We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, dingy party hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kanga House Backpackers
Ranked #36 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
michfitz1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy, dingy party hostel”
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stayed here for a week, and hated it. The first room we stayed in was next to the court yard and all night long people would gather in the hallway outside our door to smoke weed, play music and just generally be loud. This went on till at least 3am on two consecutive nights. When we politely asked people to be quiet after they put on dance music at full blast at 5am not two metres from our door, they locked us into our room (we found this out the next day).

The hostel staff was friendly and understanding, and offered to switch us to a quieter room (but they could not find a space for us until our fourth night). We should have just left then, but thought the new room would be better. Turns out they put us next to the main exit, so again we had people gathering by the door and outside our room all night. Not to mention the door slamming! Again, when we asked people to be more quiet at 1am, they laughed in our faces and said no.

The hostel's facilities and rooms are basic but fine. The building is a little tired and nothing is especially clean. There is one computer for everyone so you rarely get a chance to use it. The building has wifi, but our laptop couldn't pick it up for some reason. All this doesn't actually bother me. The problem is the guests: of all the hostels I've been (and I've travelled a lot), this one had the most selfish, most inconsiderate people in it. I can't say anything bad about the staff: when they were there, they were friendly and helpful. It's just that after 11pm when the kitchen closes and there is no staff around as far as I could tell, the guests run riot.

The hostel seemed full of long-term guests who are on their first trip away from home and spend all their time day and night hanging out at the hostel, partying and smoking dope.

I would never, ever go back there. My biggest mistake was booking and paying for the whole week up front.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank michfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    10
    10
    17
See reviews for
Families
0
14
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We were given a room facing the street and there was a window missing. It was really cold and noisy and we didn't get much sleep. We asked to move the next day and they gave us a much better room but no refund of the $63 we had paid for the rubbish room.

  • Disliked — No window!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidayHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Toronto
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I had such a great time at Kanga House.. I didn't want to leave. I travelled around Australia for 8 months and everytime I got a little homesick I went to visit Kanga again.

I was there for Christmas, returned in March and then again in June.. sadly it's time to go. I made so many good friends.. and the staff were so so friendly and cared so much about my travels, whether I was sick and whether I had seen enough of what Sydney had to offer.

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm over Christmas and although it was full... it was so much fun. I also stayed in the 4 bed dorms the last two times....the view was amazing...my family/friends could not believe I had postcard photo's of sydney's iconic opera house and harbour bridge! (taken from my window)

The kitchen had good facilities with free breakfast and BBQ on Sunday. The free Internet was good as well.

I could not have asked for much more in a hostel...so close to everything, good facilities, great courtyard (parties) and most of all the staff. It was one of the best holidays I've had... I sure will be going back to Kanga!

  • Liked — Staff, location, fun , view, rooms, atmosphere
  • Disliked — when people were a bit inconsiderate when sharing a room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TorontoBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

My all girl dorm was not so clean. Also the bathroom was filled in toilet paper and unflushed toilets. Breakfast was only toast and jam, but thats probably normal in australia. There was 1 computer in the whole building, so your chance of it being available, well: zero. The staff was incredibly friendly though!

  • Liked — Staff, views, area
  • Disliked — Not so clean, price for laundry, hardly internet access
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arizonastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2006

Great little Hostal in a great location on a tree lined quietish street just off from the main strip in Kings Cross Sydney.

The staff are ultra friendly. The rooms can get a little messy (to be expected at a hostal) The beds are ok. Good equipped kitchen with free t and coffee all day long. Decent breakfast (seved only till like 9.30am or something) with cornfllakes toast t and c...

Great terrace out the back with stunning views of the harbour bridge and the opera house. Free BBQ's every Sundays and the reception can help you find a job if you want to work whilst in Sydney.

  • Liked — The social aspect
  • Disliked — The Bbq sausages
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sanflyseager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 139 in Sydney
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central Backpackers
#83 of 139 in Sydney
98 reviews
Zing Backpackers
#34 of 139 in Sydney
135 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanga House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanga House Backpackers

Property: Kanga House Backpackers
Address: 141 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kanga House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing