We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value ,handy to hospital,public,transport”
Review of Rydges Camperdown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Camperdown
Ranked #157 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was very convenient for us .The beds were comfy rooms a good size,the staff friendly,shower was a problem , quite touchy to regulate the temp.
Very handy to public transport and RPA hospital.Ideal for someone who had family in RPA.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zahnleitercollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear zahnleitercollins,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay.

I'm pleased that the convenience of our location and comfortable bed and room were to your satisfaction. We do strive to provide a valueable offering fr our guests and am pleased to see that this has been the case with your stay.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kindest regards
Robert O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 552 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently I stayed here for business over two nights. Perfect location for just about everything in Sydney. Whilst obvioulsy not a new hotel, it offers a very resonably priced accommodation problem.Rooms are clean, albeit a little tired and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are also huge..mine had two king size beds!
Great accommodation option if you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced to stay that is really convenient

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollybelle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Pauline R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on a recent stay with us.

One of the advantages of occupying an older building is the generous size rooms we have for our guests. I'm also glad to see that you found our signature Rydges DreamBed comfortable and found the location convenient.

While we don't profess to be a 5-star luxury property, we are proud to offer an economically priced product to suit the needs of our guests.

Thank you again for your response and we look forward to welcoming you back when next in Sydney.

Kindest regards
Robert O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last weekend so we could check out the Sydney Tattoo Expo. Although the hotel is old it is very comfortable with nice clean rooms, a great buffet breakfast and very friendly staff. We were in walking distance to the heart of Newtown. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Mallie36,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on a recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that despite the 'older' building, you have noted the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, as well as the positive experience you had with our new buffet breakfast called RISE, and the 'very friendly staff' you encountered during your stay.

Our location continues to be enjoyed by our guests and am glad to read that this was indeed the case with you and your wife.

All in all, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sydney, and that you had a positive experience while staying with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to respond and look forward to welcoming you back when next in Sydney.

Kindest regards
Robert O'Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Normally I wouldn't write a review until I've left a hotel, but the service here is so good that I couldn't wait!
We needed a place to stay when one of my family had been released from hospital and had to recover for the flight home. Grace at reception provided an outstanding customer service experience for us and made sure that every minute detail was arranged. The reception staff have a complete "Can Do" attitude and we have been very impressed.
The room that we have been in is a little dated, yet very comfortable and clean. The beds and linen are faultless.
We stayed in a special disabled room which has special features which has been very helpful after the hospital visit. The shower is instantly responsive with good strong pressure. Tea and Coffee supplied with kettle and refrigerator also.
The food has been great and the in-house restaurant is well-run. There are also a number of great coffeeshops and restaurants at your doorstep.
We cannot say enough about how well-treated we have been by the Rydges staff who have gone above and beyond time and time again. We would quite happily stay here again based on how well we have been looked after here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAussieMuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O, Front Office Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear TravellingAussieMuso,

Thank you for your fantastic review on your stay.

As a manager who has recently started with Rydges Camperdown, I too have been impressed with the 'can do' attitude of the staff here. This is the experience and standard that we strive to achieve for all our guests, and I am particularly pleased to read that this has set the tone for the duration of your stay and resulted in an enjoyable time while with us.

As always, please feel free to contact us should you require any assistance in the future.

Thank you once again as your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good location
Arrived to room and fridge was turned off.
Had a bath, noticed hair on side of the bath, stains all over curtains, got woken up 9:00am (two knocks then she entered the room) for House Keeping (when check out is at 11:00am).
When checking out didn't get asked how are stay was, the standard friendly customer service expected was not delivered.
Would not stay there again, as we felt dirty sleeping in the bed and showering!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad our location suited your needs whilst in Sydney, but
I am also very sorry that you did have a satisfactory stay. From your comments, I completely understand your disappointment and would like to assure you these are not our normally high standards.

I will be personally addressing the points you have brought to my attention, in particular your comments regarding your check out experience.

We do truly hope to have you back another time, to show you that this was not the usual Rydges Camperdown experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for it's proximity to RPAH. The room we had needs updating badly. The bed was very comfortable, but the rest of the room was badly in need of attention. The bathroom had mildew around the the edge of the shower/bath, and it looked like paint had been spilt on the floor whenever it was last painted - certainly not recently. Everything in the bar fridge was frozen solid, and the dress mirror had fallen onto the floor (with corner damage) and was just left resting against the wall. The air-conditioning worked well but dripped water out of the vent. The tea/coffee making facilities were very primitive, and not even a complimentary biscuit! There was no remote for the TV and when we got one it didn't work properly. Staff were aloof and disinterested. I have stayed at this hotel in the past but it is run down and out-dated now. I am a supposed "Priority Guest" but would not recommend it now.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 59Kathy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the Rydges Dream Beds during your stay, many guests even choose to purchase one after they have stayed in a Rydges hotel.

Thank you for your review and constructive comments, I will ensure your feedback notes are shared with the entire team so the correct action is taken. It is extremely disappointing to hear of the lack of helpful customer service, as friendly attentive service from our staff, is something we very much pride ourselves on.

We do hope to see you another time so that you can see that ,Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is in need of updating, paint and repair. My room had no working internet (it was only wired, no wireless at all in hotel), no working TV and there was no thermostat in the room. The air conditioning is only on or off so the room is either very cold or airless. There is wireless internet in the lobby area, however only enough place for 4 people to sit, so that was an issue for many of the guests who had to stand up to use it.

Other guests were continuously complaining. One guest couldn't enter her room as the key card reader didn't work, so she had to be escorted to her room by one of the staff every time she left her room.

The bathroom outlets had been moved and a huge area of plaster unfinished. There was mold growing on the bottom of the shower curtain and very dirty burners on their hot plate.

Breakfast is mediocre. The food was always ice cold and the eggs runny and watery. Coffee also terrible with an extra charge for real coffee (rather than what seemed to be weak instant coffee in the thermoses). VERY expensive for the state this hotel is in.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abetter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback.

I will be sharing your comments with the Housekeeping and Maintenance team so that they are aware of the issues you have pointed out.

Our complimentary wifi is available in the hotel lobby, as well as our restaurant and bar area, however I will be addressing your comments regarding the internet service in your room with our internet provider.

We do genuinely appreciate all reviews and feedback from our guests, as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service and product standards, so thank you again for taking the time to provide your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Camperdown Suites
#139 of 180 in Sydney
21 reviews
Veriu Camperdown
#12 of 180 in Sydney
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
494 reviews
Veriu Broadway
#35 of 180 in Sydney
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $108 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing