We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dim Sum but service Ho Hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr Wong

Mr Wong
Ranked #17 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Layered with timeless colonial furnishings including timber floors with tiled inlay, bamboo framed French woven chairs and slow turning ceiling fans, Mr. Wong pays homage to classic Chinese influences in a contemporary style. The Cantonese-style menu features over 60 dishes as well as an unrivalled dim sum selection. Sprawled over two levels, the 240 seater Mr. Wong is one of the largest restaurants in the northern end of the Sydney CBD. It offers a range of dining options varying from large group tables, through to intimate tables for two and seating at the open kitchen.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dim Sum but service Ho Hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I must say to start that the reputation for great food at Mr Wong is well deserved. And the location, previously being the upstairs of trendy Tank bar, is certainly original and fun. However, the service was pretty disappointing. Seated for an early 6.30pm dinner, to begin with we seemed to be getting lots of attention, (including arms coming across your face to refill a wine glass you don't want refilled, just as you get to the punch line of your story!) But by mains you couldn't find a waiter anywhere. We waited 15 minutes after mains had been cleared to try and get someone's attention for a dessert menu. In the end I had to get up and go and get someone. Same thing when it came to getting the bill. Finally, it took so long for them to return our credit card that we all got up and waited at the cashier so we didn't get parking fines. The cashier apologised saying how busy they were. Strange that they didn't appear very crowded at this point though. Mr Wong, please get some more staff or organise your current ones better. Don't you know a perfectly good night can get ruined when you're tired and want to go home but can't get coffee, or your bill? Lucky my mum's not up for a doing a runner these days!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    639
    184
    74
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Awsome fit out, and great staff so glad we finally got to eat at Mr Wong's and we were not disappointed. The dumplings were all really good including the xiao long bao. You must try the Sesame Prawn toasts here, they are not your usual fare. Also had the duck spring rolls and crispy royal crab noodle wrap, both were again lovely. We then had the scallops with silken tofu & xo sauce and the crispy eggplant was a surprise highlight. We will definitely return asap.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fit out but disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We dined last night and overall the evening was very lack lustre.
The ambience was certainly fabulous but service very slow and one of our dishes came out stone cold (no apology offered) .. the duck spring roll special was dry and lacked taste..We waited ages for our first drink and also for the following one...
If it wasn't for the fit out it really would only be average chinese food.
We won't be hurrying back...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing to have such poor service with a large group”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

A large group of us booked dinner at Mr Wong's recently. Booking service was great, very professional with their confirmations.
On the evening we were seated quickly, drinks service was quick. Disappointing cocktails, not sure if any alcohol was actually included in the drinks??
One of the Banquets was chosen for our group. Food service was incredibly slow - yes, it was a Saturday night and they were very busy, however our server kept coming to the table to ask what dishes had been served so far because they were not sure which part of the banquet we were up to....i thought that was quite poor form on behalf of the restaurant.
Also added the Duck onto our banquet. As there was so many, we ordered the whole duck for the table. About 12-15 slivers of duck meat appeared on the platter, and the leftover carcas or pieces of the duck were not included. Was tasty, but very disappointing to see such an incredibly small portion considering we paid nearly $90 for a whole duck!!
The thing that really suprised me was they completely forgot the rice! Appologetic at the end of the meal that they had forgotten it, but a Chinese restaurant not serving rice was very strange & disappointing indeed!!
All up review - I personally will not be heading back, along with about half of the group. The other half thought the food was good and will visit again, but with a much smaller group next time (so hopefully the poor service does not occur).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyShopper23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The atmosphere in the place is full of life and fun.
The food that I tried was good.
The service was excellent but very slow, probably because they were very busy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaifaTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Wong also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mr Wong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing