We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Abey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Abey Hotel
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Selected the Abby Hotel on location that was available on the Australia Day long weekend to take 2 teens to a concert in Centennial Park. Pricing was great for 3 and the Location was better than expected. Only short stroll to Oxford Street and taxis available all hours to get to the park. Discovered it was only approx 5 mins from Museum station and it was a nice downhill walk from Centennial Park which took me approx 20mins. There is also a handy convenience store 2mins up the road.
We arrived around 1pm and was told there would be a delay on check in as room was not ready but within minutes was allowed to access our room. Our room was spacious and clean. We had room 218 in the pool area. Sound does travel abit when people are having fun in the pool but the hours 830am to 830pm- not really a problem.. This room had a window which opened to a window well, lovely breeze but the noise travels right up and can be very loud. Heard what am assuming a/cs or similar kicking in at different times. Would recommend only using A/c with window shut if noise is a problem for you to sleep. My teens slept through everything no worries> not extremely noisy just woke up once or twice. No decent lighting for reading but no real concern there as only spend 1 night. Loved the ambiance of the room and décor. I did order room service and was very impressed. reasonable priced meals from a local pub (?), served within timeframe told, and was excellent! Very friendly staff at front desk.
Only confusion was in arriving. We told our taxi the name and address and he replied you are staying at the Cambridge? We said no..found out Cambridge Hotel and Abby Hotel are same in building. Would have been easier if on booking as Abby on Wotif came up 208 Riley and Cambridge is 212 Riley, mentioned co-sharing but again no real big issue. Teens spent some time in the pool and loved it. Over all, great value in an amazing location. Would stay again.
gain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi Helen,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay at the Abey Hotel. It's great you found our location to be accessible and well placed for your concert in Centennial Park. While our Check-in is from 2pm onwards, the hotel will always do our best to accommodate early arrivals. I'm glad you like the ambience and decor of our poolside rooms, as well as the quality of our room service options. Thank you again for your feedback, the Abey Hotel looks foward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Abey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here early January 2014 for an overnight stay. There were a few hiccups initially with the room but was quickly sorted and settled into our new room swiftly.
We had a room that overlooked the small pool area which my son loved, it wasn't too noisy at all as some precious people had mentioned. Perhaps we were lucky on our night?
Overall, a great budget stay in an awesome location. You can't beat the area, it's walking distance to Oxford street, surry hills and the city.
We'll be back!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank nim81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi nim81,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Abey Hotel. It's great your son enjoyed our heated, indoor swimming pool and that you found our accommodation to be of great value in an excellent location. Thank you again for your thoughts, the Abey Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are a retired couple and it was great to find a modern clean ,centrally located friendly hotel in Sydney that was lower priced and we could afford. It even has a indoor pool and hot spa. We Will definetly go back

Room Tip: Stay on second floor and enjoy the indoor pool and spa.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Michael W,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for such a wonderful and glowing feedback.

It gives us a great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sydney is quite an expensive city and i was here with my sister and her family. As we wanted our vacation to be spent exploring and enjoying sydney, we wanted an economical solution for accomodation, whilst not compromising on cleanliness or location.
After searching the site, Surry Hills seemed to be a good area to stay, and after staying three nights, we were satisfied with what we got. The room was large, it had three single beds, the service level was friendly and accomodating and the room was clean, neat and tidy.
Overall I would recommend this hotel, only thing which could be annoying is that the rooms are located around the pool but it was convenient for entertaining the kids .

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms would be more bright.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank troydent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Troydent,
Thank you very much detailed feedback on the hotel of your recent stay.
We are very appreciative of guest feedback in any instance and with such a feedback like this it helps us to motivate ourselves to further enhance guest stay.

We do look forward to your return stay and yes we are trying to provide a good value for money accommodation in this vibrant precinct of Surry Hills.
Thanks again and have a great day.

Kind regards,

Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night purely based on it's location which was handy for Sydney city.

On arrival Gary at front of house was probably the most rude receptionist I have ever encountered. He was unhelpful, sarcastic and rude to both me, my partner, and another group of girls checking in at the same time. Checking out was also a nightmare and after asking to pay cash for parking the receptionist continued to put it on my credit card without me knowing until it was too late.

Whatever you do, don't drive and park here - the car park was potentially one of the most stressful events of my life and is the tightness and most ridiculous car park I ever been in!! Also, you have to pay which was not stated in the parking info when we booked.

All in all the room was pretty good. Up to date, clean and comfortable. Once we walked in we thought what a cool set up having the indoor pool and spa situated in the middle of all the units. Not good at 8 in the morning when you are awoken by screaming kids after a big night out. The walls in the unit were also paper thin - could hear people next door and other unit's showers in use.

I would not return mostly because of the rude experience we had - especially considering they pride themselves on "customer service" as is sprawled across the wall in the lobby. In addition to that, it wasn't the best value but in their defence accommodation in Sydney isn't exactly cheap.

And Gary if you read this - please put a smile on your dial or seek some other employment because clearly you should not be working in customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzielemon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Lizzielemon13,

Thank you very much sharing your experience with us and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.
We are always striving to achieve excellence in guest satisfaction and it appears we may not have on this occasion.
It is clearly not our intention to appear as providing a bad customer service. The Hotel does put customer service as a number one priority.
I do hope that you will take the incident as a one off.
Again thank you for your feedback and have a great day.
Kind regards,
Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

You do get what you pay for here. The rooms in the Abey are a bit dated furniture wise but the beds are clean and comfortable. The staff were very attentive although my friend arrived before me and as the room was booked in my name they would not let her in without a HUGE hassle. There is a lot of noise throughout the night, doors banging, voices and water running through pipes so if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you. The hotel is conveniently located if you don't mind walking a few blocks to nearby stations and there are lots of nice cafes and restaurants nearby particularly on Crown Street. The biggest drawback is the on site parking underneath. Very tricky windy road that goes down and down and down with next to no turning space. Having to pay per night for parking sort of defeats the purpose of hunting around for a good nightly rate in my opinion. If you don't have to consider the parking and you are after a good clean bed for the night that gives you easy access to the city this is okay for the price. O and they do give passes to a nearby gym ( about four blocks away) but they neglected to tell me on a Sunday morning when I collected one and walked the four blocks that the gym would not be open. I had a nice walk there and back though!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CasB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, Assistant General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear CasB57,
Thank you very much choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience.
We are truly appreciative of your feedback and with any guest feedback.
With guest feedback we know what we are doing right and where we can improve to achieve our excellence in guest satisfaction.
I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Thank you again and kind regards,

Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Room is pokey and hot as air con unit is just an air recycler and dark as overshadowed from apartments over the road mind u if yr a peeping tom u will enjoy watching the girl walk around topless on a morning lol! We ended up staying here due to false selling by our travel agents in the brochure it said Cambridge Hotel Superior rooms when we got there we found theyd booked us in the express room which is technically the Abey Hotel and is 2 floor extension to Cambridge hotel which is like a motel and doesnt have any balconies, the only plus point is the swimming pool is warm and usually empty, only 1 lift to serve the 2 floor building which u will stand there forever at check out time and whatever u do dont use the stairs as its the fire escape once u go through the door theres no way of getting back in and u will be greated with cockroaches and collapsed ceilings.

Room Tip: Dont book the express room at Cambridge hotel as you will get the Abey hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairea1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbeySydney, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Clairea1978,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Abey Hotel and for sharing your review with us.
I regret to hear that your stay at the Abey Hotel did not live up to your expectations.
We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused, and we have taken all your comments on board. This has been brought up at our manager meeting, and we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back, and reinstate the hotel back to your good favour.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,268 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
666 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#47 of 178 in Sydney
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#98 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abey Hotel

Address: 208 Riley Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $101 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Abey Hotel in Sydney’s Surry Hills is proof that luxury needn’t come with a hefty price tag.Belying its modest costs, each room’s modern, comfortable decor is enhanced with a range of features including high speed internet access, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, iPod docking station, in room safes and flat screen TV.In addition to the room features, the hotel itself boasts 24 hour reception and room service, a heated indoor pool and spa, automated self check-in and undercover, secure parking.With 56 rooms available in either Twin Double or Twin Single Bedding configurations, The Abey Hotel is the smart choice for those who recognise that quality needn’t cost an arm and a leg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Abey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing