We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #107 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Gold Coast Australia
1 review
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I have been staying at the Mercantile for the past 12 years and have found it to be an enjoyable and always a comfortable stay.We always come down there every year from the Gold coast and we stay for 3 days for the rugby bledisloe cup.The staff and food are great and we dont worry about the noise.Looking forward to being there in September again for another awesome 3 days. Steve.S

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    89
    47
    17
    14
See reviews for
23
90
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I am not a picky person... the location and price of this hotel make it awesome as well as the free breakfast thrown in. With the location and how it is in the Rocks the place is a great deal. The honest truth is that the hotel could use some touch ups.. its as simple as a little paint, a new comforter, and some small touches. The place has a lot of character with really cool crown molding and painted tin ceilings and you could tell there was history there. They only gave us soap and no shampoo which I found to be a little weird. Also there is no sort of front desk u simply walk to bar and tell them you are staying in the hotel...you square the details up in a small converted office upstairs and go to your room. Also beware if you are picky, the hallways to the rooms do smell of beer. This didn't really bother us but again this place is a great deal and location... just has some issues. Glad we stayed but I don't think this place would work for everyone. If you are looking to stay in the rocks and not spend a ton probably the best for the money if your not planning on spending a lot of time in the room.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank brooksdj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Great value and as we had a room at the back on the top floor(3rd) didn't suffer the noise that some reviewers have talked about but this is a working pub with live music every night.The decor was dated and a little threadbear but CLEAN with comfortable bed. The ensuite had a seperate shower and bath with plenty of hot water. Staff were very helpfull and friendly. There is a lock up room to store your luggage on the last day. Good mix of tourists and locals in the bar at night. The whole place reminded me very much of OSheas Talbot Street Dublin!!!!
The only possible down side is there are no lifts so a bit of a struggle getting the luggage up to the room but again on leaving a staff member took the wifes bags down.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Great location just steps away from the Sydney harbor bridge, opera house, & Circular Quay. Reminded me of European hotels. It's above an Irish pub & the room rate includes a full Irish breakfast. They serve pub food the rest of the day - it's a bit over priced, but good.

Take the train from the airport to Circular Quay & save the cab fare. Quick five minute walk from the train station to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel by the sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Mercantile is located in the Rocks Area just steps away from the Circle Quay by the Sydney Harbor. It is so easy to get to public transportation and the famous sites of Sydney. The hotel reminded me of the quaint B and Bs in Europe . The building is old but the bathrooms have been modernized. Great Irish Breakfast is included and the price is very reasonable for a large city. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

this place is buzzing full of friendly staff all wanting to know where youve been and where youre going on to. i felt really at home. Superb Breakfast on a morning and the guy who serves you it is such a nice Irish man. I cant fault my room - absolutely massive and the bath was a big corner bath. I saw one report on here before i left about cockroaches and it being dirty and not to eat here. Rubbish!!! its clean, cockroaches are a regular thing in sydney on the streets anyway so if windows and doors are open they get in - they got in my room because i left the window open. its a fab place to stay your right in the thick of it and its very well priced - thouroughly recomend it!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This was my second stay in the hotel (first one on february 2008) and it's a great value for a perfect location.I did a good reserch and you cannot find anything else so cheap and so nice in The Rock. People are friendly, breakfast very good, rooms and bath huge and you can avoid noises by getting a room at the back and on high floors.Go for it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crislondon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
902 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercantile Hotel

Property: The Mercantile Hotel
Address: 25 George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mercantile Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's longest running Irish Pub, in the heart of Sydney's historic Rocks precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercantile Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing