We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“POOR VALUE FOR MONEY”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Abey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abey Hotel
Ranked #115 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“POOR VALUE FOR MONEY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

i stayed for about 3 nights. was given a room near the pool which had a strong CHLORINE SMELL ALL OVER. rooms are average, indain staff is warm and friendly, breakfast is $18 i think , i had mine at opera house for $5, the location is good as u can walk till chinatown in 20 minutes.
tv in room is very small. lot of commotion at night as voices echo thru paper thin walls. they demand $200 damage deposit which i think is not neccessary and can be charged on card if they steal or break something.

not at all value for money. i would prefer paying little extra and get into INTO A BETTER BRANDED HOTEL if I ever go to Australia again.

Room Tip: not worth more than $100 a night max,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tullyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbeySydney, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear tullyjs,
Thank you very much for taking you time to share your feedback with us regarding you recent stay at the Abey Hotel.
I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations.
In regards to the breakfast full breakfast buffet, we have a fixed $14 rate, which is a competitive rate for Sydney. Surry Hills is famous for its many great restaurants nearby, and I am glad you emjoyed the location.
The hotel policy is $200 deposit for cash paying guests, I apologise if this was not informed upon booking. The Abey has rooms around the pool area and rooms in the tower, I believe that a room in the tower would have been better suited for you, and I hope that you will give the hotel a second chanve to provide the service and standards for which we are known for.
I appreciate your time to share your review and I hope that your experience at the hotel will not deter you from coming back.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
17
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked the Abey because we are a family of four , looking to spend quality family time together whilst enjoying the sights of Sydney. What we wanted were clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff and affordable accomodation. The Abey was the perfect venue.
We booked a four night stay, from Sunday to Thursday and were quite impressed with the value equation, including carparking, and breakfast..
The kids were well entertained by the swimming pool and spa, the staff were helpful with directions and recommendations, and room service during the night was swift, and the porters were most helpful with the mountain of bags that we were carrying.
I recommend this hotel to other people travelling as a good deal in what is a very expensive city, Sydney. It certainly provided all the things a hotel should for a family vacation.

Room Tip: The rates seem to be much more affordable during the weekdays. With the restaurants, clubs and bouti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbeySydney, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear David O,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Abey Hotel, and thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am very pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed quality family time whilst staying with us.
Once again, thank you for your lovely comments which have also been passed onto the rest of the staff members.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Abey is a refurbished version of the Quality Cambridge. Its location is very convenient - 2 minutes walk to Oxford St, 5 minutes walk to Crown St, 10 minutes to Central station, 20 minutes to the city centre. Centrality comes with noise and the hotel does not have double glazed windows so bring your earplugs. Noise in our wing was added to by children from the internal pool, which all the front doors open onto. The view from the window is not great, looking into neighbouring ugly apartments. Quite nice bed and linen and good sized room, and an in-room safe. The refurb is a bit of a Dodgy Brothers job with paint on the carpet edges, old tiles painted over, and damaged bathroom doors re-painted when they should be replaced, so it won't look good for too long. However, it is clean and comfortable and central so represents very good value if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbeySydney, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear galtons,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Abey Hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed the in-room facilities and the location of the hotel.
The Abey is constantly undergoing improvements and refurbishments, including the recent High Speed WIFI implementation, and new TVs, new designer toiletries and Ipod docking stations in all the rooms. I am also pleased that the cleanliness was to your satisfaction and that you had a comfortable stay.
Your comments regarding the bathroom door has been passed onto our maintenance team, so thank you for pointing that out to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Abey Hotel.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is in Surry Hills but also on the edge of the city and Oxford Street so there is everything within walking distance. Great nightlife, restaurants, shopping and all the city sights are a walk away.

The hotel is clean and new and funky for the price. iphone dock and other extras make it a great please to stay. We had a pool side room and the pool was a great bonus - however the jaccuzzi is too cold and didn't provide the relaxing chill out I expected due to this - we had to get out. I think it is because it shares the same water as the pool. If this was fixed it would be fantastic.

Room Tip: Our room was a single twin and was fine but small. There was an adjoining door so would be perfect f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbeySydney, General Manager at Abey Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Jules072
Thank you for your recent stay at the Abey Hotel, and thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am pleased to hear that the location of the hotel was to your satisfaction. I am also glad that you found the hotel gave good value for price.
We have investigated the temperature of the pool, and both the pool and the Jacuzzi are 28 degrees. The Jacuzzi can slightly loose heat if it has been used many times throughout the day, however we try to keep the temperature at 28 degrees.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#114 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#117 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abey Hotel

Property: Abey Hotel
Address: 208 Riley Street, Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Abey Hotel in Sydney’s Surry Hills is proof that luxury needn’t come with a hefty price tag.Belying its modest costs, each room’s modern, comfortable decor is enhanced with a range of features including high speed internet access, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, iPod docking station, in room safes and flat screen TV.In addition to the room features, the hotel itself boasts 24 hour reception and room service, a heated indoor pool and spa, automated self check-in and undercover, secure parking.With 56 rooms available in either Twin Double or Twin Single Bedding configurations, The Abey Hotel is the smart choice for those who recognise that quality needn’t cost an arm and a leg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing