We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop”
Review of Vulcan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vulcan Hotel
Ranked #74 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great overnight stop”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Arrived in Sydney at 7.40 a.m and went straight to the hotel. Had emailed them before arriving to request an early check-in, which despite saying that they would accomodate me, they weren't able to do. Other than that a great hotel for the overnight stop.

A fairly short walk to Pyrmont Bridge and Darling Harbour, so ideally situated.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshjordan365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
joshjordan365
Thanks for your review and it was a shame we could not get you into your room earlier as the hotel was very full the night before your arrival. Our policy is to guarantee checkin from 2pm. I know the staff did all they could to assist. Thanks and I hope we will see you back at our hotel again one day. Regards Carole and Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    181
    54
    26
    22
See reviews for
43
129
51
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2014 and both thought it was great.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious, modern and clean and the cost was lower than we expected. We believe we got great value for our money.

It's a 20 minute walk to the busy Darling harbour, China Town, Paddy's Market and the Fish Quay.

We had a great stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Gary C thanks for your kind words in the review. We are glad we met your expectations both on price and facilities provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Regards Carole and Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel very much.
The stuff is very friendly an helpful. Rooms are clean. They are rather small, but there is enough space for two persons there. The hotel is non-smoking, what is a great plus for us.
The hotel is situated not far from the Darling harbour. It took us abot 15 minutes walk to get there.
The hotel offers very nice breakfast!

We liked the hotel very much!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katte-katte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello Katte-katte
Fabulous to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our breakfasts. We pride ourselves on using locally sourced organic ingredients on our breakfast menu. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards Carole and Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huskisson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I loved that my room had an opening window which though there was more than adequate air con meant i wasn't stuck in a box! Bathroom was squeezy but not a showstopper. Loved the single room, good size and everything needed for an overnight or several day stay. Think I've found my regular Sydney stay when i need it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franc2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
franc2104 thanks for your review. We would be delighted to be your Sydney home when next you visit. Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just recently had a weeks stay at this gorgeous boutique hotel. Centrally located to where my course was held. Minutes walk to the city,paddys markets and around the block from the shopping mall. I would highly recommend the Vulcan Hotel to all my friends,family and clients. Wonderful warm service from all staff members. And our favorite of all Yves making us breakfast, which by far,is the BEST breakfast I have ever had! Fresh,organic and locally sourced. Whilst Carole was always up for a morning chat! We will certainly be visiting again in the near future. Thank you for your friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardessi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Ardessi3 How wonderful to hear from you via Trip Advisor review. Thanks for commenting on Yves fabulous breakfast. We welcome you back to stay again with is we enjoyed your company. Regards Carole and Harvey - Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at the Vulcan while on a course in Sydney in Nov 2013. Lovely quiet Hotel and the staff were very friendly and only too happy to help!

The rooms were on the smaller side but very comfy and cleaned everyday. The bathroom was also very clean.

We were about a 10 min drive away from the hustle and bustle of the city which was good for both getting around and staying in a quiet neighbourhood!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Jaimee22 Thank you for your posting, we work hard to provide a lovely guest experience at the Vulcan Hotel. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We value the comments of Senior Contributors.Regards Carole & Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We got a really good rate on a hotel booking site for this hotel and enjoyed our stay. However, I wouldn't pay the rack rate for it (over $200).

We found the location convenient - being an easy walk to Central, Chinatown, Broadway, etc. The people in previous reviews who said it was a long way to Darling Harbour, obviously did not know about the pedestrian walkway near the Powerhouse museum. Although it is a few blocks walk to shops and transport, there is a convenient Coles Express at the garage just across the road. As has been said, the room was quiet with both sections of the window closed.

Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. An added bonus was the good breakfast which was very reasonably priced for a Sydney Hotel.

Negatives:
The room was very small. We only had light luggage so it was fine, but if we had been returning from an overseas trip with full size suitcases we would not have been able to fit them in the room with two people as well. There was a suitcase rack in the room, but the only place it could be unfolded and set up was in the bathroom (which was large). There was a small wardrobe but no drawers or anything to unpack. Weirdly, there was a good desk area but with no powerpoint near it - annoying for using a computer.
The other main negative was the housekeeping. We stayed 3 nights. For the first two days our garbage bin - which was full - was not emptied, nor empty bottles taken away. The milk, tea and coffee were also not restocked. This was all done once I asked on the third morning - but it should not be necessary to ask.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Myrtus,

Thank you for your contribution and especially given you are a Senior Reviewer.

The Vulcan Hotel prides itself on being a heritage building and the style and elegance that comes with that, sometimes this means rooms are a but smaller than newer modern hotels. You are correct that we need power points at the desks and it is on our list to do this quarter.
We are disappointed to see that housekeeping lets you and us down during your stay. Rest assured it will be addressed at our weekly meeting. We thank you for highlighting these issues and would welcome you back again to our family run hotel.Thanks Carole & Harvey - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
#78 of 178 in Sydney
578 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#58 of 178 in Sydney
195 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
1,581 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#104 of 178 in Sydney
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Property: Vulcan Hotel
Address: 500 Wattle St | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing