We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Station Hotel
Ranked #76 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for price and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Yes this is an old building but we found the staff friendly and the building clean
Yes the rooms are small but again clean and modern - the bathroom was fine
We only stayed the one night and for somewhere simply to sleep and leave the next day this is a good place to try - City noise is the same as most hotels
I would not stay for more than two nights as the rooms are to small to be comfortable for longer than that
Close to Central Station and Capitol Theater (why we chose it)
A good parking deal with a parking station across the road -2 days for $20 (may not apply at later dates)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to Review Central Station Hotel. I'm glad the hotel and our staff were to your satisfaction. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    957
    475
    151
    70
See reviews for
402
746
355
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are to small here I could barely walk around the bed. There was no kettle to make coffee or microwave to heat up food. But other then that the shower was completely awesome the bed was just right to sleep on but thats was all was good

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jaccob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place has had a facelift and the results are, generally speaking, good. It is NOT the fanciest place, but my experience was of a Hotel that was clean and well-run. The biggest problem is that the rooms are REALLY SMALL and the beds are REALLY BIG. And that makes for a not very relaxing stay. You end up having to spend all your time ON the bed. The bathroom is tiny but entirely practical. I would not want to stay here any length of time, but for a night or two it is fine.
It's a quick walk to Chinatown and Paddy's Markets, and to Oxford Street. Maybe 20-30 minutes to reach Daring Harbour on foot, or the main shopping part of the CBD. There's a great variety of Asian eateries in the vicinity.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with balconies. I have never stayed in one, but I assume they would give a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Staff very unhelpful and didn't ask us once if we needed anything and didn't make the effort to say hello. Building is very old, rooms are extremely small and bathroom also very small. You can hear all surrounding noise from outside in the street as well as in the surrounding rooms. When we booked our room we were told they were located across from Central Station, more like 20-30 minute walk or a couple of blocks from Central Station. They never told us that there was maintenance work going on at the hotel over the weekend and workman started making a noise and using jack hammers at 7am both Saturday and Sunday morning. Hot water took ages to heat up and cleaners only replaced the towels and not the foot mat, hand towel or face washer. Room clean and tidy. We would rather pay a bit extra and get a decent size room.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra and get a decent size room and somewhere that has friendly staff and a more moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Station H, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi Geoff M,

We strive to provide our guests with excellent customer service and the best possible experience whilst staying at Central Station Hotel. It is disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and I sincerely apologise for this. Our staff are usually praised on their friendliness and their dedication to providing a great customer experience. Your feedback will be shared with the team to improve in the areas that were not to your satisfaction.

Central Station Hotel is located a 7 minute walk from Sydney's Central Station, we have recently completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment. We created hotel rooms which are fresh modern and contemporary, while being careful not to lose the old world charm of our beautiful heritage building. All the windows have been double glazed to minimise street noise, however they can still be opened for guests who prefer fresh air.

There are building works being carried out in the retail spaces under the hotel, these works started in May and the noise is kept to a minimum. There has been very little disturbance to our guests and it is for this reason we felt it unnecessary to notify guests prior to their arrival. We have provided ear plugs as a precaution and we have been advised by the contractors no heavy works will be carried out prior to 9am.

Central Station Hotel has an environmental policy in place which requests guests to leave their towels, bathmats and face towels on the floor in the bathroom if replacements are required. All items left on the floor are replaced daily.

I hope we get the opportunity to serve you again so we can ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons. If you do wish to stay with us again please contact me directly on holly@cshotel.com.au or phone 02 9212 1005.

Yours sincerely,
Holly Singh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

the location is far from the cbd because once you walk all the way there you'll be too tired to walk back. The rooms are tiny and expensive. The building is too old that you get to hear the traffic, noisy constructions from the top floor. Unprofessional staff at the front desk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Reem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Basic accommodation at a central location, but not as busy as other roads at night. About 5-minute walk from Central Station, a lot of restaurants, cafes, and pub close-by. I booked a Deluxe King Room, the room was quite small, but decent size. I have stayed in much smaller rooms in Dublin and Hong Kong. I would say this was decent for the price I paid for. Staff were friendly, check-in and check-out was quick with no hassle. I think there was some refurbishment work happening in the building so there were two days when my appointment was later in the day so I stayed in a bit late, I could hear drilling (I couldn't tell whether it was coming from upstairs or downstairs), but I hardly stayed during daytime so it wasn't a major issue for me. Room was tidied up everyday, and got fresh towels everday. The only reason I'm giving it a four is the hotel doesn't have their own cafe/restaurant in the building, but everything else was perfect. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_M7904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My room was small, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it had everything I needed. I loved that it was centrally located and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There was plenty of food available around the hotel and it was very easy to get to and from Central station as I needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymooner1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,591 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Station Hotel

Property: Central Station Hotel
Address: 75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Sydney Central on Wentworth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Station Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in a prime position only 300 meters from Sydney Central Station, the largest transport interchange in Sydney. Hotel guests can enjoy direct walking access to Sydney Central Station, Sydney Central Business District and Chinatown making this the perfect hotel for tourists and business clients. Food lovers and keen shoppers will be delighted to see that Chinatown, Surry Hills, Darling Harbour & Oxford Street are all within walking distance from Central Station Hotel making it the ideal base to enjoy all the amazing experiences that Sydney has to offer.For entertainment, Central Station Hotel is perfectly positioned with the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Capitol Theatre, State Theatre and Hyde Park all in close proximity. There is also the opportunity for a short ride in a bus or taxi to the Sydney Football Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground. Central Station Hotel guest rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortably appointed ensuring all guests can guests can relax and enjoy a private oasis away from the bustle of Sydney life. Every room has a modern bathroom, free cable television and reverse cycle air-conditioning. Central Station Hotel offers a 24 hour concierge and discounted parking vouchers for the Secure Parking complex which is located next to the hotel. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle bus to Sydney Airport.For an unbeatable location, genuine value for money and a memorable ‘Sydney’ experience look no further than Central Station Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central On Wentworth Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing