We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - Great location in the heart of the Sydney”

George Street Private Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Street Private Hotel
Ranked #85 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value - Great location in the heart of the Sydney”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We all know how expensive Sydney accommodation has become so this hotel was a good little find. Right on George Street and within 10-15min walk of everything makes this place a good start.


Stayed in a Budget Single Room, Small room but clean, Single bed but very comfortable, The shared toilet and showers were clean. This place is not the quietest place but hey look where you are and for AUD73 a night makes this place definitely worth looking at in this price category.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaws550402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    25
    9
    11
See reviews for
6
20
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

For the price, don't expect too much. But for a backpackers, the service, overall cleanliness, and rooms are good. The kitchen is small, and a little dirty (the fridge is a mess), but I don't think that's entirely the management's fault.
I was very impressed with how clean the bathrooms and toilets were, and the availability of hot water. The towels were replaced from our room everyday, without any of our stuff going missing, which is very important. There is also no elevator, despite there being 3 floors (4, counting from the street). As we went in the summer, our 3rd floor room was stuffy at first, but if you open the windows (even when you go out), the ocean is close enough to get cool breezes anytime.
It has been said before, but I want to say it again, the location of this place is great. It's close to the shops, transport, sights, nightlife, just look and ask around. It is just a 30min walk to the Opera House and Harbour Bridge, and a 5min walk to Chinatown for shopping.
The downside to being in the middle of everything is that it never really is quiet at any time of the day (or night), so pack an mp3 player or earplugs for the night.

Room Tip: Although you might not want to climb the stairs, it is better to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I was there with friends for a night. We took the family room, which was only AUD110 a night! We chose this backpackers because of its central location.

Overall, this is a good, decent, no frills and value for money backpackers. Despite the place looking slightly old and dull, what I really liked were:
- Clean sheets
- Convenience store just right beside it
- Single bathrooms (although for those who hates waiting, this might annoy you)

For light sleepers, this place can get fairly noisy at night, with the nightlife just across the street. But, we didn't have any problems with that because we were way too tired.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacarandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Even though this is a budget 2 star accommodation/backpackers it served our needs well.. It is very well located near to all the shops and very handy to Central Railway station.
There is No LIFT and you have to use the stairs all the time..
Staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I've stayed for many hotels in Sydney but for me this hotel is the good one considering the price, location and service. I've got a very good deal for this hotel and they give a very good service. The staff was very nice and the hotel is very clean. Hotel location is very accessible and just walking distance to sydney's paddys market and darling harbour. I'm very happy in my stay in this hotel and i found it very relaxing to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junconcepcion_0775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Room type: Twin @ $73 per night. Our room was on the 2nd floor, so it was shielded from most street level noise. No tv, but it's not necessary. Fan provided in the room, but no air conditioning. At this time of year this was not a problem, but in Summer, it might get too hot. Communal bathrooms. Bathroom availability was good & they are kept clean & well stocked with toilet paper. 30 minutes of free internet provided per room, per day, located in the Common Room.

Security: You get a key to get to your floor, and a key to get to your room. Probably the least secure floor is the 1st floor, as it's where the communal kitchen is & that floor door tends to be left open.

Location: Great location. A few minutes walk to the train station. Chinatown is just around the corner & great for late night snacks. Coles is across the road. CBD/Circular Quay/The Rocks, are all within walking distance (around 30mins if you walk quickly).

Overall: Keeping in mind that it is a budget accommodation, The George is good value & does the job. It is no frills, but for what you pay, you don't expect there to be any. It is just a place to sleep & shower. Bedding was clean, & towels changed daily.

Note: It is not a boutique hotel, that is a stretch of advertising on the part of The George.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

George is a perfect hostel, located smack downtown Sydney. The free bus stops right outside the front door, Scruffy Murphy's around the corner serves a great cooked breakfast and there is free internet or wifi in the common room. We stayed in a double room with a private bath and tv (!) for $100, Nothing schmancy, but it was clean, quiet and cheap - great for the traveler looking to experience all Sydney has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickychicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#97 of 178 in Sydney
961 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#26 of 139 in Sydney
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 139 in Sydney
404 reviews
Sydney Central Inn
#55 of 139 in Sydney
71 reviews
790 on George
#48 of 139 in Sydney
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Street Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Street Private Hotel

Property: George Street Private Hotel
Address: 700a George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Street Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your George Street Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing