We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service”
Review of Wake Up! Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wake Up! Sydney
Ranked #4 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Centralised and good location for 3 minutes walk to Central train station which is take you to Suburbs rail, Country link rail and Interstate rail. Next to convenience store.
Kitchen is big and spacious for cooking. However, the kitchen is messy and dirty after meals.
The level I stayed in came a number of China visitor making quite a lotsa noise around.

Excellent enough for the price paid and service for this budget accommodation.

Room Tip: Internet Access and Computer is located at Ground Level. However, would be much much cheaper to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

location was nothing special, not really handy for any particualr need. price i thougth a little high but it is sydney afterall. staff were good, seemed onto it. room was pretty standard. a bit of noise from the person in teh next bed was wierding me out but that's dorm life. spent only two nights but they were ok

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butchym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for 12 weeks whilst travelling - you could say we got addicted to the hostel and their bar! The rooms are excellent, very clean and well maintained. It is a very large hostel, with a great kitchen, tv room and bar. The bar is excellent, they have quizzes, themed party nights, and they also do food (check out the daily cheap eats) for a reasonable price. Many people choose this hostel as their first on their travels, so it is a great introduction to hostels.

Great staff. Handy location - very central and 15 minutes walk to circular quay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed over during a short transit en-route to Melbourne. Location was close to train and bus stations. Down side was there wasn't much to eat around the area.

Room Tip: Lower levels can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOHKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed in Wake Up for two weeks on my arrival to Sydney, I stayed in a 8 bed dorm that was clean & comfortable & spacious, with lockers that had enough room for laptops, ipods ect... There were nightly quizzes, bands, drink promotions, cheap dinners & everyone was really friendly & sociable. The staff at reception were very helpful with providing information on buses, jobs, trips... I really loved & enjoyed my stay at Wake Up... The showers / toilets were spotless & cleaned a couple of times a day. The kitchen is a little small, there are only maybe 3 cooking stations & a really small eating area. The location is perfect for getting around the City, its directly opposite central station & buses come literally every couple of seconds. I reckon Wake Up is a fantastically wonderful place to start your journey down under ;-)) xox

Room Tip: You can request to be in a "party", "longterm" or "quiet" room, or wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasharooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed three nights in a private room. Were initially hesitant booking as we found some hotels which were cheaper. After getting our room we were immediately happy with our decision. Room was on the top floor and had huge arch windows looking out over the central station area. Room had a large flat screen TV, key card access, and a full ensuite bathroom. Everything you could expect from a hotel and more. Wireless internet for three days was an additional $20.

The hostel itself clearly caters mainly to young single travellers and there is a popular club in the basement which holds nightly events. The lobby is always filled with 18-23 year olds hanging out and trying to pick each other up. Kind of amusing to watch and didn't affect our stay. Club could not be heard at night from the 7th floor though there was a loud fight outside of it late one night. Not sure if this might be a problem if you are on a lower floor.

For those considering staying more central to the harbour area I would seriously consider this area instead. China town is nearby providing for tons of tasty cheap food and lots of activity at night. You can get a free shuttle to the main area during the day or walk the 20 minutes through a cool part of the city. I am sure there is a cheap public bus to the area at night too but we just didn't figure it out. Found that the harbour area is definitely a cool place to hang out but comes with all the trappings of a tourist hot spot.

Room Tip: Ask for seventh floor private ensuite room.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The staff was very friendly and our rooms were clean. My main complaint was that our private room was small and didn't even have a sink. For the price we paid, I'm surprised you get so little.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#1 of 149 in Sydney
1,104 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 149 in Sydney
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 149 in Sydney
302 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 149 in Sydney
422 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 149 in Sydney
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Up! Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $32 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. Now with FREE High-Speed Wifi available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing