We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty and damp run down grotty hole”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Zing Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zing Backpackers
Ranked #33 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
shropshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“dirty and damp run down grotty hole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

this place is a joke, it is cold ,dirty,unclean and uncared for do not stop here. the free breakfast is a laugh ,bread and jam to eat in a dirty kitchen , everything is black and dirty .our room number 3 was damp and smelly,no daylight as the blind was broke and would not go up ,the bathroom was full of hair,a shower which was hard to get water at correct temp either red hot or cold,plug in sink which did not fit, shower base like a hill beware of slipping .the room was painted yellow,with various lights in the ceiling a bit like living in a kitchen, a strip light with no cover and a bathroom light switch hanging out to give a shock if you were not careful. the bed was not bad,the tv worked although fastened to the sink work top were water could get to the cable,everything has seen better days about 20 years ago at a guess. on our last night someone tried to enter the room at 1230 am they had been given a key and told room was vacant,just like we had the day we had arrived to find to people in bed and not to happy. they dont care just want your money , good luck to you

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
2
48
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
biella
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed here 3 days, after arriving in Australia. We arrived after hours, but they arranged to pick up key in the market next door. The price was reasonable, we paid for a twin as much as for 2 bunks in a dorm anywhere else. But all hostel seems old, the room was decent and the bathroom clean, nice staff, good location and very quite (maybe beacuse no one was there?) but I'm afraid of what we saw in the kitchen in the first morning...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackenziett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

My Partner & I stayed at the Travellers Rest as long term guests for the majority of 2005.
In our opinion it was the cleanest, cheapest and friendliest hostel we'd stayed in throughout Australia. Derek the manager was absolutely wonderful, it felt more like a home than a hostel.
I understand that the Travellers Rest was sold in November 2007 and is now under new management. I am shocked by the pictures shown in rudzchiks review. Having been employed previously as the cleaner for the Travellers Rest I know that the previous manager would not have let guests stay in a room that was in that state. I don't know anything about the new managers but obviously they have an issue with the current cleaners.

I hope the new management will not let the good name of The Travellers Rest slip.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, great facilities in room including fridge and telephone
  • Disliked — Queues for Internet computer
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank uktravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

This is a great hostel, forget what the last person said. I stayed here for 6 weeks in Nov 05 - Jan 06 and again in May 06 for our last few nights before flying out.

Peter, the owner, is great for info - was a massive help with advice on getting work, how to open bank accounts, register for Medical care and all sorts - as well as the stressful purchase of a car that was to get us around Australia!

The hostel has some ground rules, but there not really that strict and he's prtty laid back about them, you just need to respect the hostel and you won't get any hassle, we got nothing the whole time we were there and nor did the friends we made.

Its an ideal location for Syndey, 30 mins walk from the main centre, 20mins from the park and 2mins for the cosmopolitan Kings Cross where you can find a couple of OK bars and food places - as well at Premier League football!

Walk down the road and you get a great view of the Harbour Bridge and Opera Huose and the tube station is 1min away giving you access to the city centre and Bondi Beach in minutes!

There is also a guy called Bob, the guy is a living legend for anyone that stays here - you'll soon work out why when you;ve been there a few nights.

In our first week we stayed in a hostel just opposite, I forget the name now, but it was distinctly average compared to this place, and Travellers rest was cheaper! Another major bonus is that this one of the only places in Sydney that doesn't increase its prices for Christmas and new year (some places almost double in price for those 2 weeks).

Internet is good, loads of showers, a fairly good Kitchen and generally very clean, tidy and in original keeping.

Rooms are compact, but its a backpackers afterall. There's was more than enough space for us, and we stayed 6 weeks! Room 9 will always hold good memories!

  • Liked — Location, people and price!
  • Disliked — The fact we had to leave
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jamie_051281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Where do I begin??

My partner & I travelled along the east coast for a month and this was our final destination, what a disappointment!! We had booked to stay for 7 nights in total at this hostel... but we hastely left after just 20mins!

As there was only two of us we wanted something cheap, yet cheerful, as long as it was private. We had stayed in a number of hostels during our trip and where more than delighted with the facilities they offered. But when we checked into the Travellers Rest things quickly went sour!

Upon checking in we had to hawk all our luggage up 4 flights of stair to the dingy, decrepit, top floor. We should have had a clue from the dated, well worn and grubby interior of the halls and stairs, alot of makeshift "internet access areas" and such.

Upon arriving into our "double room with private unsuite" things went from bad to worse!!! The long corrider into the room lead to a box sized room crammed with a manky bunk bed, decaying fridge, delapidated chest of drawers and shappy kitchen utensils.

A real feeling of disappointment came over us both, but having had such a fab trip so far, we had the attitude that its only somewhere to rest and keep our belongings, we remained lighthearted about the whole thing, even laughing it off!

Then we began the "inspection" (lol), first thing being the bed, and at frist glance there was a blood like stain about the size of 50p on the sheet!! Absolutly horrified, my partner insured me that we could ask at reception for fresh linen, then we continued onto the "ensuite" where the toliet was filthy, grotty and stained, the bin had not been emptied, the shower tray had lumps of dampend toliet paper in it, the shower plug hole had what we concluded looked like pubic hair all around it, the sink was manky and dirty like it hadn't been cleaned in a few months, to be honest, i'm being very kind in my description! At this point i had enough and the experience actually brought me to tears.

By this stage, my partner trying to remain upbeat said we'l ask can they give it a good clean, so we continued our inspection of the "kitchen area" which consisited of once again, uncleaned items, the fridge smelt horrible, the kettle you wouldnt have used and the bench had, what looked to us, like mice droppings!! it was at this stage i refused to stay and proceeded to request our money back, the lady at reception was very understanding of my disdraught state and she came up to inspect it herself, she didnt say much, but we both knew what she was thinking, you couldnt have paid someone to stay there, let alone expect people to pay for such rundown acommodation. The receptionist called the manager, peter, who sent the cleaner, but by this stage there was no way we were going to stay there. Once we made this clear the cleaner was simply sent home.... (some poor person will have found the room in the same state as we did!)

We then demanded to speak to the manager, peter, ourselves, so the receptionist called him, he was quite abrupt and rude and couldn't see what the problem was. He insisited that the hostel "doesn't claim to be something its not".... wel online it certianly didnt claim to be a down&out hole! He said you get what you pay for, and having travelled the east coast,
(Melbourne-1770) alot of the time staying in budget accomodation, the price we paid was very average, but unfortunatly the standard wasn't!!

After much negotiation, We wer refunded 6 of the 7 nights we had paid for, we where given the option to stay that night as we had been forced to pay for it.. (yes after the cleaner had been sent home, and room STILL remained untouched)... obviously we took our money and ran... around the corner to a Holiday Inn(lol).

Over all, the hostel, in my opion should not be allowed to operate in such conditions, though the room share facilaties seem alot more cleanly. The picture displayed in the reception area is NOT what you get with room 39! We had our final week to spend in sydney and this mishap did put a spanner into the works, but sydney is full of reasonably priced accomodation, I would urge all to avoid this place at ALL costs!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rudzchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

S Bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

Moved here after two nights at the dreaded V Backpackers - what a relief. Light, airy room with en-suite facilities, fridge, television, toaster etc. All bedding supplied and changed on request. Even gave us new pillows. Use of reasonable kitchen facilities and washing/drying. Very good value for money. Friendly, helpful staff. Owner, Derek, very nice chap - very helpful.

  • Liked — Affordable, good transport links on doorstep.
  • Disliked — Stairs - too many of them!
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fuchsiaflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2006

This the best place I stayed in in the whole of Oz, except for serviced appartments in Darling Harbour!

Derek is a wonderful owner who takes a genuine interest in his lodgers.
The rooms are either 3-4 dorms, singles, or double rooms. All have tv, frequently changed bedding and a fridge, but the dorms seemed to have more facilities like kettle, fridge,sink area, table and chairs and own bathroom/shower room with toilet.
If this wasnt in your room there were ones to use in the corridors and a good sized communal kitchen with mod cons down stairs. At the top of stairs there was an iron and board, and rooms had wardrobe space aswell. Other facilities included a great courtyard area which was private and a great place to have a fag or eat your breakfast with others. Here you found a $2 washer with dryer aswell. There was even a line for clothes!

It was very good value for money and you could pay daily or weekly. On my second stay after a brief move I was goven a discounted price for returning by Derek.

It is a very good location. Though the Cross is the next street down, it is very quiet and safe and any activites relating to the Cross did not overspill up here. The tubs station was right there and the Indian next door but one is great, as is Roy's for a Sunday dinner :-)

A nice touch was the book shelf, with guides and fiction for you to loan whilst you were there and a jobs board, together with a service to help you find a job provided by Derek once you filled him out a little form. The man couldn't do enough for you and always had time for you.

Not the most modern, and only had about 20 rooms, but this is what made the place. It was a home far away. If I ever go back I'd rather stay here for a bit to feel the welcomness again..!

  • Liked — The mods cons and homliness
  • Disliked — 4am bin lorries outside -cant be helped I guess
  • Tips/Secrets — Ring in advance so you dont have to stay in horrid next door!
  • Stayed May 2002, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbarellasHairpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#16 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#26 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#9 of 137 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#35 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#39 of 137 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zing Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zing Backpackers

Property: Zing Backpackers
Address: 156 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Travellers Rest)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zing Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Rest Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing