We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funkiest backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Ranked #94 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Was here for one night, and did the trick. Close to King Cross station, night clubs etc
Probably wouldn't recommend getting a room that is road side and a good night sleep, particularly on the weekends with clubs going to 4am and roadside traffic.
Didn't get the chance to use the breakfast service as we were out fairly early doing activities

Staff were cheerful and helpful, as two of us had never been to Sydney, so their recommendations were great.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Cheap and clean, this hostel is highly to be recommanded in Kings Cross district, where you may live more bad experiences than good ones, when you choose a hostel.
Tight clean rooms, 3 kinds of toilet (male, female, unisex), all clean as well.

Don't go there therefore if you're afraid with comics! A huge comic character drawing is painted on each room door (Superman, Catwoman...), which makes the tight corridors even tighter!

Free breakfast is with toasts, butter, jam, tea and coffee.

3 minutes walk up to Kings Cross Station.

And the plus : shuttle to the airport for 12 dollars, which is far cheaper than train or taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierlouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Close to kings cross train station... Affordable accomodation... excellent breakfast service....
Lively atmosphere... The staff were always cheerful and willing to help... No question too silly to ask.... The room was clean... The bathroom was always clean.... Highly recommend the FUNK HOUSE for anyone travelling to to planning a trip to Sydney!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Salima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days and i didn't enjoy it at all. The room smellt of old feet. Bathrooms too small and really silly sinks . The kitchen was so dirty and sticky yuck !!! Some staff were Alright others very strange. The location might be good for some but kings cross is dirty!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fioona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very friendly hostel, just what you want when your in a new area/country.  Just returned for the 4th time, and we always tell people it's the place to be! Can not fault the staff there all extremely friendly and willing to help as much as they can with any enquiries you may have. 
If you are looking for work they will try there best to help you. The hostel is ideal for short and long term. 
 You can always guaranty  meeting new friends as it is a very social, friendly hostel. Being quite small it brings people together more and everyone gets to know everyone.  If you are looking to meet new people BBQ on a Friday night is well worth the $5 and a socialise!
And poker nights are worth a laugh too. 
Kitchen is clean and free breakfast is great! 
Will always return to Funk House when ever we are in Sydney, nothing but good things to say.
Big thank you to Joanna, Sam and the newer face of the crew Matt for always making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a wonderful time at this hostel; Sam or Salvatore Giovanni the manager is the best guy you could ever meet. he makes feel like home always asking how are you, your plans and giving advices. He is a friendly person and very informative as well about the city and the facilities of the hostel.
Well, nearly all the staff is like Sam, very nice, kind and always with their best smile.
The hostel has free pizza nights with movie, poker nights as well and all the best advices for parties.
Rooms are clean and small, i mean, they dont have those awful rooms with 8 beds, the maximum is 4. Also, the bathrooms and showers are ALWAYS clean. No hairs around, no bad smells. The location was perfect, you have a train station like 1 minute walk, supermarkets, cafes and buses as well.
Breakfast is included in the price and its fine. Just some toasts (all that you want) with butter and marmalade, milk with cereal or oats and tea or coffee. Its good.
In the kitchen there is enough space for everybody to cook!!!
The relation between price and quality is EXCELENT!

The only bad thing that i can say is that if your next room neighbour are loud and good at partying you will not sleep well. I couldnt sleep for one entire night because of the music and talking they had in the next room. That episode disappointed me very much because i called that night the manager on duty that is in charge of watching the nights and told him to please talk to this guys to lower their voices and music. But it seems he didnt do nothing because the scandal finished at 630 am...
Thats why i rated as average...

Everything just good, chilly and fun!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked the Funkhouse for a few nights before starting my trip and now I've been here for 3 months. The Funkhouse is in a great location and the hostel are always organizing nights out which is a great way to meet new people. They also have a rooftop area where BBQ s are every Friday night.

The staff are also very friendly and will help you out if you need to book a trip or just to recommend places to see in Sydney. I had a great time here- definitely recommend this hostel for someone who is traveling alone and wants to meet other backpackers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#43 of 143 in Sydney
123 reviews
The Village Surry Hills
#91 of 143 in Sydney
141 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#33 of 143 in Sydney
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summer House Backpackers
#16 of 143 in Sydney
118 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 143 in Sydney
416 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#25 of 143 in Sydney
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney

Address: 23 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $23 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Funk House Backpackers Hostel is known for providing safe, clean, cheap accommodation. Located in the heart of Sydney's main entertainment precinct, the best night life is right on your doorstep. All of Sydney's best bars, clubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. It's the Sydney backpacker experience not to be missed.You are close to all of Sydney's main attractions and can walk through the Botanical Gardens to the Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge or the CBD. Don't fancy the walk? Then it's only five minutes by train. If the beach is more you then Bondi is less than 15 minutes away.Meet our friendly staff for help with organising your tours providing free travel advice including bus passes, East Coast travel packages and more. With free breakfast, free KX Kit (with lots of goodies including food and drink vouchers, sim card and more), 24 hour internet access and WiFi facilities... we have it all.We invite all you backpackers, independent travellers and other Funky people to check out our unique, Funky atmosphere and famous Funky murals of our budget backpackers hostel right in the heart of Sydney. With only 3 to 4 beds in each dormitory, you can book an entire room with your mates.The Funkhouse Backpackers Hostel is owned and run by travellers for travellers. We want you to have the best experience of Sydney and the rest of Australia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing