We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Searock Grill

Searock Grill
Ranked #182 of 5,833 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breathtaking views over glimmering Sydney Harbour coupled with the soft sea breeze perfectly compliment the fresh seafood and a delicious and innovative contemporary Australian menu at Searock Grill. Our high standards in the kitchen are mirrored by our service team who always strive to make your experience memorable. Whether it’s a lazy lunch, romantic dinner or a glamorous private function, Searock Grill will look after all your dining needs and create an enjoyable and memorable experience. Enjoy dining in a relaxing and elegant restaurant setting that the Harbour side offers, and the delicious freshest seafood Circular Quay has to offer.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place has a great location but, quite frankly, this is all it has going for it. I thought the food here wasn't great and the service left a bit to be desired too. I ordered a steak which I asked for rare but instead got some charred meat. The prices are also a bit steep, for what it is served up. Also, the toilets at the restaturant seem to be located on the outskirts of Sydney which are only accessible via a labyrinth of tunnels through the bowels of the restaturant. There are plenty of better places to eat in Sydney for the same prices you would pay here,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtticusFinch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    307
    146
    80
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
269 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant based on menu and location, but regretted it. We were a party of 4 and one wanted the chicken toasted sandwich from the menu, but were told that they didn't have any (lunch on a Saturday). He asked for the Turkey instead, but as he has a dairy intolerance, he asked that the Brie cheese be removed. They wouldn't do this for him. The waitress wasn't pleasant to deal with either. When all the meals came, we were very disappointed, particularly given the price. Given the location, they may think their patrons are tourists who won't return, but we are locals who were taking some out of towers for a Sydney lunch, and certainly won't be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Manager at Searock Grill, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Caroline397,

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch at Searock Grill. I am very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience.

The days after New Year is our busiest period of service, but it is unfortunate we ran out of our gourmet chicken sandwiches, however, we have a new, extensive menu with many delicious options for vegetarians, and dairy and wheat intolerant diners, created by our Head Chef John. I do hope you will return in the near future and hope your experience at Searock Grill improves.

Warmest regards,

Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best steak in a long time”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived in Sydney on New Years Day and wandered down to Circular Quay for dinner. Felt like seafood so chose Searock Grill - it looked comfortable but classy and the menu contained a good variety. Started with calamari and prawn dishes for entree - beautiful presentation and delicious flavours. Decided to try steak for mains - I had eye fillet and my daughter the rump. Would have to say they were both some of the tastiest and tenderest cuts we have had in a long long time. Again the presentation of each meal was beautiful. Desserts were home made which is rare these days.
All in all a great meal with service to match. Add in a cocktail and a few glasses of wine the bill for 3 came to $300 - given the excellent food and service plus the location we did not feel this was unreasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Manager at Searock Grill, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Andrea D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at Searock Grill at Circular Quay. I am so pleased our new menu created by our head Chef John caught your eye, and the meals lived up to your expectations.

I hope to see you again in the near future at Searock Grill for another memorable lunch or dinner.

Warmest regards,

Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“NYE setup was great - always again!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

When we walked through the rocks and circular quay to look for a spot to spend new years eve we walked past searock grill aswell. Because of the location and the beautiful view we walked in and asked for someone who could explain us all the details about the nye night.
One of the waitress passed us on to the cashier who was the briefed person for the upcoming event obviously.
This little charming and good looking woman took directly care of us and showed us the venue, the available seats and the set menu for the night.

It was a 5 course menu with starter (soup), 2 entrees (salmon, prawns), main course ( choice between fish and lamb) and dessert (cake with mixed berries) plus for every course they had the matching wines.
All this for 450$ per head seemed for us in this location alright. The other venues where all in the same price rank from 300 to 600.
We decided to book our seats straight away and felt good about our decision.

On our arrival we were pretty empressed about the setup of the restaurant and the presentation of everything around!
All waitresses in good looking classic uniform ( black dresses ), the bartenders in fancy 70's uniforms with hat and pair of suspenders, red carpet on the floor and and and....

The Host greeted us on the door with name and introduced us to "our" waitress aka care taker for this night, the waitress brought us to our table and explained how the service and serving gonna happen.

The food came always in the perfect timing together with the wine (witch had always the right temperture,important!) and the waitress always made sure we had enough of everything.

About the food of the set menu I can only say absolutely amazing. We were 4 persons so as mains we choose 2 fishs and 2 lambs to make sure we give everything a chance and both dishes were incredible good.
Though the amount of food on the plate could be increased!!! (in every course)
Lucky us that we didn't came starving ;)

Besides this little criterion, the package, all together was beautiful.

If fate brings us back to sydney for the next new years, we certainly chase the seats at searock grill!!

Thanks a lot!!!
Happy new year!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Profjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Manager at Searock Grill, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Profjules,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your New Years Eve experience at Searock Grill. We were hoping to provide our guests with an amazing and memorable evening, so hearing your positive feedback is great.

I am so pleased you enjoyed the menu, the location, as well as the service our friendly staff provided on the evening.

We hope to see you next year for another amazing night and we would like to wish you a Happy New Year!

Warmest regards,

Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

27/12/12 - Sat on the quayside drinking a cold beer and eating dinner....looking over at the Sydney Harbour Bridge....sun went down and Sydney lit up...

Food was good and tasty...albeit a little over priced....but.....it is what it is and with the location it's to be expected.

Very much a bar experience (order food at the bar) - staff were friendly, atmosphere was good and we'd happily return here....if only we had time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Searock Grill also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Searock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing