We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luv Sydney and Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Cross Backpackers
Ranked #37 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Dusslingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luv Sydney and Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was able to rendezvous with my boyfriend who had been travelling in AU while I went to NZ. I found the Kings Cross Backpackers excellent. Like the Rapahoe Bay one in NZ this place had lots of people who were easy to get along with, wanted to have fun and keen to explore the cross, shop down William Street, look around heritage buildings and drink at local cafes. The only negative was that cockroaches scare me a bit, but the place was clean and the owners very friendly and obliging. Given the low cost I think it was very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanje_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    23
    14
    20
See reviews for
Families
0
20
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Listening to the positive reviews on here really sets you up for a fall.

To start with the good points the hostel has a good common area with lots of films to choose from and is in a good location if you like to go out. It is also cheaper than other options.

The hostel is filthy. The cleaners are backpackers who are all hungover so only really seem to do the bare minimum, for example we were in room 4 where a cup of tea had gone mouldy and it hadn't been moved by the time we left, and there was so much clutter in there from longtermers you couldn't see the floor. The bathrooms were poor quality and when the only light bulb in there went out it was never replaced so you had to take a torch to the bathroom as it was pitch black.

Cockroaches were crawling everywhere, and when we raised this to a member of staff she laughed and said 'yeh you get them'. Now I understand this is a hot country and you do get them but this place was filthy so it attracted more than normal and to be honest I have been in plenty of hostels in hot countries that didn't have them crawling around in the kitchen.

I have read on here that the hostel is cliquey, although a hostel can't help the guests that it gets but we tried multiple times to talk to the guests, I think only one responded with a smile, the rest were too busy partying. They also had no respect for anyone who may be asleep, many times we felt like we were intruding on someone else's student house.

This hostel made our first few nights in sydney a misery, we didn't feel like we could go back there as you were made to feel so uncomfortable!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank VickiM1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is very dirty, there were lots of cockroaches both in the dorms and the kitchen. The kitchen was small and it would be difficult to cook at peak times.

At check out we were asked to bring the bed sheets down which meant the staff didn't actually have to go to the rooms and clean it meaning there was a huge build up of rubbish and clutter e.g. There was a jar of masala sauce under my bed along with some old shoes, sunglasses and general rubbish.

The bathrooms were terrible. Two showers, two toilets and one sink on each floor. The two showers had a see through divider giving no privacy.

The worst thing about this hostel is the atmosphere.It is incredibly cliquey and we found it very difficult to talk to people. It seems like the long termers run the hostel, they take over the dinning area when ever they feel like going out making it impossible to cook. At movie night it was discussed between themselves what would be watched. No one seemed interested in meeting new people because they had already formed their group.

All in all, we felt extremely uncomfortable. It felt like we were staying in someone's house uninvited and we were miserable every time we had to go into the hostel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you're backpacking to have fun, this is the place. The people who are staying here all seem to genuinely want to meet people/have a great time in Sydney. And yh, the roof top parties are awesome!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pakyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Got invited to Kings Cross backpackers for a roof top Australia day party. It was an absolute blast as the boys had awesome beats pumping w triple J top 100, an inflatable pool and free BBQ. Great vibe w great people from all over the world! Cheers boys!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ob_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed there for two nights in December. We arrived at the reception at 10am ish and were able to check in straight away which was pretty cool. The room was in a mess but later on there was a lady came in to clean it up. We were given only sheets(no real blankets), so at night we were basically freezing. The bathrooms were terrible (broken taps). The kitchen, dining rooms, lounge rooms were a bit cute. We liked the rooftop it was pretty cool.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pariyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Having just spent a month sleeping in a campervan I was looking forwards to sleeping in a proper bed, however the super squeaky metal bunkbeds in the dorm meant that I could hardly shift a muscle in bed to get comfortable without fear of waking up the entire dorm. The hostel did have many positives however: a clean well laid out communal area, decent kitchen, friendly staff who arranged pub crawls and stuff which as a solo traveller was great and a pretty good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 142 in Sydney
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eva's Backpackers
#21 of 142 in Sydney
236 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#42 of 142 in Sydney
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Cross Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Cross Backpackers

Property: Kings Cross Backpackers
Address: 79 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Backpackers Headquarters Hostel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Cross Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Cross Backpackers is a friendly, modern and fully renovated Sydney Hostel. 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 and female only dorms are available. Warning: Kings cross Backpackers is a super friendly small hostel with all guests becoming great friends. This is not a boring 500 bed hospital/jail hostel which all true travellers learn to hate. Kings Cross Backpackers is quickly becoming the top rated and most social hostel in Sydney. With an almost cult following it is mainly filled with repeat visitors. Unfortunately most guests cry when they leave. All rates include free breakfast, free WIFI, free cable TV, free nights out and access to a beautiful rooftop garden with a panty dropping view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kings Cross Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing