We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrupulously Clean and Extremely Secure Travelling Hostel”
Review of Wake Up! Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wake Up! Sydney
Ranked #4 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2008

The Wake Up Hostel in Sydney is one of the most professionally-run hostels we stayed in when travelling the East Coast of Australia. Key cards (which sometimes did seem to stop working and had to be 'recharged' at reception) were state-of-the-art, only allowing you access to the floor that your bedroom is on in the lift, ensuring that only genuine Wake Up residents can enter the hostel rooms. This can be annoying when you want to visit guests on another floor, but you can wait in the lift until someone gets out at the floor required, and it is a small price to pay for the security measure.

The hostel is very security conscious, from about 10pm there are guards on all outside doors asking for you to show your keycards to enter, and guards roam around the corridoors looking for anyone who shouldn't be there. You even have to have your keycard to enter the ladies' toilets!

The rooms are spacious and clean. We stayed in an 8-bed dorm, but I imagine a private room here would be like a hotel room, due to the high standards of cleanliness and comfort. Beds have real duvets, rather than sheets, and there are lockers in the rooms.

The only drawback to this hostel is its size. This doesn't affect the services provided or the cleanliness or security, which are clearly the hostel's top priorities. It can be difficult to meet people, and there is none of the community traveller spirit found in smaller hostels. The TV room, although spacious, is quite cold, with beanbags on wooden flooring rather than couches, and the TV noise is so loud that people don't socialise and converse. We found that when we entered the TV room we were met with the stony faces of many people.

The kitchen was well equipped, no ovens however, and like everything in this hostel, regularly cleaned.

Toilets were clean and showers were fantastic.

The hostel is in a great location, near to Central Station.

The price may be higher than you would pay anywhere else on the East Coast (at $30 a night, this was the most expensive hostel we stayed in), but you definitely get what you pay for and more, in the terms of a welcome pack, with freebies and vouchers, cleanliness, friendly staff, high security, and a fantastic location. We passed other hostels, especially those in Kings Cross, and agreed we were very happy to have chosen Wake Up, as opposed to other, less clean hostels in nastier districts.

The cafe and bar are both reasonably priced and have good atmospheres.

The internet is reasonably priced too, however it did slightly annoy us that Wake Up use their own Internet Server, and not Global Gossip. We would recommend just walking round the corner to the Global Gossip centre - better priced and you can use up your left over cards, if you have them!

I would definitely recommend this hostel to young travellers, those needing temporary accommodation in Sydney, and even to anyone looking for a cheap hotel. Why bother, when fantastic hostels like this exist?

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank minimyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2008

I'll keep this simple.

I stayed here twice both times for about 2 weeks first in Sept 07 and again in Nov 07. This hostel is very good value for money in Sydney. The housing market is fierce and its not easy to find a place to live. For travellers its VERY central, more than reasonably clean (Sydney is full of crawly bugs, cockroaches and spiders even in the nicest places), pleasantly secure (womens washrooms even require card access!), rooms are large and beds comfortable, staff offer helpful answers to all questions and they run activities daily to help you orient yourself (do the beach walk!).

The first time we had fabulously fun roomates the second, not quite as lucky but still perfectly fine. The average age of the majority of people staying there is probably under 25 and most are from the UK and Europe but there were other people there too.

My only real complaint about this hostel is it would be nice if there was a public room to relax that wasn't full on, in your face noise (tv, music etc.). After sightseeing all day its sometimes nice to relax with a little less chaos, especially if you're not a bar regular. It is a great place to meet people especially if travelling and I picked up some great information about living, working and travelling Australia from the people I met there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank L_from_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Absolutely amazing hostel... don't even consider staying anywhere else!

it's cleaner than a 5* hotel, the dorms are big and comfortable (although no individual bedside lights which is always a pain) but the main - and best - reason why you should stay here is for the excellent atmosphere... the staff are incredibly friendly and do everything in their power to make what is essentially a huge hostel feel like a really intimate place to stay.

there are free tours every day; we went on a free guided walking tour of sydney on our first day, and a guided trip to the blue mountains (we only had to pay our own train and bus fares) on the second day, but i know that other tours included the sydney beaches etc too. at the end of every tour a free drink in the bar is included, and the bar is really busy and fun at night too. there's also a nice little cafe attached to the hostel.

the location's great too - just round the corner from the long distance bus station (greyhound and oz experience etc), and within walking distance to the harbour, opera house, etc - in an old converted department store. our dorm was on one of the higher floors which gave us a great view over the city.

just can't praise the place highly enough - i was on a four month trip, and the best two nights of it were spent here, and this was due more to the hostel and the people i met there than the city of sydney itself!

the kitchen is probably the only place in the hostel that i could fault- it was really much too small for the size of the hostel and also pretty messy (although this was probably only noticable because the rest of the hostel was so spotless by contrast!). there are loads of places to eat nearby though if you can't face wading through other people's stuff to make your own food.

in short - amazing place; it's safe, clean, friendly, cheap, and you'll have the time of your life if you stay there!

http://www.wakeup.com.au

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LosingMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Good hostel to stay in Sydney. Liked the public area a lot. Easy to know new friends there. But the automatic door lock of the room was noisy a bit at night. Didn't like the kitchen has using limit, needed to rush back for making dinner....

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchi1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Wake Up Sydney! is a terrific value which puts you close to the heart of downtown Sydney. The staff was very helpful throughout our stay. We stayed in a private room on the 3rd floor for 3 nights. Our room was clean and our beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean and there was definitely not a shortage of hot water. There are plenty of computers in the lobby for those who need their internet. You do have to pay for your internet though, although it is relatively cheap compared to other places we stayed throughout Australia. There is a wonderful cafe on the ground floor that has several nice breakfast options. The pancakes were delicious and I highly recommend them! Overall, Wake Up Sydney! is a terrific value for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank K2Climber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This was my first stay at a hostel and was about what I expected. It was very similar to college dorm life. I had a private room. Bathrooms were shared and ours was always clean. Street noise was loud, but tolerable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bbear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

This backpackers exceeded my expectations of a hostel. I was impressed as soon as i walked in. I stayed in a 4 share female dorm and the room was a good size with lockers. The room was clean and the bunkbeds had nice, clean sheets.
The bathrooms were very clean and i saw cleaners everyday. The staff were helpul and friendly and they have a tour desk and the guy working there was really friendly and happy to help.
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank izzle_snizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 150 in Sydney
1,112 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 150 in Sydney
804 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 150 in Sydney
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 150 in Sydney
425 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 150 in Sydney
732 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#20 of 150 in Sydney
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Up! Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $33 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner '6th Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2018, 2017 & 2016 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. Now with FREE High-Speed Wifi available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing