We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR SERVICE ALERT”
Review of Vulcan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vulcan Hotel
Ranked #84 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay with friends in Sydney. Arrived at 8pm and looks amazing from the front. Was greeted at reception by a lady with an accent who preceded to take my details for the booking and so forth. Then as she handed over the key I was told the room that had been booked on wotif.com was not available.

Surely we could of been rang and told this before hand.

We had booked a 44sq.m room with a kitchenette and was give a 15sq.m room without one.

Then the attitude started. I was told that I am lucky to have a room as they were booked out and I should be grateful.

I wasn't offered a refund or a reduction on the rate.

The I was told a manager would contact me, and still nothing.

The room was ok, but it was tiny and to pay over $ 300 for something that was advertised online for under $ 200 was a disgrace.

We chose this hotel because the reviews were great but we found the service from the young European staff to be very condescending and poor.

Really was very disappointed.

I don't leave many reviews on tripadvisor but this compelled me to do so.,

Aaron

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bear240671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello Bear240671

I am upset to hear you had a bad experience at our hotel. I will look into what happened and do my best to ensure this does not happen again. It surprises me that our European staff had attitude as we select them from the finest hotel schools in Europe. Rest assured I will personally look into this matter Thanks for your review and I will look into what happened. Thanks Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 430 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great hotel,strongly recommend having breakfast in it and enjoy a good chat with Carol, she will be happy to tell you about nice places around the city. Aswell you can go to theiir brewery in the hunter valley, which is just 2 hours from sydney

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Vduque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Vduque1 thank you for your review. I did enjoy chatting with you over breakfast, We would welcome you back again to stay with us. Thanks for your review. Carole and Harvey - Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 1 night attending a Darling Harbour progressive dinner!!
Vulcan Boutique Hotel was perfect location....
Great value for money so close to Sydney CBD. Welcoming staff and professional.
Recommend breakfast.!!
Definatley would stay again !!
M & J

Room Tip: Room 213 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avcatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Avcatts.
Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in room 213. We are thrilled you liked our breakfast and maybe next visit you could try our dinners. Kind regards
Carole & Harvey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights their hotel it is a bit dated but staff where excellent.
Great breakfasts and Carol recommended great days out and was an extremely god host.

Darling Harbour is only a short walk away
which is the gateway to Sydney cruises and a good venue in itself.

We where made to feel welcome and would recommend the hotel as a good place to stay to anyone seeking a few days in Sydney

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Dougnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dougnewton - lovely to meet you Doug and we hope to see you back again soon. I enjoyed our chats and happy to hear the information proved helpful. Kind regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and had a great time. We felt like we were staying in London the hospitality was terrific, the room clean and very quite. We met Carole while having breakfast and she made sure we were enjoying our stay. We had a twin room with a balcony and this was very comfortable. The parking is very easy to find and location of hotel close to central station And china town. We have always stayed right in the city but from now on this is our hotel to stay. Best of all the money stays in our country .... A big plus. Looking forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: Higher floor towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelecutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

michelecutty thanks so much for your review. We just love having country visitors to our hotel. Being a Temora gal myself it is lovely to chat to people from the bush. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again. See you in the breakfast room. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were very happy with our recent stay at the Vulcan Hotel. We chose this hotel because it seemed to offer good facilities and a convenient location (especially to Darling Harbour) at a reasonable price, and we were not disappointed. The car parking arrangement also worked well.
The reception staff - both at the time of our late arrival and also during the day - were very helpful and professional. The rooms were surprisingly quiet (we appreciated the double-glazed but opening windows), clean and comfortable, and the air conditioner was appreciated on a rather hot and humid weekend in Sydney.
We will certainly consider staying again at this hotel when we visit Sydney again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

swans11
Lovely to have our Victorian guests happy with their stay at our hotel. We appreciated you noting the little features of our hotel that we pride ourselves on like location, value for money and windows which open...nothing like a bit of fresh air! Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Paid bugger all, very nice room late check out and looked after our bags while we were shopping. Need 200 characters so typing more and more and stuff ok 200 is a lot on a phone, arrrrrr ok this has to be there now!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Rhys A

Thanks for the effort you went to typing on a mobile phone to review our hotel. We are pleased our staff looked after you so well. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#55 of 181 in Sydney
810 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#32 of 181 in Sydney
217 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#117 of 181 in Sydney
36 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 181 in Sydney
1,108 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#52 of 181 in Sydney
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Address: 500 Wattle St | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $95 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing