We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpacker's den, and not a great one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Ranked #88 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Backpacker's den, and not a great one”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stay here if you are: (a) in your early or mid-twenties, (b) on a budget, (c) appreciative of the finest in trippy graffiti-style wall murals, and (d) want to meet others who are (a)-(c). The Funk House will provide a free ride from the airport (valuable, though you may wait an hour or so for the shuttle, despite promises of them having someone to meet you). As hostels go it's decidedly mid-range, and a bit more "party hostel" than I like. The double rooms are clean and spartan, though the bathrooms are grim. My main problem with this hostel was its decidedly dictatorial character: every surface seemed to be covered with some dictate:
*No visitors.
*Rooms will be cleaned at noon every day, so make the room available for cleaning.
*Any items left on the floor of your room (other than under the bed) are assumed to be trash and may be thrown away.

To make matters worse, the manager's voice frequently pipes up over the intercoms in the hallway, sort of Big Brother meets Lord of the Flies, reminding inmates... erm, guests of their responsibilities. If you're an adult, this can be a bit unsettling, although I suppose it wouldn't feel odd if you'd recently been incarcerated or institutionalized.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcusFunk, Owner at Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Hi MerryDevil

Thank for you recent review and comments regarding the Funkhouse. From my understanding the main concerns you raised we in regards to the amount of information we provide to guests. We try to give our guests as much relevant information as possible to make their trip fun, safe and eventful. As we organise activities each day and night we do want to let people know about them via signage, using the PA or simply letting people know when they check in. Unlike other hostels we do arrange for example a daily Free walking tour; our weekly rooftop BBQ or access the best bars and clubs in Sydney.

As you mentioned maybe the Funkhouse wasn't the type of hostel you would normally stay in and i apologise that you did not gain the experience that you were looking for during your stay in Sydney.

Until then safe travels in the future

Regards FH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    33
    24
    29
See reviews for
Families
0
38
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I hadnt stayed in a hostel before so was not sure what to expect, but this place was a little to messy for my liking and too relaxed so that guests didnt seem to have much respect. I also didnt feel completely safe in the area. Hope for better luck next time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astroturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The Funk House is a rather typical backpacker's hostel. Things could be cleaner in the common areas, but overall it's not bad. The front staff is nice and helpful and they plan various activities throughout the week. WiFi is a little expensive, but there's free WiFi around the area (McDonalds). It's not a bad location to a lot of sights, including the Opera House and Bridge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The funk house was a good hostel, it was cheap and our double room was perfect for what we needed. We didn't realize that Kings Cross was the red light district of sydney! getting to town meant passing lots of scantily clothed women so its not for families with young kids. It was right beside the train station and about half an hour walk to the center. The hop on hop off bus goes from right outside the hostel though, the night life is good, lots of bars and restaurants around and staff were excellent, so helpful and full of ideas! I would go again and recommend it if you don't mind being surrounded by gentlemens clubs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGal8927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I stayed at the Funk House nearly six years ago, so things may have altered since then. Me and friend stayed here when we first arrived in Australia for a year of backpacking. We stayed in the Funk House for seven weeks and I enjoyed every moment of it.
The hostel staff were friendly/helpful and all the guests I spoke to were very friendly and welcoming.
Athough the area may have a bad reputation, I felt safe at all times and never felt threatened.
There was a lot of partying and noise, so if your looking for a quiet night then this is not the place to stay. If you are looking for some fun and to meet like minded partying backpackers, then this it the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My friends and I were expecting poor things after reading reviews on the web, so with low expectations we arrived in Sydney and gave the hostel a call. Within 10mins a free bus service was provided and we were given a warm welcome on arrival (good start). The hostel is in a busy part of town with the odd dodgy character around at night, but nothing out of the norm for a large city. The rooms were indeed quite small, not sparkling clean but not dirty either. With the 3 of us then we had been given a 3 bed dorm so it was perfect for us, I wouldn't however want to share such a room with randomn people, but thats just me. We only used the kitchen for some free toast the one morning but there are plenty of cheap places to eat out all around the hostel. All in all with the free beer vouchers, fantastic location, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere proved perfect for 3 mates on a low budget weekend in sydney.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cptmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed at Funk House for 7 nights in June/July 2008. As an 18 year old solo traveller, I have stayed in many hostels across Europe, Oz and NZ. This was the worst hostel I have been to. Staff were rude and unhelpful. Other guests were long-term residents, who spent all day on the roof smokin weed. The noise through the night was unbearable. I'm not a prudent person and enjoy parties and the odd drink but 4:30am, you just wanna sleep! Kings Cross is a really dodgy area, lots of strip joints and "characters" standing around. Room was small but comfortable. Shared bathroom facilities were okay, nice showers but the toilets were filthy. Cheap enough, but certainly not recommended, unless you are in Sydney to drink and get high all night and sleep all day.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpa2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Jackaroo Hostel
#26 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
The Village Surry Hills
#89 of 139 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#45 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newtown
Billabong Gardens
Billabong Gardens
#1 of 2 in Newtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney

Property: Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney
Address: 23 Darlinghurst Rd | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Funk House Backpackers Hostel is known for providing safe, clean, cheap accommodation. Located in the heart of Sydney's main entertainment precinct, the best night life is right on your doorstep. All of Sydney's best bars, clubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. It's the Sydney backpacker experience not to be missed.You are close to all of Sydney's main attractions and can walk through the Botanical Gardens to the Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge or the CBD. Don't fancy the walk? Then it's only five minutes by train. If the beach is more you then Bondi is less than 15 minutes away.Meet our friendly staff for help with organising your tours providing free travel advice including bus passes, East Coast travel packages and more. With free breakfast, free KX Kit (with lots of goodies including food and drink vouchers, sim card and more), 24 hour internet access and WiFi facilities... we have it all.We invite all you backpackers, independent travellers and other Funky people to check out our unique, Funky atmosphere and famous Funky murals of our budget backpackers hostel right in the heart of Sydney. With only 3 to 4 beds in each dormitory, you can book an entire room with your mates.The Funkhouse Backpackers Hostel is owned and run by travellers for travellers. We want you to have the best experience of Sydney and the rest of Australia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funk House Backpackers Hostel Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing