We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfasts”
Review of Toast Cafe

Toast Cafe
Ranked #543 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We happened upon this café by accident, but now make it a regular breakfast spot on our Sydney trips. Friendly staff, great coffee, and quick service. We have had the corn & kaffir lime fritters, and the Mexican scrambled eggs in tortilla, and mushroom dishes, and all were fresh and very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a gem of the rag district”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

this is one of the original cafes in the surry hills/ central station precinct. I've eaten there several times and have found the food to be consistently appetising, interesting, reasonably priced, and quickly produced. The coffee is very good. They have gluten-free offerings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank betsey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Original dishes, fresh ingredients, great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had breakfast here by myself on Saturday. I loved my choice, the sweet corn/kaffir lime fritters. It was nice and light. It seems though, that halloumi served in Australia is not as salty as the halloumi we eat here in the US, as there was some salty/savory note missing in this dish - either in the cheese or the fritter. It was delicious though - and I'm definitely going to try it at home! I also had a muesli cookie to take away - and it was really good as well. Fuel for hiking those Sydney hills!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great spot in Surrey Hills”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Friendly neighborhood place with great staff, great food, and delicious coffee. Free wifi is an added bonus. I hope to go there frequently. Yum!

Helpful?
Thank beachwood45789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After a very disappointing meal in the very popular but overpriced, crowded and noisy Bodega Tapas in Surry Hills, this place was wonderful. Friendly and obliging staff, wonderful chips, great food and reasonably priced. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K-Klog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Cafe also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Toast Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing