We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”
Review of Wake Up! Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wake Up! Sydney
Ranked #4 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here after recommendation from a friend. We were given a twin, which was bunks and very small, but the hostel itself was nice and well kept! It's a bit more expensive than the other hostels but would say it's reflected in the standard of the upkeep. Only two negatives to this place: one, there's no oven in the kitchen. Two - the lifts!! 6 floors, no stairs and the slowest lifts in the world!! Good location two on Pitt street - about 15 mins walk from Darling Harbour and 40 mins from Opera house. TIP: the 555 bus is free and runs the length of George street. We didn't find this out until the last day but saves a lot of walking!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    488
    170
    51
    27
See reviews for
20
200
598
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

First place me and the girlfriend stayed on our trip, stayed in a nice double room first good room fair size clean toilet. Stayed in a mixed 8 bed dorm after good beds and locker facility's wi fi good all around prob worked best in the bar, lots of things going on in there too, food is good also and fairly priced would stay there again

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Wake up is fine. We had a double room with shared bathroom, the room was ugly (pink walls & blue bed sheets?) but completely functional. It remained cool in the hot weather and the tv worked great. Wifi worked really well from the room even though we were six floors up.

Bathrooms were average - my experience was ok but on our first night my boyfriend came back from the bathroom and said the urinal was full of vomit which was grim. The showers weren't powerful but the temperature was ok and there's plenty of room in the cubicle and hooks to hang your clothes on.

My biggest issue is quite unique - I get motion sickness and there aren't any stairs, you can only use the lift which is really unstable and the doors open before the floor lines up with the lift. This probably won't apply to most people, but for people with bad motion sickness, this really messed up my day. I felt sick every time I left the lift.

Generally the hostel is fine, staff are friendly enough, good location and average rooms and bathrooms. Nothing special.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saffie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a very busy hostel and great place to meet people when arriving in the country. The faciltites are great. Just above the side bar is also a great perk. The only down side really is the price. There are plenty of good hostels in the sydney for a lot cheaper

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for a quick two night stop over in Sydney on route to NZ. We booked it online and on arrival and got quickly checked in with no issues.

The mixed dorm was pretty clean and we had no issues with getting a decent nights sleep. Plenty of locker space available in the rooms. A large and well equipped kitchen and a decent room to chill and watch some TV or meet some people. The attached Sidebar had a pretty cool vibe about it, as did the hostel in general. Yea it might have been $5-10 more than other hostels, but you definitely get what you pay for. All in all, pretty good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide River, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked one night. We were meant to be sleeping in the same dorm, 10 bed. There was "computer issues" so we got split up. My dorm was super noisy and disruptive.Young english boys were out to party hard so there was loads of laughter, stumbling around lights on and off till early hours in the morning. Facilities are good. Bathrooms, location near train, kitchen etc. My boyfriend got moved again to a smaller dorm too. Would not recommend if you want reliability and quietness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I've stayed at Wake Up for a total of 4 weeks in three separate visits since December last year and it never disappoints. The atmosphere is great, I've met a lot of friends thanks to both the large dorms and the social activities the hostel puts on. It was my first experience in a hostel and it's perfect for settling into the travelling lifestyle. Location is great for days and nights out in the city, although I've had many a good night in their attached Sidebar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Up! Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Property: Wake Up! Sydney
Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing