We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great for functions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lantern on Riley

Red Lantern on Riley
Ranked #102 of 5,644 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Description: Set within a designer space reminiscent of French Colonial Vietnam, Red Lantern on Riley mixes the nostalgia of Indochine with the personal quirkiness of the Nguyen family. The restaurant is owned and operated by chefs Luke Nguyen and Mark Jensen, and Luke's sister Pauline Nguyen. With a focus on shared dishes, an evening at Red Lantern on Riley is an experience best enjoyed with friends and family.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“great for functions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

we had our christmas party here, and it was great! there were a good range of cocktails and food, and the space was ample for our party size. I like the service too, better than the original one on Crown St

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AussiePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    79
    27
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Sydney is blessed with some great Vietnamese restaurants and it is one of our favourite cuisines; hence we were excited after hearing wonderful things about Red Lantern as this was meant to be the crème de la crème of Sydney.
We decided we would fully engage and ordered the ‘Saigon Scrumptious’ ($80 per head) tasting menu.
Our waitress gushed about how wonderful every course would be, however when each dish arrived we were incredibly underwhelmed by the flavour and freshness of each dish.
The scallops were watery, the food felt like it was on a production line and there wasn’t one course that was memorable.
Although the waitress was friendly- she poured the sparkling water into the wine, (she did replace the wine after we told her the error) however by 10pm, (booking was at 8:30pm) the service staff seemed bored and were ready to go home- our wine was finished, our waitress went home, dessert was served and even though we tried to make eye contact to order Sticky- we were ignored.
When I went to the bathroom (gender neutral) they were in disarray with paper towels on the ground and no loo roll.
Maybe we experienced a restaurant’s ‘off night’ but for the money and the reputation, we won’t be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bgd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“overpriced and overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Visited this much vaunted restaurant on friday night and as it is difficult to get reservation settled for 6pm sitting. Very quiet on arrival but quickly filled. Started with pre dinner cocktail (ice filled for $17) and a $12 beer. Then shared 4 dishes (had previously been to sister restaurant in Crown St so were aware of many items on menu). Food disappointing given price - many less pretentious vietnamese restaurants in Sydney with better food. Service friendly and efficient but food and drinks do not offer value for money. Own label wine only real value for money on wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaTriplec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Staff were superb, we had taster menu which for six of us gave a good choice of well prepared food and enough of it. Really nice night but for us UK people for what it was quite expensive but hey ho that's Sydney, recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Badgersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice reminder of vietnam in sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

went here on 23/06 for a birthday with 3 others. Setting and decoration were very good. Couldn't decide between individual dishes or the tasting menu - waiter was very attentive and tried really hard to accommodate 1 of our party who had some shellfish allergies.

Portion sizes were good, and the food was full of flavour, texture and punch which we were pleased about and the mood and music were good for a birthday celebration.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank farquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lantern on Riley also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Red Lantern on Riley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing