We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No disappointments here”

Red Lantern on Riley
Ranked #66 of 5,939 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $118
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Description: Set within a designer space reminiscent of French Colonial Vietnam, Red Lantern on Riley mixes the nostalgia of Indochine with the personal quirkiness of the Nguyen family. The restaurant is owned and operated by chefs Luke Nguyen and Mark Jensen, and Luke's sister Pauline Nguyen. With a focus on shared dishes, an evening at Red Lantern on Riley is an experience best enjoyed with friends and family.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“No disappointments here”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

In my hometown of Sydney for two weeks and the choices for a good dining experience are endless. Went to 'Red Lantern' on Riley Street today and enjoyed it thoroughly. The restaurant wasnt packed probaby due to lots of people being out of town on holidays.

The food was great, service was good and we had a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience. My sister and I are keen cooks and we are both keen to try and replicate some of the dishes that we enjoyed.

Highly recommended

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    95
    33
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
verrierdale
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've waited a long time to finally find my way to the Red Lantern. I've seen the restaurant featured in television programs and it was on my list when visiting Sydney. My husband and I met with friends. The restaurant was so noisy we could barely hear each other talk. It was a hot night and very stuffy. The food was not up to my expectations. In fact I thought it was good but not great.. Sadly I have to say I would not go back to the Red Lantern given the choice of restaurants available in Sydney. I must add that the staff were lovely and friendly and the service good. We also picked up a $98 parking ticket, The parking is a nightmare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sashalute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good for a "special" meal.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

If I could rate this as "four and a half" then I would. Down at the bottom, Darlinghurst, end of Riley Street, the interior fit out, as noted by other reviewers, is a very pleasant recreation of a Vietnamese colonial house. We had the $71 per-head tasting menu for dinner, plus an excellent bottle of wine (at $77), plus one dessert to share. This all came out at $250 for two (we had mineral water as well) - not crazy, but not everyday dining.
In our tasting menu, we had plenty to eat, plenty of variety, and plenty of jump-in-the-mouth Vietnamese flavours. We found the young, enthusiastic, friendly and knowledgeable front of house staff (multiple waiters, waitresses and the sommellier) very engaging and not at all stuffy.
Why not rate this five out of five? Well, the dessert was not "bad", but was not distinguished, and the restaurant's obvious success and popularity means you get the irritating fixed sitting system. For food this interesting and of this quality, I'll put up with the minor irritation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Vietnam and Sydney collide”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Recently had dinner at this wonderful resturant. Sitting in a booth felt like sitting in a Vietnamese home (albiet an upmarket one). Somehow they create this fantastic intimacy which is more than matched by sensational food and happy friendly staff. The highlight - pork fairy floss - never had anything like it - the texture of fairy floss - fine, melt in your mouth strands - with the taste of pork - YUM can't recommend highly enough

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MUMOFTHREESYDNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As a big fan of Luke Nguyen we decided to visit his new restaurant in Sydney on the eve of flying out to Vietnam. With so much to live up to I was nervous whether it would make the grade, I needn't have been it made and surpassed the grade.

The staff were very professional, yet friendly at the same time from the staff we booked with to our wonderful waiter. I applaud him because after we ordered he nicely asked us if he could make a few suggestions. As we hadn't been there before we happily went along with his ideas, and I am delighted (or should that be embarrassed?) to say that the two dishes he suggested were sublime. Thank God he made us have a Vietnamese salad, it was the best dish of the night.

I can hardly wait for Luke to open his restaurant in Brisbane!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzannahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lantern on Riley also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Marrickville, Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Red Lantern on Riley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing