We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vulcan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$219
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$131
Novotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Sydney Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$134
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
$191
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$200
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$270
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$202
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$220
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
130
209
60
28
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
209
60
28
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarling harbourboutique hotelcentral stationbroadway shopping centreattending a conferencesydney fish marketpowerhouse museumnice breakfastmin walkairport shuttleroom was clean and comfortablestayed for two nightsthe ground floorlight sleeperbreakfast roominner cityearly check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 452 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were very happy with our recent stay at the Vulcan Hotel. We chose this hotel because it seemed to offer good facilities and a convenient location (especially to Darling Harbour) at a reasonable price, and we were not disappointed. The car parking arrangement also worked well.
The reception staff - both at the time of our late arrival and also during the day - were very helpful and professional. The rooms were surprisingly quiet (we appreciated the double-glazed but opening windows), clean and comfortable, and the air conditioner was appreciated on a rather hot and humid weekend in Sydney.
We will certainly consider staying again at this hotel when we visit Sydney again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

swans11
Lovely to have our Victorian guests happy with their stay at our hotel. We appreciated you noting the little features of our hotel that we pride ourselves on like location, value for money and windows which open...nothing like a bit of fresh air! Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Paid bugger all, very nice room late check out and looked after our bags while we were shopping. Need 200 characters so typing more and more and stuff ok 200 is a lot on a phone, arrrrrr ok this has to be there now!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Rhys A

Thanks for the effort you went to typing on a mobile phone to review our hotel. We are pleased our staff looked after you so well. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A friend and I stayed at Vulcan on Saturday night for 1 night. After getting off at Central station, as advised, we walked toward Broadway and into what looked like a small street - then literally stumbled upon the hotel!

Although the building is a bit old, the room itself was in really good condition. We had a big TV with all the Free to Air channels in working order, the bathroom was a tad on the small side though (Although the shower was a decent size) and the bathroom sink was TINY!! - That wasn't an issue though as we were only there for one night, but being 2 girls, we were scratching our heads as to how it would work!
The beds were extremely comfortable ( GREAT nights sleep) and the window could actually OPEN! This was important for fresh air and something you rarely find in city hotels.

The room had brilliant Air Con too, and although the view was of the street and random people walking by, it wasn't what we were there for.
I could imagine that noise could be an issue for somebody staying there during a busy period, so just keep that in mind when booking - closing the window though does drown most of it out.

All in all, a great little gem close to Central and Broadway - we loved the location because if you are torn between having lunch between the two, you could go either direction without distance being an issue!

Would we visit this place again?
Definitely!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Anita K

Thanks for your very review. I value reviews like you have written myself when I do travel research on Trip Advisor. We have a little gem of a hotel and yes whilst fresh air is a bonus in our hotel rooms we agree it is always good to shut your window of a night to stop inner city noise. Thank you for staying with us at the Vulcan Hotel. Carole & Harvey- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived at vulcan hotel on friday 21st February, once we entered the room 101 we noticed it didnt look like picture displayed on the agoda website. We asked whether they has accidently put us in the wrong room. Whilst waiting for the owner to come and see us we checked the tv reception ..... every channel but 1 was fuzzy, and waited over 20 mins for the air con to get cold.
Once the owner barged into our room we were confronted with an extremely rude man who told us this was the best room in the whole building, i was taking pictures at the time when we were told to get out and to never come back because we didnt like this room. He said " I will give you $100 to leave. He promptly went into the reception and stormed back with the money for room + bond we had paid, plus the $100 to shut us up and not post photos of the unfinished wall, smoke detector not conected and left over building materials.

We were left looking for accommodation at 7:30pm on a friday night on one of the busiest weekends.

I work in the tourism industry rating all different types of accommodation and have never encountered this kind of management!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, General Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Liza H
It is disappointing to note your comment. I doubt there is anything I can write to alleviate your issues. Our owner is a very good soul and he must have been very upset to ask you to leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for four nights in Feb 2014 and found it excellent in all respects. Room (210) and bathroom were quite large, and had all amenities (hair dryer, toiletries, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, etc.).Good location as could walk to Darling harbour and Chinatown, and also good bus services nearby. There is a pleasant inner courtyard to have a drink (and if you are a smoker, you can smoke there, but not in the rest of the hotel). Breakfast was good and plentiful. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

travellersalways

We greatly value the reviews by Senior Contributors. So a big thank you for your comments. Our breakfast are all made from locally sourced produce and we are delighted you felt satisfied by the experience in our restaurant and hotel. Please come and stay again. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews