We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
Review of 4 Fourteen

4 Fourteen
Reserve with
4 Fourteen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 5,833 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant looks very nice n inviting. Very chic n at the same time,casual n nothing too pompous. Open kitchen, tealight candles, stylish rustic interior. POur hostess was nothing short of friendly and was very good with recommendations and kind enough to warn us when we over ordered! Can't really recall what we ate but food was fresh, good portions. I remember a braised beef that was sumptuous,very rich but sooo delicious.We also had a grain salad that we really enjoyed. Overall we had a great date night. Great place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    98
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“portions are small”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Food tastes good however the sizes are quite small for what you pay for. Good selection of drinks. Cocktails were nice

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cp-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great service, good atmosphere, but did not live up to the hype”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was excited to see that 4 Fourteen had openned in Surry Hills and was looking forward to trying another version of the Four In Hand.

The restaurant itself is industrial, open plan and very cool with an open kitchen. The staff were excellent, guiding us through the menu, making suggestions and generally having fun with us while being efficient and doing a great job.

The food is hearty with a focus on nose to tail use of meat etc as you would expect. It is tasty and comes in generous portions, however i left feeling underwhelmed. The croquettes were fine and we tried the pig tail which was a nice change from the norm. The crab dish was beautiful but the trout and chicken special were relatively average.

I think the issue here is that you expect to get Four In Hand food, and you don't, yet you pay a similar price. If 4 Fourteen didn't foster such high expectations from its association with Four In Hand i think it would probably receive better reviews and be more favourably and independently judged.

It was a nice experience but i won't return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“30th Birthday Surprise!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was whisked away to Sydney by my fiancee for my 30th Birthday and after a day out at Taronga Zoo we got dolled up and headed out to a mystery restaurant. That restaurant was 4fourteen.
I was especially excited as this was the restaurant that was used for comeback kitchen for the My Kitchen Rules TV show.

We sat down and ordered a couple of drinks. I started with a Scotch and Coke and my fiancee had a pomegranate Sour. That was probably one of the best cocktails i had tasted and i wished i'd ordered one!

The food at 4Fourteen is designed for sharing, so we started with a couple of "nibble plates" we shared the smoked ham hock croquettes which were served in a cut up egg carton, a very original idea indeed! The Croquettes were close to perfect, the creamy potato was complimented by the ham hock in a marriage of flavours!

The next nibble was hands down one of the best things i have ever put in my mouth... Confit Chicken Wings served with apple chutney, chicken liver parfait served on a corn chip. It doesnt sound like much but the combination of flavours when taking a bite of everything at once was just phenomenal! If this is on the menu you must try it. we only ordered 2 of the wings. i could've stayed all night and just ate those.

A couple more cocktails followed then we ordered 2 small plates to share. One was the roast bone marrow served with salsa verde and toast and Tuna Bresaola. The marrow was probably the weakest dish of the evening as it was quite oily and didnt have a lot of flavour, but the tuna was out of this world.

The large plate was one of the days specials- SUCKLING PIG!!! Whenever this is on the menu i cannot go past it.
The serving was a perfect size for 2 people and presented on a wooden board with ample slices of tender pork, a trotter, some crackle, velvety smooth mash potato, pickled cabbage, the most delectable 3 hour!! roasted carrots and apple sauce that was a cross between regular apple sauce and a delicious sweet custard! Everything was to die for!

On to dessert- My fiancee had the peanut and honeycomb bar, which was basically a deconstructed golden gay time, and i had a white chocolate sandwich. Both 10/10!

The surroundings are very trendy and the music was just loud enough to drown out the background noise but not too loud you couldn't hear the people you came with.

All in all this is one of the best dining experiences i've ever had and if i dint live in melbourne i would go back every week.

Also.... congratulations to the couple who got engaged at the table opposite us!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Fantastically outfitted restaurant with open kitchen, brilliant Tapas and 5StarService. Doesn't get much better than this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BauhiniaByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Fourteen also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to 4 Fourteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing