We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute babe.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Ranked #7 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

A nice little hostel with a great atmosphere, nice and clean, lovely desk staff. A little disappointed that the internet wasn't always on over night (with the time difference this is the time when you really need it, to communicate with people at home).

Really good location, easy to get to all the sights and the nightlife and stuff.

Well done.

Room Tip: Try get a room at the back if like me you don't sleep well, its quite noisy on the front and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello Greg, Thanks for the nice review, we’re happy you enjoyed the atmosphere, staff and location! We do apologise for the internet needing to be disrupted for a few hours those 2 nights in the weeks while you were here but our internet providers where doing maintenance work between 11PM-2AM so unfortunately it was out of our hands :-(. The good news is that the internet is up and running as normal now without a problem! All the best, Team Blue Parrot x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 302 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I picked this hostel largely due to all the positive reviews it had on here and on the hostelworld site. Blue Parrot is in a great location and the two girls that run it are friendly and sweet. The hostel room was a bit small though, there wasn't much floor space and the bathrooms were also a bit of a squeeze. In the girls dorm bathroom there was also countless bottles of shampoo etc that had clearly been left behind by others who'd moved on, this just took up more of the valuable space! Perhaps the cleaners could clean it once a week and discard the leftover stuff? The outdoor space was really nice and great for socialising, but the kitchen was really tiny and the fridges were super full and not overly clean. On comparison to other hostels this was fine, but not amazing. For all the hype i think it could be a bit better.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Joanna443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hello Joanna443 from Sudan,

Thank you for the review, we’re very happy you enjoyed many aspects of the hostel such as the ‘friendly and sweet’ staff, the outdoor courtyard and great location! With regards to your other feedback - believe it or not - we actually clear out the products in the girl’s bathroom once a week and discard all leftover products. So all the products you saw belonged to girls in your dorm and we cannot throw out people’s belongings. Wishing you happy travels in Australia, Team Blue Parrot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Picked this hostel as it had really good reviews on hostelbookers. It was really social and the people staying there were all really nice.

However it is really small. Not enough room in the kitchens or fridges. Also not enough bathrooms.
2 male staff were pretty miserable most of the time, one decided to clean bathrooms at 9am when everyone wants to use it.

Having stayed in Sydney before there are much better hostels. Women on reception was lovely though.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philallen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear philallen13 from Vietnam,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. Yes, we are a small hostel (only 50 beds) however most people tell us that is part of our charm. As you mention, it is a very social hostel and one of the main reasons for this is that our small size facilitates such a friendly atmosphere.

We’re happy to hear you liked the female staff and we have received very positive reviews for all our staff members recently so we’re sad and surprised to hear you thought the male staff were ‘miserable’. They’re usually very happy chaps! If there was a particular incident that occurred with the male staff please email Effie and I would be happy to address it. Finally yes, the cleaning is done in the morning usually from 7:45am so people can wake up to a fresh and clean hostel! :-) All the best, Effie - Blue Parrot Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've stayed in this hostel for about 6 weeks. This hostel is a great place to stay in Sydney, made some great friends, it's clean and friendly. I've shared some great experiences with the people here. The people who work here are great also.
Definately recommend to stay here and I will definately miss this place and hope to be back again before the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lovely staff in a busy bustling hostel in Kings Cross. The place had come recommended to me and I now know why. It's a young persons hostel really as people enjoy going out quite regularly, its not noisy but there's definitely an atmosphere to the place. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I originally planned to stay just 5 nights at the blue parrot, 14 and a bit weeks later I was sad to be leaving.

Because the hostel is small you meet lots of great people. The staff are super friendly and always willing to help.

There's a great atmosphere in the hostel, whether you want to go out or chill out (in the tv room which has lots and lots of great movies, or in the courtyard having a chat with like minded people).

The location is great, being within walking distance to everything you could want, as well as being a short walk from the opera house. There's a nice park 5 minutes away. Kings Cross station just a short walk up the street and plenty of places to go out and eat and drink.

Without a shadow of a doubt I will be back!

Thanks Sasha, Effie, Becky, Colin, Charly and everyone else that made my stay great!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank BabyBunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I absolutely loved Blue Parrots! Great hostel! The two girls, who own the hostel, are so nice and help you with everything! They really make this place so special. Always have a smile on their face and make you feel welcome. It is very clean, which I really liked. We stayed in a 6 bed room, which was great. Usually I'm not a fan of dorms, but here I didn't mind it. The hostel itself is very small, which makes it very cozy. In the hectic city of Sydney I really liked that.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 149 in Sydney
1,105 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 149 in Sydney
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 149 in Sydney
730 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 149 in Sydney
422 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 149 in Sydney
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers

Address: 87 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $28 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Parrot Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Parrot Backpackers is located in the most cosmopolitan part of inner Sydney City (akin to Soho in London and East Village in NYC) and is only minutes walk from the heart of the city, offering vibrant nightlife, clubbing, trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and all the tourist attractions. A friendly hostel run by sisters Effie and Sasha, known for its social atmosphere and warm welcoming staff where you can easily meet other travellers, especially if you're travelling solo. Guests can relax in the large outdoor courtyard or the indoor lounge area, the perfect places to socialise. Blue Parrot is 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross train station. The City Centre, Royal Botanic Gardens, the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge are less than 20 minutes walk away. To make your travels easier reception can organise exciting day trips to the Blue Mountains, Surfing lessons, Skydiving, Whale watching, Wine tasting and more .... AGE RESTRICTION: Adults only 18-35 years old in dormitory rooms. ___________________________________________________________ PROPERTY FACILITIES: FREE Wi-Fi ! Available in all areas and is free of charge. Close to Train Station - Courtyard - BBQ - Tour desk - Luggage storage - Lounge/TV - DVD - In-house movies - Playstation - Wii - Photocopying/Scan - Computers - Kitchen - Laundry - Non-smoking rooms - Designated smoking area - Airport Shuttle bus (surcharge) Popular with solo travellers! Best price guaranteed! No booking fees! No deposit! Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers Price Range: $39 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Bed) Number of rooms: 8 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing