We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food!”
Review of Mad Pizza e Bar

Mad Pizza e Bar
Ranked #848 of 5,939 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Description: We are 'Mad' about creating the most unique pizza experience in Australia. Our labour of love started in Sydney, from our belief in a demand for a healthier option, unseen in this country before. So we developed the Super thin & Healthy Pizza base, and topped it with only the finest of ingredients. We then employed the friendliest of staff, and found the coolest of locations, with the funkiest of soundtracks along the way; with this we believe we have one of the most unique, health conscience and authentic pizza experiences in Australia! It has taken thousands of hours of tasting and testing by friends, family and customers alike, culminating in our version of the prefect pizzeria. So do as the Italian's do and that's to eat with love and laughter. Salute!! Mad Pizza Surry Hills is located in the fashion & party district of Sydney! Right next to world famous Oxford street, there is not much that this shop has not seen. Celebrity, fashionista & party central, rock on in and take the ride, this is one busy shop!
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place does get packed because it is small but all food is made to order and fantastic. The servers are super friendly and the pizzas are great. I would definitely split one as they are too big to eat alone.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lush, Lish Pizza, Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The pizzas were really tasty and inventive, and I loved the truffle infused oil. The DJ (who was framed in a doorway halfway up a wall) played very upbeat music, as you might hear in a club but strangely, it was not an issue in this restaurant. The decor was eclectic, the young staff attentive and full of life and there was butcher paper for table cloths complete with crayons to pass the waiting time with, not that that was an issue either. The area was buzzing and full of a wonderful variety of affordable restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Fantastic Restaurant located just off Oxford Street,Great Atmosphere,Brilliant Staff and excellent value for money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MH1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good ambient and music”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The music and the place were great, as well as the staff, but I expected more from the pizza. The dough was pretty similar to a pitta bread, not really tasty and thin pizza dough. The topings, otherwise, were pretty good (I only would like it a bit more cheesy) and there were lots of options to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank MariProton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very good pizza”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had the toscano pizza, it was very good. The atmosphere was lively. DJ playing tunes on a Thursday evening, nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Pizza e Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mad Pizza e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing