We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some work”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Camperdown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Camperdown
Ranked #150 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. The room was dated. Curtain had stains on it, shower rose hanging out of the wall. Bathroom paint patchy, and the bathroom is not renovated like the one shown in the hotel pictures. The bathroom door handle was difficult to turn making it difficult to open the door. The room door does not automatically close after you - you have to make an effort to slam the door yourself or you leave the door ajar without realising it. We had ordered a queen queen room and had a queen bed and a double bed - the double bed did not have a bed head. Although the beds were comfortable the pillows were very hard and flat. City view from the room was excellent. Lifts not cleaned properly with buildup of dirt in the corners. Location is excellent for public transport to the city via Parramatta Road and easy walk to RPA Hospital. Food at Rowley's restaurant was tasteless and overcooked.

Room Tip: For prepaid tickets to use public transport you have to walk about 2 blocks down Parramatta Road to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Sales Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I’m glad that you found our location so convenient and were able to enjoy our great city views of Sydney. I am sorry that you experienced some issues during your stay, please rest assured I have passed on your feedback to the team for follow up. We now have a new Executive chef join the team, and your comments will definitely be taken on board.

Thank you again for your review.

Natalie
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    132
    192
    97
    75
See reviews for
111
123
50
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Coonamble
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

rooms have improved. TV remote didn't work due to something falling off the TV. This had to be called twice to be fixed properly.
Reception staff always polite & ready to assist.
I think for a 5 night stay they could do a better price.

Room Tip: 4th floor & above are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks for your review! It’s great to hear from a regular guest that we have made some noticeable improvements and that our staff still retain such positive feedback.

We do have some great long stay deals available at present; you can check them out on Rydges.com for your next booking.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you back soon

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel advertises its rooms as having air conditioning. It turns out that the whole hotel is centrally heated and the in-room units are not adjustable temperature wise. We spent an unbearably hot night there on 24 August. The only suggestion that the hotel had was to open the window, which was far too noisy as the room overlooked a busy Sydney road.

Room Tip: If the only way to cool the rooms is to open the window then ask for a room that doesn't overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilwmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and I’m sorry to hear your stay was not as comfortable as we would have liked. During the change of seasons it can be a bit tricky to accommodate all guests as the temperature control is set for heating or cooling. Each room does have its own temperature dial however in the colder months it is set to heating. Please be aware we have now set it to natural as it starts to warm up again heading into Spring.

We do apologies and if I can be any further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact.

Natalie
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

when we first arrived there was no pleasent welcome from staff there was a mix up with our accomadation we were told our room was not ready and had to wait until 2pm tied after driving for 7 hours and a husband with a disabilitiy it was fustrating there was no help in assisting us to our room with luggage just a wave of a hand in the direction of the lifts the room was big and spacious .when we got up the next morning we had no hot water for showers . for the amount of $ it cost to stay here it was not worth it . the lobby could do with a good cleaning and a paint job .+ it was close to the hospital were we needed to go + public transport was just outside which was a bonus + these is a great little pub just down the street that serve great meals

Room Tip: stay on south side away from the noise of the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I’m sorry to hear there was an issue with your booking on arrival but it seems it was rectified in the end. I’m also surprised to read your heading as our comments are normally raving about the great service but please note this review will be passed on to all staff at the Hotel so there is not repeat in the future.

Our check in policy does state 2pm and where ever possible we do try our best to accommodate early check in’s but we are unable to guarantee this due to occupancy the night prior. We also do not provide a porter service but next time round please feel free to ask reception for assistance and if possible they are more than happy to help.

On a lighter note, I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the room’s facilities and the Hotels location was convenient for you.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Natalie
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
403 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

A really enjoyable stay. After a bit of a mix up at check in and getting put in someone else's room (which I have since received an apology for - great service!) I was very pleased to find a great spacious, modern room and bathroom. The beds were comfy with a big flat screen TV, good shower and a great view of the Sydney CBD. The hotel bar was relaxing with friendly staff and a good wine selection. The buffet breakfast was also really good with great variety. Location is fine if you don't want to be in Sydney central, there was a good choice of restaurants within easy walking distance. My only gripe is that the room was really hot and I couldn't adjust the temperature - it appeared the only setting was hot! Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view - pretty to wake to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I’m delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and the room’s facilities met all expectations.

I will also pass on your review to our new Executive Chef as I am sure she will be so happy to hear you enjoyed the refreshed breakfast buffet selection and wine menu.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Natalie
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

WE brought our grandchildren to Sydney to the museum. We chose Rydges at Camperdown because of the pool even though we would need to catch buses to and the museum. After a long afternoon we arrived back at the hotel ready to treat the children to a swim. As we live in the very cool Southern Highlands this was a treat. Well, it was freezing! Now you might think this was an unreasonable reaction but why advertise on your website that you have a pool, in the winter if it iis not heated! We were very disappointed to say the least. Your rooms were very nice as were your staff but the pool was the reason we came. Even in the Summer this pool would not be suitable to swim in. It needs heating!!! We could have stayed somewhere closer in the city that was a little cheaper. e.

Room Tip: make sure your room is away from the lifts, guest do not have many manners and they get out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am very happy to hear our accommodation, catering outlets and staff were all suitable for your stay in Sydney recently.

As for our pool, I’m sorry you were under the impression it was heated as we do not adversities this feature on any websites. Our pool is outdoors as you can see from the photos and as Sydney has endured a very cold winter I’m sure a swim was not a very pleasant experience for you and your family. I can assure you that during the summer months you can find many Hotel guests utilising the pool and alfresco area as it is a great place to relax after a long day sightseeing.

Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon.

Natalie
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you're looking for a budget stay..this is it. Its old and in need of a upgrade in the lobby. The fellow who served us was friendly and helpful, but his colleague on the front desk was not. The room was only just OK. The bed was comfy but was NOT a full queen size. Furniture, old and outdated, no couch in the room so we had to sit on the bed to watch tele as only one chair provided. Old blanket on the bed.... Mini bar prices were over the top...5 bucks for a mini pack of Pringles, plus the price list was old and stained. Bathroom small, curtains stained and dirty looking. Window opened, that was nice to get fresh air in the room. We asked at the reception on how to find a particular restaurant and was told that they "didn't know" but also showed NO interest in helping us find out. I chose this hotel as I was seeing a show at the Enmore theatre...EAsy to get into Sydney by bus, but buses are all pre-paid and there was no where close by to get bus tickets, or if there was the reception staff didn't know about it....luckily bus driver took pity on us and gave us a free ride. I would not book
here again. I don't mind budget, but it cost more than its worth, and I would have thought for the price the standard would be higher

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nooshoosblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry to hear of the issues you had experienced whilst with us.

I would like to ask if you were in a family room or queen/single room? as all our rooms do have queen if not king size beds so I find it surprising to hear.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future and please feel free to contact me when enquiring about your next booking.

Natalie
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#104 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Camperdown Suites
#126 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#123 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#118 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Property: Rydges Camperdown
Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing