We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Station Hotel
Ranked #83 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I shared a triple room with my fiance and a friend as they had a gig in the CBD that night. The location was good but the room was disgusting! The shower had clumps of hair on the drain, presumably from the guests before us. The towels that were folded and placed at the end of our bed were dirty and used!! I've never stayed somewhere quite like it and hopefully never will again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rachzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry hear that your room was not satisfactory. We are usually praised for the cleanliness of our rooms. I will investigate your comments and ensure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,396 - 2,402 of 2,523 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked online and got a discount so it was a good price ($100 for a double). The location, although central, isn't in an immediately nice area- you have to walk 10 mins to get to the heart of surry hills for cafes/restaurants/bars (uphill!), 5-10 mins to Chinatown, and a solid 20 minutes to get to the mall/shopping area. As long as you don't mind walking or catching a taxi or two it's quite convenient. TIP: Spice I am, the little joint across the street, is a fantastic little Thai eatery, a must! Ok so rooms- nice, a bit cozy but everything you need. Unless you're willing to pay $150 plus, this is what is expected. Good heating in room, the lift a little old but who really cares about this? No breakfast but you can buy a little breakfast pack (cereal, fruit etc) from the front desk. The receptionist is weird and unfriendly, avoided conversation with him. TIP: Make sure they don't give you a room on the ground floor because it's noisy. Ask for a room high up (or a quiet room) at the time of reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eMzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Only stayed one night but the building being constructed opposite was working a 24hour shift jack hammering until 10.30pm on a Tuesday night so after finding some cotton wool to stick in my ears I eventually went to sleep but if I could have walked back to Melbourne I would have-worst sleep ever!!! This is not the hotels fault at all just bad timing.....room was clean-bed comfy-no complaints with the actual hotel-so close to Central Station-China Town & George st so fantastic value-would recommend but hopefully the building noise has finished when you enjoy your stay!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to markets and Sydney Entertainment centre. We booked ahead of time and only paid $169 for a 3 adult room. Hotel is old but nice and clean with comfy beds. Staff are helpful with public parking nearby at a great cost when done with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roziey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have to admit I was impressed when manager gave us our room upon our very early arrival so I didn't argue about its location. Unfortunately, it was the noisiest one imaginable. It was just at the lobby, so people were coming into hotel slamming the mail entry door because it was shutting automatically and shutting their room doors because you can't just close it silently. The only advantage you have here is was considerably cheaper and we had one room for 4 of us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaciejK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days. Easy to find and conveniently located between central and museum stations, you can also use a free bus to go to circular quay. The room was quiet and clean, with a private bathroom. The room was not extremely large, but enough for two. We pointed out at 8PM that the wifi was not working in our room, and someone was fixing it at 7AM the next day! People at the front desk were very helpful and always available. Just don't be in a hurry when using the elevator because it is slow, but for the rest, this is a nice place.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ViviD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked this hotel before reading reviews...then panicked !
I arrived expecting the worse and must say i have no idea what people are complaining about.
very clean , staff were very helpful , had no trouble at all. Rooms were cleaned each day & for the price i found it perfect & would stay again. Close to train station & the free city shuttle stops right outside..perfect. Hotel staff minded our bags so we could sightsee up until we were due to leave for the airport. beds comfy..room to move & foxtel great for the children.
Overall for a budget price to rest your head this hotel is great...there is some traffic noise so light sleepers may not like this but after a days sighseeing we slept really well...!!.ps.. the cafe across the road makes the best coffee & egg bacon sandwiches for breakfast & the thai place next door to that perfect for tea ! cant wait to return ! thankyou for our wonderful weekend stay !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly C, Manager at Central Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

It is great to read your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,952 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,388 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#55 of 179 in Sydney
692 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#21 of 179 in Sydney
148 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Station Hotel

Address: 75 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Sydney Central on Wentworth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $98 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Station Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in a prime position only 300 meters from Sydney Central Station, the largest transport interchange in Sydney. Hotel guests can enjoy direct walking access to Sydney Central Station, Sydney Central Business District and Chinatown making this the perfect hotel for tourists and business clients. Food lovers and keen shoppers will be delighted to see that Chinatown, Surry Hills, Darling Harbour & Oxford Street are all within walking distance from Central Station Hotel making it the ideal base to enjoy all the amazing experiences that Sydney has to offer.For entertainment, Central Station Hotel is perfectly positioned with the Sydney Entertainment Centre, Capitol Theatre, State Theatre and Hyde Park all in close proximity. There is also the opportunity for a short ride in a bus or taxi to the Sydney Football Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground. Central Station Hotel guest rooms are nicely decorated, clean and comfortably appointed ensuring all guests can guests can relax and enjoy a private oasis away from the bustle of Sydney life. Every room has a modern bathroom, free cable television and reverse cycle air-conditioning. Central Station Hotel offers a 24 hour concierge and discounted parking vouchers for the Secure Parking complex which is located next to the hotel. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle bus to Sydney Airport.For an unbeatable location, genuine value for money and a memorable ‘Sydney’ experience look no further than Central Station Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Central On Wentworth Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing