We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air of old school charm works fine”
Review of Vulcan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vulcan Hotel
Ranked #74 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Air of old school charm works fine”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of nights for work, which was located on Glebe Point Road, less than a 10 min walk away. The location was fine for that; I didn't go any further afield, so hard to judge if it's a good location if you're a visitor or tourist to Sydney.

The room was fine; mine overlooked the main street, but jet lag and being a heavy sleeper meant I didn't hear any noise. The room was a good size, bed comfy, TV worked. The room and the building in general had high ceilings, ceiling roses, etc, lending it an air of old school charm that I liked.

The bathroom was fine, except one small complaint; a gap in the shower screen meant it was inevitable water would escape and end up all over the floor, leaving the bath mat a soggy mess. A couple of squirts of waterproof sealer would help fix that.

I got a $5 breakfast voucher for one morning - and still ended up paying $12.50 on top of that again for breakfast. It was nice, but I wouldn't call it good value.

Would be fine to stay here again for the same purpose; for anything else, I'd recommend doing some research to find if it's in the right area for your needs.

One last thing; beware that reception isn't 24hr; I arrived around 10pm, just as the reception was closing up for the night. I had no idea that it closed that early and it was only by virtue of me choosing to get a taxi - instead of public transport, like I usually do - that I made it there in the nick of time!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank empress_joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan H, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hi Empress_joanna, what a fabulous Trip Advisor handle.
Thanks for your lengthy review of our family owned and run hotel. We have taken note of the shower issue you raised and will take immediate action. Reception is open till 10pm however in an emergency we would assist you after those hours. Kind regards - Carole & Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    181
    54
    26
    22
See reviews for
43
129
51
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Vulcan hotel was the perfect choice to stay in while being in Sydney. Loved the furniture and the way the whole hotel looked like. The hotel is located next to the university. Not really in the middle of town but within a 10 min. you are in the middle of everything- just what I wanted.
In addition to that, staff was super friendly and helpful. After a very small complaint, I got an uprgrade which was really generous- thank you for that.
I felt welcome from the first moment I stayed there. I would return anytime.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jule K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan H, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Hello Julie K
We really appreciate your review of our family owned and run hotel. Thank you for mentioning our great location to the city centre of Sydney. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Accused by the owner at 1am this morning of setting off the fire alarm. What the?!?!?!
Incredibly rude man. The whole experience has left a very bad impression. Won't be recommending this place any time soon

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
12 Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan H, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Joanna, it is unfortunate that the fire brigade and owner entering your room to check on your well being during a fire alarm was intrusive in your opinion.
No blame pointing at all, we simply were worried for your safety.
Regards, Carole and Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I must say I am very happy with my room at the Vulcan, I am in 308 it's perfect, comfy bed, pillows, quiet, I have a wonderful spa which I found hard to get out of as I was so relaxed, perfect after a very early start a flight and a long day in a conference. Easy walking distance to Central Shopping centre with Woolies and fast food take away. I will review the breakfast in the morning. the building is heritage and has been well maintained and has old world charm. If you book directly with the Vulcan you get free wifi, If you book in advance you get an early bird special, I am here for 2 nights and only paid $253, bargain.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, room 308 is quiet, double windows make a difference. Good black blinds help keep it dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan H, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Ingrid O
Thank you for pointing our hotels' wonderful attributes in your review. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Carole & Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

As a regular visitor to Sydney and a regular at the Vulcan I find satying there is like staying with a good friend and not the sterile enviroment of most large hotels. It is a no fuss well located hotel with lots of charm. The staff are friendly and as a regular treat you as such.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner room no city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan H, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Frank M
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy you feel as comfortable as at home when you visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We've stayed several times at the Vulcan as it ticks all the boxes for a young family or for a couple. With kids we had a great space that was very comfortable for us all. As a couple we were upgraded and the room was quiet and well set out.
This is a great location and the breakfast downstairs is great! The staff are really helpful and parking is very very reasonable. Cool space++

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomJacB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulcan H, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello TomJacB,
lovely to have stay with us so often and appreciate your kind review about our hotel. We strive to be a stylish value for money hotel with friendly staff and so near to Sydney city centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

They hotel is great value for money. The location is close to Darling Harbour and the public transport systems of Sydney. Also: sydney fish market, Glebe, Dog track. Modern interior - clean, tidy and well appointed. I based myself for 7 days in this hotel and saw all of Sydney. From Darling Harbour, to the farmers markets, Opera house, Manly, Glebe restaurants. Walked everywhere and used the great Sydney public transport from metro rail to trains, buses and ferries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello Annenberg

Lovely to have a guest from USA review in such positive way. Thank you for noting our location and easy access to see all the great sights of Sydney Australia. Please come and stay again. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
#78 of 178 in Sydney
578 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#58 of 178 in Sydney
197 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
1,581 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#104 of 178 in Sydney
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Property: Vulcan Hotel
Address: 500 Wattle St | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing