We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for the budget traveller”
Review of The Maisonette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maisonette
Ranked #4 of 58 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed one night here.Probably wouldn't like to stay more.

Positives: Location - right in the centre of the Potts Point restaurant district.
Windows – able to open for fresh air (no aircon)
Ceiling fan - quiet and effective
Price - Pretty good for the centre of the city
Service - Nice staff and helpful. Although no check-in after 8pm.
Negatives: Very small room and really hot even with windows and fan. No cross ventilation.It was about 10deg cooler in the stairwell!
No Lift - we were on the 3rd floor. Narrow steep stairs and a bit of an effort with luggage.
Parking - No close drop off point. Street is really narrow and super busy. Parking - 10 mins walk to Kings Cross parking station.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildturkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 545 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you're on a budget-trip, but you want to avoid hostels and too cheap accommodation, this is the right choice. The neighborhood is pretty, quiet, with lovely cafes and victorian buildings. King's Cross train station is at easy walking distance, as well as the Domain and the Botanic Gardens. Of course, you get what you pay for: don't expect a classy and neat maison, or a perfect bathroom. Rooms can be stinky or noisy, and they're often too warm in summertime. Still, worth it.

Room Tip: Avoid 34, and room on the cafe side. Lower floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phistac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Located in Potts Point, near to Sydney centre, botanical gardens & opera house, but in quiet tree-shaded streets, maybe Sydney's best bookstore and lots of laid-back cafes nearby. Decent en suite room, clean, but lacking A/C - all ok for my purposes - especially positive with the kettle and microwave! Only negative is lack of lift, you have to lug your luggage yourself up narrow atairs, but that's no real problem if you're prepared for it. Very friendly and helpful staff - full marks to them!

Room Tip: Not one facing a brick wall right over restaurant vent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Firstly, ill put the review in context. I needed a short stay apartment in Sydney for work as I was waiting to move in to a new apartment so I booked this hotel in Potts Point. It is cheap from a price perspective and therefore I guess I couldnt really expect the Ritz but I think this hotel can do better.
The service is actually good - the staff are friendly and helpful.
The rooms are small, really really hot, noisy, the bathrooms are unclean and there is a funny smell in the rooms.
For 100-150 per night there is much better value in Sydney

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sampan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed several nights in this hotel in both a double and a twin room, we booked last minute which gave us some 'hot deals'. All rooms were decent with more than sufficient facilities. The staff was very helpful and efficient. Location in Potts Point is nice if you re looking for a cozy neighbourhood, bit noisy sometimes so bring your earpluggs if you re a light sleeper :) You get new towels every day, but the beds are not made up. Small effort that could make it look even better!

Room Tip: don't take room on the first floor if you re a early/light sleeper, restaurants on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

A very Sydney experience with its position close to everything and great cafes nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone .. I definitely intend staying there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We decide to be in Sydney for the NYE without knowing that it is incredible expensive everywhere. This hotel is perfectly located in a very nice chic/cool area with cafes, restaurants and very close to subway stations, supermarket, and also 10-15 min down town. Opera house is walkable 15 min aprox through a nice park. Rooms are very small and basic also bathroom/toilet. It is more like a hostel with basic facilities but clean and nice. There is no air conditioning but ceiling fun. Good value for money, lovely neigborhood and very friendly staff. It is also very close to bars and nightlife; gay area as well. attention, no gym, no breakfast, no pool, and basic toilet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felipe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#55 of 182 in Sydney
811 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 182 in Sydney
898 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 182 in Sydney
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Springfield Lodge
#9 of 58 in Sydney
749 reviews
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#11 of 58 in Sydney
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maisonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maisonette

Address: 31 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maisonette 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small well established affordable Boutique Hotel located in one of Sydney's premier locations known as Potts Point. Located only a short walk to the harbour foreshore, our hotel is an excellent choice for anyone wanting to experience the best that Sydney has to offer. Recently refurbished, our rooms have been styled to maximise space and comfort. Experience the chic village lifestyle that makes Potts Point one of Sydney's most envious urban precincts. The neighbourhood offers visitors a vast choice of quality cafes, restaurants, wine bars, as well as a range of eclectic boutiques, antiques and design stores. On our doorstep is also a supermarket, delicatessen, laundromat, whole food store, bakery as well as excellent transport options. Being small we pride ourselves in being able to offer a more personal approach. Our front desk team will go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Sydney is an enjoyable experience. We encourage guests to contact us direct so we can provide the best advise for your stay in Sydney. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maisonette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing