We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location ordinary room”
Review of Rydges Camperdown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Camperdown
Ranked #152 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location ordinary room”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although renovated the rooms are still run down, corridors musty and bar and restaurant area below par. When I stayed no one was manning the bar during happy hour and i had to go to reception to get service.

Great location handy for Sydney Uni and Newtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear anthony P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I appreciate you pointing out that our location is indeed convenient for Sydney Uni and Newtown, but your other comments are most definitely important for us to consider moving forward on how we need to continue to improve on our product offering.

I will be sharing this with the team and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this feedback.

Thank you again & regards
Robert O'Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    135
    197
    99
    76
See reviews for
113
125
50
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - close to King St, Newtown, and lots of fun shops and excellent restaurants. However, as others have said, this hotel badly needs to be refurbished. While my room was clean and comfortable and everything I needed, there was one major, major drawback - there is no wifi in the room. There is cable broadband which is not going to suit evryone - and it's expensive - 75c a minute. I was on a work trip and needed to work in my room in the evenings, and the lack of wifi was a major inconvenience. For a Rydges hotel, where I was being charged $180 a night, this is completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swil9826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear swil9826,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am appreciative that you noted the clealiness, and comfort and the basics of what you needed in your room. I would also like to extend our apologies for not having access to Wi-Fi in your room. While complimentary Wi-Fi has been arranged for the lobby for guest use, we do note the need to extend this to our rooms. While I can confirm that this request is currently under review, I am unable to provide you with a timeframe of when this will happen.

For the time being, please accept our apologies once again and I sincerely hope we can advise when this feature becomes available at our hotel.

Kindest regards
Robert O'Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Smelly carpets and bathroom, paint peeling from the wall, no decoration... really not expecting this considering this is part of the Rydges group and considering their rates aren't cheap. The bed was fine though. Lots of noise (banging doors etc.) so take your earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear AFJB,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am disappointed that your experience during your stay was not to your expectations and clearly not of the expected standards of Rydges Campderown and our company. I will be bringing this to the attention of our management team for review to ensure this is not a repeat experience for our guests.

If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you again for your time and feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards
Robert O'Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Desperately old and in need of refurbishment. The smell of musty carpet hits you as you get out of the lift and the room smelt like a urinal overlayed with bleach. Not totally pleasant! Window was screwed shut so no fresh air available. Upside was that it was actually clean - although carpets and curtains were stained. But the bed was very comfortable. Restaurant has menu so retro it is beyond retro. Service was adequate but for the price, definitely not worth it. Staying for business due to location, but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Ann S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our signature Rydges DreamBed and found the room to be clean. I am however disappointed at the other issues with regards to your stay. Please be assured that this feedback has been passed on to our teams accordingly and will work to ensure that our standards are matched with the expectations of our guests.

Of course, if you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel on 02 9516 1522.

Thank you again for your time and for the feedback - it is greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards
Robert O'Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel due to its location to eateries in Newtown, public transport to the city and its price. This hotel is in need of refurbishment. This time we stayed on the second floor where the smell of damp carpet was overpowering. Our room was adequate for our needs with 2 children however only half the lights and power points worked.

The restaurant - we ate both nights in the hotels restaurant and the food on both occasions was very good and the kitchen was accommodating to special requests. The breakfast however was a let down. The food was cold and not refreshed as with the hot water for tea and coffee.

The staff on reception were friendly and looked after our needs as with the restaurant staff although they seemed to move like they would have preferred to be elsewhere.

The carpark was an experience in weaving a car through a series of pillars into a car spot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergusr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear fergusr99,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am appreciative of the fact that you highlighted some positive aspects of your stay with us, as well as areas we need to improve on. Please be assured that this feedback is shard with our team as we work to improve on those areas that require our immediate attention.

If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me directly. Otherwise, please accept our gratitude for your time and feedback as it is greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards
Robert O'Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has convenient location with public transport very accessible.

Parking garage is very difficult to maneuver around with pillars everywhere and our pass never worked meaning you had to wait for someone to answer the intercom and remotely open the door.

Only one lift was in service which made for lengthy delays for us trying to go down to breakfast each morning, not much fun for five kids and three adults.

Only one of our room keys worked, and despite returning to the desk twice, it still wasnt activated correctly. This was additionally frustrating with the elevator situation.

We had spilt red drink on a white pillow and on the sheets from a knocked over cup (sorry). It was quite obvious the sheets were dirty, but housekeeping made up the bed with the bright red stained dirty sheets the next morning. They should be understanding about accidents happening.

While the bathroom was very old and dated, it was clean. However, we had 4 people in our room, but only 3 towels were provided. And the plug was to small for the bath which made bathing my 6 year olds challenging.

The breakfast is advertised as "award winning" but I find this surprising. And despite paying for an accommodation package which included breakfast, I was asked on at least 4 occasions to pay for breakfast.

We sat by the pool on our final morning after breakfast only to be discouraged by the overpowering stench of cigarette butts. It would be a lovely area if it was maintained and kept cigarette free.

There were some positives. While the hotel is clearly very old, the rooms are quite comfortable and nicely appointed. There is only so much you can do with an old building, and Rydges have done all they can really. The beds are fantastic, and the flat screen tv is great in the room too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Nicole W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with this feedback.

I am appreciative and pleased that you have detailed the points for improvement and have also pointed out the positive parts of your stay. As you mentioned, there are indeed limitations to what we can do with an old building, but there are also positives and areas where we can still improve on the way we provide you - our guest - a certain standard of service.

With this, thank you again for your time and for providing us with this feedback. I will be sure to share this with the team as we work to improve on our product and service offering for our guests.

Kindest regards

Robert O'Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We find the carpark is quite difficult to manouver because of all the pillars. The room was spacious but was in need of a face lift. The best quality of this motel is its location to RPA and Newton. Also the convenience of the bus stop out the front with easy access to the city. Rydges used to offer a discounted rate for RPA patients but this is not the case any more. If this could be an option again that would be greatly appreciated as we have to come to Sydney every two months for appointments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Leanne2003,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Our location is indeed one of our advantages with close promixity to RPA and Newtown. I am disappointed to hear though that an RPA rate was not offered to you as this is something we still have in place. They do however vary from day to day depending on availability. For future bookings, please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel for assistance.

Thank you once again for your feedback and time - it is greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards
Robert O'Brien
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Camperdown Suites
#134 of 178 in Sydney
17 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#125 of 178 in Sydney
58 reviews
Veriu Camperdown
#34 of 178 in Sydney
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Property: Rydges Camperdown
Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing