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brettystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Macleay Island, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you go on a Tuesday night they do a help yourself special of roast, chicken, pasta and a variety of salads

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keithmay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food for a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I visited Maloney's with a large group of friends a few times and was pleasantly surprised. We were staying at the ibis World Square and wanted somewhere close to the hotel were we could all meet and catch up between outings. The food was great and reasonably priced and the beer was delicious (they had a great selection).

One minor problem we had was on the Sunday night we were having a few casual drinks (about 9:45pm) and conversation, when they turned the lights off and cranked the music right up. I didn't do much for the atmosphere of the pub and was a bit disappointing (seriously, 9:45 on a Sunday night?).

I'll definitely return though if we are ever close by!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thorrnydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Ports, Good Food, Good Price. Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed in Sydney CBD for 4 nights. Looking for somewhere to eat that was not Asian/Thai, or where a steak can cost you $40-50, just good Aussie type tucker, not too expensive. Very hard to find. Finally found it at Maloney's Hotel the atmosphere, the food was really great, good size meals and not expensive. The service was very good as well. Mid week it was not overcrowded or too noisy just a really nice relaxed atmosphere with good food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#