We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a pre-concert meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Lane

China Lane
Ranked #81 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ideal for a pre-concert meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Whenever we are going to the City Recital Hall, we always come here beforehand. Often a concert starts at 7 or 7.30pm and the wait staff always make sure we are served and out in time. The food is lovely although the variety for vegetarians is limited. Make sure when booking (and you do need to book) that you state you are going to a concert, and be there right on 6pm to get your table. The tables are a bit close together for comfort and if you sit outside, it really does feel as if you're ion display.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    129
    32
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese food with surprises”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I came to dinner with a friend and had the menu. It started with pig ears but we could change it to something else. Everything was super fresh and delicious. Definitely going again...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henridevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Another great meal at China Lane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This is my third visit to China Lane which is tucked away in Angel Place next to the overheard birdcages with piped bird sounds. Food is excellent with helpful and attentive service. Fresh and spicy Chinese fusion style - standout was the pulled pork bao and pork belly and the chicken wings were also very good.

Extensive drinks list with great cocktails and excellent wine choices by the glass.


Another great experience - will definitely return

Helpful?
Thank mjj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second visit just as great as the first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is my second visit in about a month and the food was just as great. We sat outside this time which I recommend, for a larger group it can be a bit noisy inside. Great menu range, good for both meat eaters and non. Staff friendly and helpful, overall a great atmosphere. Don't miss the pork belly!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bayley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Top quality food at a top price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I went there for dinner before a show at Angle Place so was a bit rushed.
The service is excellent although the waiters are quite good at selling additional dishes/ drinks.
The dumplings at $16 each are way overpriced - perhaps that's a Sydney thing they wouldn't get away with it in Melbourne.
Otherwise excellent food and ambiance. I'd go there again and try not to rush.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Detin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChinaLaneRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at China Lane, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words with regards to our waitstaff.

I just wanted to point out, that our dumplings come in a basket of 4 pieces per serve for $16.
It's well below the average Sydney price by .50cents to a dollar per dumpling, especially for the quality.

Hope to see you again, so you may try them out this time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Lane also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing