We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Potts Point”
Review of The Maisonette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maisonette
Ranked #4 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Maisonette and found this hotel to be charming and comfortable. The staff was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. This is not the Ritz but if you are looking for a clean room and bathroom and only plan to spend time in the room sleeping, than this is for you. The location is perfect, a close walk to the Botanical Gardens, Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyMontrealQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for The Maisonette
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 494 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2008

This Hotel is situated in Potts Point, although some locals argued and said it was all Kings Cross.
It is situated shall we say then, in the upmarket part of Kings Cross. Good location, within 20/30 minutes walk to Circular Quay via the Botanical Gardens.
There are several restaurants situated in the same street and breakfast is taken in a coffee bar/bistro/restaurant below.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful but the room was not quite up to scratch. It did seem quite clean, there was a microwave and some dishes and there is a supermarket and delis within five minutes walk.
I would return, but with some reservations regarding specific rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

After a not so great start to our holiday - heavy rain and a grumpy taxi driver who did not know where he was going- it was so nice to be greeted by a happy friendly face at this hotel. We found the hotel at the accommodation board at the airport and initially booked one night (so we could see if we liked the area). The rooms are not flashy (but neither was the price). It was clean and had all the essential things you need - tv, fridge, bathroom etc. The staff bend over backwards to help - even lending us an umbrella. It suited what we wanted - affordable & close to everything. When the weather fined up we walked to the harbour (about 30min) otherwise there was a bus just around the corner. Great local neighbourhood & great breakfast downstairs in the hotel cafe.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adventure2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

My husband & I stayed in Sydney last week and we were lucky enough to take advantage of a special January rate offered by this hotel. The room was very clean and the staff were very helpful, assisting us plan our stay in Sydney to maximise our three days. They even took care of our bags on the last day and let us use the bathroom to freshen up before our flight home. It is not a luxurious hotel, but the price reflects this. I can describe this hotel as being very similar to a European pension. Breakfast is included and is served in the equally friendly cafe downstairs which serves some of the best coffee I have had anywhere.

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank onthemoveSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

After been set up by the hotel at midnight alone in the dark, even though I had made a reservation ahead of time when arriving, I tried again the next day. No, they told me, the did not rent rooms for one night because it was too busy and two nights was the minimum (have you ever heard anything like that?). Because everything else was either much more expensive or much worse, I decided to book. The room had gone from 70 dollars to 100 for a single room. It was very noisy as the room was right next to the main entrance. The next door building in front of the bedroom windows blocked al sunlight, and there were no shelfs in the bathroom to put anything on. Also the building next door turned out to be a kitchen of a restaurant, which meant more noise throughout the evening. Breakfast was, well, light. A toasted piece of bread with jelly and one cup of coffee is what you get. I recommend when going to Sydney in highseason (december/january), to book ahead and not stay in this guesthouse.

And oh yeah, the staff instructions were brought as if listening to a robot, and were not helpfull.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Arizonastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Canada
319
Reviewed September 23, 2005

My husband and I stayed in a double room with ensuite. The room was fairly small but clean and quiet. The staff were very helpful and there were great restaurants nearby. Downtown Sydney is a 20 minute walk away through the botanical gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2003

We spent four nights here and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The location was excellent: just a few blocks to the Kings Cross city rail station, excellent restaurants nearby (the base restaurant, Yellow Restaurant, MacLeay Street Bistro, and the Fratelli bakery/cafe across the street were our favorites). The rooms are small and basic: ours had a t.v., double bed, but no a/c. The first night was very loud as world cup revelers in the room upstairs decided too party (loudly) from 3 to 5 a.m. To their credit, the management of the hotel got rid of these revelers the very next day. Like all hotels in Sydney though, the Maisonnette was charging premium prices for what is essentially a basic, friendly, no frills hotel. Overall, a decent place to stay in a nice neigborhood with pretty much everything nearby (if your not unwilling to walk just a little, of course).

29  Thank erub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 178 in Sydney
1,035 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maisonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maisonette

Address: 31 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $88 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maisonette 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small well established affordable Boutique Hotel located in one of Sydney's premier locations known as Potts Point. Located only a short walk to the harbour foreshore, our hotel is an excellent choice for anyone wanting to experience the best that Sydney has to offer. Recently refurbished, our rooms have been styled to maximise space and comfort. Experience the chic village lifestyle that makes Potts Point one of Sydney's most envious urban precincts. The neighbourhood offers visitors a vast choice of quality cafes, restaurants, wine bars, as well as a range of eclectic boutiques, antiques and design stores. On our doorstep is also a supermarket, delicatessen, laundromat, whole food store, bakery as well as excellent transport options. Being small we pride ourselves in being able to offer a more personal approach. Our front desk team will go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Sydney is an enjoyable experience. We encourage guests to contact us direct so we can provide the best advise for your stay in Sydney. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Maisonette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing