We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Camperdown
Nearby Hotels
$197
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$394
$137
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$240
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$216
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$252
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$223
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$137
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
29
147
217
107
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
147
217
107
87
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 587 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The most satisfying aspect of our stay was the friendly desk staff. Our room was disappointing. The bathroom is very tired and requires an upgrade. The toilet continued to run after flushing and therefore wasted water. The mirror had serious water or steam damage and the door was chipped with the veneer peeling away. No access to the Internet in rooms is problematic and not at all useful for the those on business trips. We had no air conditioning for two days and on the fourth morning had no hot water.
I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we do appreciate all feedback from our guests good or bad.
I will inform Housekeeping of the issues you had experienced in the accommodation rooms to ensure all standards are keep to the highest level. We did experience some unexpected mechanical issues with the air-conditioning and water in early December and we do apologies for the inconvenience this caused our guests.
The issues were rectified by external contractor as soon as possible. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The room had some down sides, Its was not that clean still had unopened can's from another guest and some of the sheets did not get changed. If you come down for Breakfast after ten like my friends did you will be waiting over 15mins or more for eggs. The lifts keep stopping at the Ground floor as well. Over all it was OK the staff as just lovely so It makes up for it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellohappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your review and I will be sure to let the staff know their service is noticed and appreciated, your feedback regarding a 15 min wait for eggs was also passed onto our Exec Chef to ensure it is not repeated.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for a short family break in a City View Queen Room (room 613). Room was configured with 1x Queen & 1x Single bed which was perfect for the 3 of us. Room was an adequate size for us and our luggage. We weren't in the room much except to sleep but suspect would have found the accommodation less than ideal and more restrictive if we spent extended time in the room. It was fairly warm on 2 of days we in Sydney and found the air conditioner worked well.

Beds were very comfortable, with nice linen. The rest of the furnishings looked old and worn but were functional. The room had wardrobe, little bar area, a table with 2 chairs, 2 bedside tables and work bech with an extra chair so we had plenty of areas to spread out over. Our bathroom was very clean and everything worked but on the small side. It looks like the bathroom has been updated fairly recently as the basin was modern, paintwork and tiles were in good condition.

The hotel was opened in 1973 and looks it so isn't the most attractive building you will ever see. The public areas look fairly fresh and modern but get out of the lift and enter the hallway to go to your room is like stepping back into the 1970s. If you were being critical you would say the building needs some work as it is looking run down but really it is pretty ugly so I am not sure what good it would do.

The location is perfect if you have business at Sydney Uni, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital or indeed the Coroner's Court (met a NSW Dective from a regional area staying at the hotel who there for an inquest). For the leisure traveller the location is reasonable as you are only 3kms from Central Station at the top of Sydney's CBD which is about $15 in taxi or $3.50 one-way on the regular buses that run up and down Parramatta Road. Also it is only a 10 minute stroll up Missenden Road to funky King Street in Newtown. Given the reasonable price for the accommodation - $504 for 3 nights including parking I think the location is excellent. Parking in some of the more central hotels in Sydney can be $35-$60 a day! So this is an important consideration if you are driving to Sydney.

Overall a good value hotel, comfortable beds, good location but not the sort of hotel you want to laze around in..just use it as a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cusack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thanks so much for your great review!
I’m so happy to hear you all had an enjoyable stay and the Hotel’s facilities and location was ideal for your trip to Sydney.
We look forward to having you back again soon, Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

It is difficult to complain about hotel cleanliness because some over worked and underpaid cleaner gets the blame. But really, these establishments that go downhill from the foyer upwards need to provide ame cleaning time to their staff.

The mouth-spit/toothpaste splatter around the top of my sink was disgusting.
The photo I will try to attach here doesn't capture it effectively.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunrubenForest6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.
All feedback provided by our guests is used to help train our staff and improve our standards and service levels, so it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed here in February in a city view room that was comfortable, clean and had a nice outlook I was compelled to air my views on a double double room on the other side of the hotel that I stayed in recently. This room was to put it simply, in desperate need of a long overdue facelift. The miserable nature of the room could not even be appeased by a pleasant outlook over the pool area. Does anybody actually swim in this pool or sit in its confines? After drawing the blinds quick smart we made our way out for the night. A warning to those looking at booking, if such a room brings a price anywhere above $150 I would seriously reconsider as the room I stayed in would barely be of a 3 star rating and a price tag of around $100 a night would be more fitting. I have stayed in many Rydges establishments and would have to say without a doubt, this Hotel is the most run down of any Rydges and is in desperate need of a complete makeover. Simply replacing some of the antiquated furniture would be at least a start.

Room Tip: City view room is only way to go.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemountainkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your most recent stay, as all comments are taken on board and used to help improve our product and services available. We are continually working towards enhancing our guest’s experience and sincerely hope you will be back in the future to see this.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews