We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is better value for money elswhere”
Review of Rydges Camperdown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Camperdown
Ranked #156 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Hanoi
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“There is better value for money elswhere”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

A typical Rydges Hotel which requires some major upgrade work. The rooms are shabby but would be tolerable if one was looking for a third tier Tourist Hotel within a bus ride to downtown Sydney.
Rydges however have suddenly raised their midweek tariff to $170 which is about $70 above what it is worth.
Not only that, they want an extra $18 for parking, including outside parking and an extra $20 for a Real Estate Agents idea of a "City View"
A tourist would be a lot better off paying a bit more and moving to a proper Down Town Hotel.
A Tradesman would be better off moving a few kilometres west at $95 per night.

Room Tip: Don't get on on the first floor near the pool. Drunks like to swim at 2AM and Rydges do nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SimmoHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear SimmoHanoi,

Thank you for providing feedback from you recent stay, we do appreciate all feedback as it is good to know what our guests think about the services we provide and the overall feeling from the Hotel.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment of our parking rates, we do believe in comparison to other Hotels in the area we are very competitively priced as prices around the $30 mark.

In regards to your comments of the people in the pool, as it has been O’Week at the University we have unfortunately been the target of an initiation prank that has now been resolved and we do apologies for the inconvenience caused.

If your travel plans do require you to visit the Inner Western Suburbs of Sydney soon please feel free to contact me direct to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

Natalie Robson
Sales Manager
02 9516 1522
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    136
    198
    100
    77
See reviews for
114
127
50
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bermagui, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed as close to RPA for medical appointment and 11.00am checkout saves parking hassles if early morning appointments. Extremely good restuarants close by in King street and close to transport to the city
TV in room wasn't working and the hotel was old and tired

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges C, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear hammo99,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide feedback from you stay with us.

I am very glad to hear the Hotel’s location suited your needs as we are so close to the RPA Hospital and Newtown’s restaurants.

I am however disappointed to hear of the issue you had experienced with the TV and I do hope you did express this to the Receptions staff as if we were not able to fix the problem on the day we would have offered to move you to a room with a working TV.

If you do have the requirements to visit the Hotel in the future please feel free to contact me direct and I will ensure all features of the room are in working order so you have a great stay.

Natalie Robson
Sales Manager
02 9516 1522
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Coast
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel as it is the closest to RPA Hospital as we were attending a conference. We found this hotel the most rundown we have seen for a long time. Check in was completed by diinterested staff who were more concerned with joking and flirting with each other. The carpark was under the building with an ancient roller door that looked like it had been crashed into many times. the carparks were haphazard and extememly tight which caused angst when trying to park. Our room was large, but very old furnishings, smeely and not as clean as you expect at this sort of establishment. then airconditioner worked occasionally, it was cooler to open the windows. The room was noisy with a football tema sharing our floor and partying all night. There werre people smoking on a non smoking floor and this fileted into the room. When we mentioned this on check out the girl on the counter said she was unable to do anything as she could not control the guests. We dined the resturant, however this was a big mistake as the food was stogy at best. the meat was very well done when we asked for medium rare and the vegetables were salted to such a point the were indeible. When we mentioned this to the waitress she thought it was a great joke and nothing was offered in the way of apologies. The convienience was good, but there are many far better accomodation options available in Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandk_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rydgescamperdown, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear jandk_95,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience during your stay with us.

It’s great to hear the Hotel’s location and size of room’s facilities meet your expectations. I am however sorry to hear of the issues you had experienced whilst with us and I would suggest in future reporting this to the reception at the time so we are able to take action and resolve it at the time.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future so please feel free to contact me direct if you do have the requirements to stay in the Camperdown area.

Natalie Robson
Sales Manager
02 9516 1522
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Rydges Camperdown would have to be the oldest looking of any Rydges Hotels I have stayed at. The look on my face when the lift arrived at my floor and the doors opened would have been priceless. That said, the room I stayed in on Level 4 was large, clean and nicely decorated without being over the top and unlike so many Rydges Hotels the bathroom was actually fairly modern. The view of the city skyline was an added bonus and quite impressive considering the location. As with all Rydges Hotels the bed was extremely comfortable. Being located next to Parramatta Rd there are numerous buses running to the city but remember that they are prepay only between 7am and 7pm weekdays. Taxi fare from city is about $15.00. Rydges Camperdown is very much a case of looks can be deceiving and is a really nice place to stay with prompt check in and check out. The best thing is I paid alot less than I would have at an equivalent city hotel and this included a full buffet breakfast. I also didnt have to take a loan out for car parking. Overall I was more than happy with my stay here and would not hesitate staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Book in advance and get a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemountainkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rydgescamperdown, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear bluemountainkiwi,

Thank you kindly for your positive comments in regards to your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear you were impressed with the overall presentation of the guest rooms and the bathroom facilities. We do strive to provide the highest level of service to our guests and I am so happy to hear it was appreciated.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon and if I can be any further assistance in the meantime please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely,

Natalie Robson
Sales Manager
02 9516 1522
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Handy location transport- buses in to city. Handy to King St Newtown restaurants and university buzz. Rooms and beds comfortable, if not glamorous.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dc382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rydgescamperdown, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Dc382,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

It’s great to hear the Hotel’s location, room facilities and especially the Rydges Dream Beds meet all your expectations.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Natalie Robson
Sales Manager
02 9516 1522
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed 1 night as an emergency stay for a family member who was undertaking a operation the next day at RPA and saved fighting the abysmal peak hour traffic. Clean and comfortable. Good value. If you need to be at RPA early on a week day do what we did, drive in and check in early evening the afternoon before and then you are close-by next day. As for parking, RPA and surrounds is a horror story, expect to pay more for the parking than the room the night before. The only issue was that Rydges charged a parking fee for the overnight parking so we parked in the lane beside for free. Why pay for night-time parking when there is ample on-street parking at night? I noticed the carpark was only about a 1/3rd full anyway.

Room Tip: Park on the street and save some money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenthere088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rydgescamperdown, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Hi beenthere088,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback from your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear the location suited your needs whilst in Sydney to be close by to the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and the rooms suited your needs and were clean and comfortable.

Again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon to Rydges Camperdown.

Kind regards,

Natalie Robson
Sales Manager
02 9516 1522
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We chose this location over the city hotels as we were bringing a car and wanted to use the car for a couple of side trips (the city hotels charge you daily to park, but also charge you whenever you take your car in and out of the parking lot). The location was nice and close to the city as well as Newtown and all of it's eateries. We had our kids with us too and so having a pool was a must which many of the city hotels didn't have either.

We got a good "3 nights for price of 2" deal which made the stay really affordable.

The foyer and our room was nice and clean and modern, other parts of the hotel though were a bit dated.

My only issue was the underground carpark - OK if you have a small car and there isn't alot of others staying at the time, but if you have a 4WD or van or larger, or the car park was packed - it would be a nightmare trying to park as the carpark is full of poles and the car spaces insanely small, however, they do have some spaces out the front that larger cars could use - but those car park spaces aren't secured.

We stayed in a city view room which had a really nice view and worth the few extra dollars I think.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rydgescamperdown, Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Mel B,

Thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated, we appreciate all feedback, as we genuinely want to know what our guests think about our facilities and services.

I am very happy to hear you and your family were able to take advantage of the Summer Special Stay 3 Pay 2 Promotion that was ran during the School Holidays. I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed all of the Hotels recreation facilities and the location was of convenience to you.

In regards to your comments about the underground car park, as I am sure you can understand the pillars are structural and cannot be removed. I do agree for the larger vehicles it would be difficult to navigate but we do offer upper ground parking and we have found guests with these types cars do enquire about it upon arrival.

We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can be any further assistance.

Kind regards,

Natalie Robson
Sales Manager
02 9516 1522
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Camperdown Suites
#135 of 179 in Sydney
18 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Veriu Camperdown
#26 of 179 in Sydney
109 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#126 of 179 in Sydney
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Property: Rydges Camperdown
Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing