We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING, UNCLEAN.. RYDGES? NEVER AGAIN!!!”
Review of Rydges Camperdown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Camperdown
Ranked #156 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING, UNCLEAN.. RYDGES? NEVER AGAIN!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The room was unclean... I accidently knocked the bed, and found underneath the bed was absolutely FILTHY! My bottom sheet had been put on without covering the lower section of the bed.

I asked for a wake up call as I had a six hour meeting the next day. I was woken up 1.5 HOURS prior to the time I asked to be woken up! How unprofessional!!

There were signs everywhere in the hotel advertising a happy hour with canapes during weekdays. There was no happy hour or canapes.

I was charged twice for WiFi access due to internet dropping out!

Shower was cold (had hot tap on full and no cold water, and it was STILL cold!), and had a leak out the side, which leaked all over my clothes.

Upon complaining to staff, I was treated very nonchalant, and given a discount. I made it clear I didn't want a discount, I wanted an apology. Didn't get one.

I am a priority privilege member with Intercontinental Hotels and have stayed with them worldwide, and NEVER had any troubles with them. I will never stay at a Rydges again after this experience, would not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ducati_Girl848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCDManager, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, it is disappointing to hear that you had an unfortunate experience whilst staying with us at Rydges Camperdown, I have personally address your comments you mentioned with our Management Team. Once again I do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    136
    201
    100
    76
See reviews for
115
126
51
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Checked in and they had allocated a non smoking room despite repeated requests for a smoking room. Another friend who doesnt smoke was allocated a smoking room. So it appears if you request a smoking room you dont get one and if you dont smoke you get one.
Then the very kind man at the Reception found us a room on the smoking floor but it only had one bed so he offered us a roll away bed. I have slept on rollaway beds before but this one was awful and very very uncomfortable and woke with a very very sore back. When the rollaway arrived the guy just dumped it in the room and ran out of the room so quick and didnt offer to set it up for us.

The room itself is very very tired and there is paint peeling from the walls, the bathroom is worn out and cracked and broken tiles and a very filthy toilet.

Having stayed at other Rydges Hotels before I was expecting a pretty good standard and was not impressed with this place at all - it would barely meet the 3 star rating.

The room service breakfast was great value and arrived on time and was very appetising.

There were serious problems with the airconditioning in the room as in the early hours of the morning it was boiling hot in the room and impossible to sleep comfortably. I ended up having to wet a towel to keep me cool.

A bit disappointed considering the brand new Rydges.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCDManager, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, it is disappointing to hear that you had an unfortunate experience whilst staying with us at Rydges Camperdown, I have personally address your comments with the Management Team. Once again I do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Room was neat and clean which suited our needs. Beds were comfortable. LCD T.V. very nice. Male reception person needs education on customer focus i.e. polite communication NOT just the word 'Yes!' spoken in a rude and disinterested tone when approached politely by Guest who asked 'excuse me please.......'. Extremely unprofessional.

Full breakfast was atrocious! Not hot, not much on offer and that was just after 8a.m.! Coffee could not be drunk as it actually looked like dirty dish water. A cliche, I know, but true. Dining room staff really should move the butter & margarine away from the industrial size toaster. Just common sense! Please ensure enough hot food for guests as I saw people with barely anything on their plate as baine-maries' were nearly empty. Two staff went about slowly removing and replacing plates but not replacing food! So, do NOT have breakfast there!

Female reception staff was very pleasant, courteous and professional.
All in all got a good price and it was what it was. Not really complaining but they do need to pick up their act in a couple of areas as above.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimistella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCDManager, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor, I was truly disappointed to hear you comments regarding the level of service, as this is something we pride ourselves in. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope we are given the opportunity to host you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

This hotel is undergoing renovation for the next few months. Meaning: Construction noise, whole floors that smell of solvents, paint and glue, and old un-renovated rooms that are literally falling apart.

Staff are poorly trained and can't answer basic questions such as "what floor is the guest laundry on", and the late night security guard requires an attitude realignment. I was given a room key for a room that was already occupied, which may well have caused embarrassment had I entered unannounced at the wrong time. An unacceptable security lapse.

It's position near the corner of two of Sydney's busiest streets (a lot of traffic noise in poorly insulated rooms) only adds to the misery suffered by guests at this truly horrible hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clownshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCDManager, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, November 16, 2009
Dear Clownshoes,
As previously mentioned, Rydges Camperdown is currently undergoing refurbishments of accommodation rooms, please note that there will be minimal disturbance as each floor is completed one at a time with no guests allocated to that floor. We apologise regarding your check-in issue, the front office manager has been made aware of this situation and will work with each staff member to ensure this does not occur again.
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I had to go into hospital in october and needed to stay in a hotel to rest after my operation,to my suprise this hotel is absolutely filfthy.The curtains had blood over them,carpets were filfty,bathrooms had never been cleaned ,hair in sink and around taps,bath dirty,cups dirty.The whole place is just a germ hole it should be closed down.We asked to be moved to another room that was just as bad.BUT TO TOP IT OFF THE SMOKE ALARMS WERE COVERED WITH SHOWER CAPS SO IF THERE WAS A FIRE NO ONE WOULD KNOW ABOUT IT UNTIL IT WAS TOO LATE.I am reporting them to the local health inspectors and fire authorities.Food teriable.They keep saying they are going to renovate do not stay till you see a room. Good Luck Everyone

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emailmeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCDManager, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
Dear emailmeAustralia,

Rydges Camperdown would like to advise that refurbishments of accommodation rooms are currently in progress and began on 6th October 2009. Please rest assured that all aspects of safety are taken very seriously by the hotel, including fire safety. Like all hotels in the city this includes undergoing various checks and audits to ensure compliance and safety.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Spent one night too long in a draughty western facing room with no heating & utterly frigid air-con that could not be turned into warm mode .The window facing west had a severe draught all night with strong westerly winds .The aircon seemed to only do cold and colder so was not turned on .During the night this guest woke up to a freezing room due to bad draught from the poorly sealed window & nil heating.A search for an extra blanket in the room was futile so I returned to bed fully clothed. When reception was informed of these problems on check-out they were utterly insouciant -mention was made of an intended upgrade.No compensation was offered eg by waiving the parking charge or 3.5% credit card surcharge.Never again for this Rydges Priority club member .NOT recommended at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljamesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCDManager, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear PaulJamesg,
Thank you for the feedback provided within your posting on Trip Advisor. We appreciate feedback as a way to better understand and improve the hotel. We apologies for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay due to your room being too cold and not having a blanket readily available for use in your room. From time to time guests can feel that the room temperature is either too hot or too cold for their needs and the hotel tries to anticipate these needs with additional blankets (usually located within the cupboard of each room) and also fans which are available via our 24 hour reception staff, on a case by case basis. Thank you for your comments regarding your experience with our reception team. The hotel has a great reputation for having friendly and considerate staff and we apologies that the team has let you down on this occasion. Please rest assured our front office manager has been made aware of this occurrence and will be looking into the matter further.

Kindest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Overall, I consider this a good hotel. I had recently stayed in the Rydges World Square; the Rydges Camperdown obviously loses in the comparison. The building is not as modern and the location is not as central. I chose the Rydges Camperdown this time because I had a rental car. The hotel location allowed me to drive to the institution I was visiting without having to drive in the CBD. Besides, I found the parking rates at the hotel very reasonable (12 AUD per day). The parking lot, however is for "experts". I have never seen so many columns in my life. I managed ok, but it must be scary for non-expert drivers. The location is fine, with the restaurants along King St, Newton, within walking distance. My room was big, and with nice views of the city skyline. It is true that some aspects of the room were a bit dated, but it was just a question of aesthetics. Everything was perfectly usable. At least in my room, what I think would be best renovating is the carpeting and the stove in the kitchen (I forgot to mention, my room had a kitchen, which I found a nice addition to your regular hotel room).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCDManager, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, October 26, 2009
Dear Reinga,
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding Rydges Camperdown. We were glad to hear that you found the hotel to be a convenient location on the outskirts of the city CBD with easy access to Sydney’s Inner West and Western suburbs. The hotel is pleased to advise that refurbishments have begun and currently in the process of laying new carpet throughout guest rooms and corridors. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Camperdown Suites
#138 of 179 in Sydney
19 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Veriu Camperdown
#17 of 179 in Sydney
117 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#125 of 179 in Sydney
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Property: Rydges Camperdown
Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing