We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Zing Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zing Backpackers
Ranked #37 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed in a private room for 3 weeks. Was well located. only 3 minutes walk from the train station and just in the middle of King cross.

We didnt expect (new to Australia) to pay for a private room at 80$ per day and had a shared bathroom/toilet. However, it was always cleaned and well maintained by the staff.

Then, it is better not to cook between 6pm to 9pm as the kitchen is overcrowded. And if you are going to stay there, please do wash the ustensils you use, it will help out other hotel residents and the staffs who keeps cleaning after everytime.

Another point: We booked the airport transfer but it never came. We were waiting for 2 hours. We finally took a taxi and it cost us 69$!! I am not blaming on Zing. Just take the train, there is a good service if you are not overload with luggages.

Upon our last week, we got a really nice room with a balcony. Was a great 'welcome back'.

Will not mention any name (coz i may forget one), but would like to say a big thanks to the staffs who made us feel at home.

Will certainly recommend Zing to our friends and families coming to Sydney!

Room Tip: If are travelling as a couple and you can afford, do take a private
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Zing Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Enjoyed my short stay at zing. The service was great, with helpful staff, good rooms, free breakfast and wifi!! The location was also handy. Close to many restaurants, fast food outlets, super market, and just a couple minutes walk to the train station :) private room had fridge, toilet, shower and HD tv :D definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaoriNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in dorms for three weeks at zing. Although the location was a bit sketchy at first, It had the cleanest and best showers we have used in hostels, The staff are friendly and helpful and the overall feel of the hostel was very homely. Everyone respected the kitchen and it was a very clean place. Would definately reccommend a stay here. The wifi was a bit poor at tines so wouldnt rely on it for skype.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank lufctrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Set amongst the hustle and bustle of Kings Cross, Zing! is a little haven for backpackers.
Once you're inside, the busy streets are forgotten. The common areas are chilled out and welcoming. Unlike a lot of backpacker hostels, the long term residents are friendly and eager to welcome newcomers. Thankfully these common areas are very quiet after 10.30pm...even at the weekend.

We were lucky with our room - We booked a private double with a shared bathroom. It was one of two rooms with a balcony overlooking the tree-lined street. Excellent!

However some of the dorms seemed quite dark with windows only overlooking the central courtyard.

This hostel is great value for money with breakfast included and central to all sites. ( short walk to train or 15minute walk to cbd)
Airport shuttle is free if you stay for three or more nights.(just call them in advance and they will give you instructions)

We would definitely stay again if we could have the same room!

Room Tip: Private double/quad overlooking street - excellent balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Cockroaches, dirty rooms, bathrooms just OK. But those guys change us our room from a 4 bed dorm to a six bed dorm. Also split our booking into different rooms. We kept moving from one place to another. Horrible experience. Also Kings Cross area is not a safe place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We only staied one night in this hostel, but the standard is good, the bathrooms are clean, and it was quiet the night we were there even though there was a popular fotball match live that night. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. The day we checked out, they would charge our electric devices in the staff room for safety and they gave us free Internet even though we weren't strictly entitled to it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in this place for about two weeks whilst we looked for somewhere to live. The staff were seemingly pleasant although not always around. The internet provided was just about enough which was ok. We stayed in a double room which was average in size, It included a fridge, TV and enough space to store luggage. These were all the major positives.

The negatives were the lack of everything in the Kitchen. They had one tiny oven and two gas hobs to cater for about 40 people. They also had zero cups and glasses and again about 3 plates to cover for 40 people. The kitchen was a free for all and reminded me of a war camp with people scratching to get in first to eat. Because of this we ended up eating out every night which was both expensive and fairly impractical.

Toilet facilities were ok but limited. Quite often I had to stand outside a door and wait for somebody to finish. The location is also pretty poor unless your after a quick three night jolly in Kings Cross which in all honesty is the scummy/drug taking part of the city.

My summary for this place is that it was simply ok however felt extremely over priced even for Sydney. I wouldnt want to stay here more than two days. For those looking for 1 week + stays you can find much better and cheaper way closer to the CBD centre. For backpackers looking to meet like minded people out for a classic scummy night out, then this could be the place for you. I personally wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont go in room 15 because everyone sits on the floor right outside your door!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#42 of 143 in Sydney
122 reviews
790 on George
#52 of 143 in Sydney
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summer House Backpackers
#17 of 143 in Sydney
117 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#40 of 143 in Sydney
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zing Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zing Backpackers

Address: 156 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Travellers Rest)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $24 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zing Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Rest Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing