We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff needs some work, but location was great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Station Hotel
Ranked #76 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Staff needs some work, but location was great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at CSH for the final night of our trip. When we arrived, our room was not ready, so we were told we were being upgraded to a new room. When we got to our room, maintenance was being done on the door to replace the doorknob with a newer high tech card reader. "No problem," we thought, "we'll just drop our bags and wander around for a while." We left our bags in the incredibly small, but very nicely decorated rooms, and went for a walk. When we returned, the new reader had been installed, but the bed had been moved, sawdust was all over the floor, and our new key card didn't work, so we had to have an associate let us in with a master key. We were told, "Someone will be right up to clean this." That never happened. After three or four attempts to get a working key, the front desk attendant (a European gentleman who was by FAR the best employee we encountered at this hotel) came up to try a new key, noticed the saw dust on the floor and retraieved a vacuum himself to clean the carpet. This man shuld be named employee of the year! The key still didn't work, but on his next trip he finally got us a working key.

For all of our trouble, I'd have hoped the hotel would have compensated us in some way. Either with a small reimbursement for our troubles, or a bottle of wine to our room or something! But alas, the front desk gentleman seemed to be the only person who cared. For their lack of sympathy to our multi-inconveniences, I dock them a star. Only the front desk gentleman and great location saved them three stars!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    934
    460
    143
    69
See reviews for
392
720
349
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St Georges Basin Nsw
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is undergoing renovations and was noisy very early in the morning (6am) Trades were using the elevator to cart equipment and rubbish up and down. Meaning the lift was often busy and dusty. ..




  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything's nice about the Central Station Hotel. Cosy and clean, though they should probably upgrade their WIFI. Location's great, with the busy CBD 10mins walk away, and the free shuttle stop to the harbour just behind the hotel. Would definitely stay here again should I visit Sydney qgain.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SamirBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great position in the city next to Chinatown and the Central Station of course! The outside of the hotel looks a little bit misleading but when entering the room, we were quite surprised :) Clean, neat, tidy and for the price in Sydney Central, we thought it was fabulous! So Thank you for accommodating us Central Station Hotel. Would book there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyC311, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Central Station Hotel. I was pleased to read your positive feedback. We would love to have you back, when you make your next booking, mention you have stayed before and we can provide you with repeat guest discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirlmere, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is simple, but clean and is in a great position close to Central Station. It doesn't look very interesting or even very nice from the exterior but it is modern and nicely furnished in the lobby and rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyC311, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again next time you are in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel once before and had had no problems. It was basic, central and economically priced. On this occasion though I was woken at 1:45am by screaming, shouting and loud banging coming from somewhere in the hotel. A few minutes later the police turned up and were banging on a door and demanding the hotel guests open it. I had no idea what was happening and have to admit I was scared. The noise continued on again for hours and I believe the police turned up again during the night. Needless to say I had a terrible nights sleep and felt very unsafe. I won't be going back. Would rather spend any extra 50 bucks and stay somewhere with better security and better guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rexyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyC311, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I was sorry to read of your experience at Central Station Hotel. Unfortunately we had to remove a guest from the hotel due to their unacceptable behavior. I can assure you we take guest security seriously which is why this particular guest was removed. This was an isolated incident and it was dealt with immediately by the manager on duty. I would be happy to discuss this with you in more detail. You can contact me on 02 9212 1005.

I hope we get the opportunity to serve you again at Central Station Hotel.

Kind regards
Holly Clugston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Clean, comfortable room and a great central location within comfortable walking distance of the train station. Staff were very pleasant and the service was good. I would have no hesitation in recommending Central Station Hotel to anyone visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scootstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyC311, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We would love to see you again at Central Station Hotel. We provide special promotions for repeat guests so please be sure to mention you have stayed with us before next time you book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#95 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Station Hotel

Property: Central Station Hotel
Address: 75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Sydney Central on Wentworth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Station Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in a prime position only 300 meters from Sydney Central Station, the largest transport interchange in Sydney. Hotel guests can enjoy direct walking access to Sydney Central Station, Sydney Central Business District and Chinatown making this the perfect hotel for tourists and business clients. Food lovers and keen shoppers will be delighted to see that Chinatown, Surry Hills, Darling Harbour & Oxford Street are all within walking distance from Central Station Hotel making it the ideal base to enjoy all the amazing experiences that Sydney has to offer.For entertainment, Central Station Hotel is perfectly positioned with the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Capitol Theatre, State Theatre and Hyde Park all in close proximity. There is also the opportunity for a short ride in a bus or taxi to the Sydney Football Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground. Central Station Hotel guest rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortably appointed ensuring all guests can guests can relax and enjoy a private oasis away from the bustle of Sydney life. Every room has a modern bathroom, free cable television and reverse cycle air-conditioning. Central Station Hotel offers a 24 hour concierge and discounted parking vouchers for the Secure Parking complex which is located next to the hotel. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle bus to Sydney Airport.For an unbeatable location, genuine value for money and a memorable ‘Sydney’ experience look no further than Central Station Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Central Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central On Wentworth Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing