We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst YHA experience of my life”
Review of Glebe Point YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glebe Point YHA
Ranked #32 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Rooms were poorly managed and overbooked so the room I booked and paid for was gone when I arrived and apparently there was no record of it but no problems taking money from my credit card to pay for it a month before, this was never mentioned to me by the employee I spoke to the day before my stay it was only once I arrived. We were then put in dorms instead of a double and only refunded the difference. When my partner checked in that night we had to press the buzzer 4 times until another guest went to find the night porter, who was clearly stoned on the job and kept touching me and didn't understand a word I said to him. People coming in and out of the dorm talking really loudly until 4a.m. and filthy bathrooms, there was a used sanitary napkin left in one of the showers that was there for at least 2 days.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Glebe Point YHA, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hi LovelieM
Thanks for your review of Glebe Point YHA. We take all reviews very seriously and are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at this hostel. The points you have raised have been addressed internally in a review with the staff at the hostel. YHA has been introducing a new computer system this year and unfortunately there have been some hitches but will ultimately lead to better and more efficient services for guests.

As you also were in contact direct with the hostel, we have hopefully now resolved the issues you had during your stay to your satisfaction and we hope it doesn't deter you from staying with YHA again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here with 4 friends in July 2012. This was the first place we stayed in Australia so we didn't know what we'd get for our money. Looking back at our trip to Australia it is clear that if you are travelling in a large group, hostels are terrible value for money. We paid $35 each per night which is Criminal, considering what you get. We stayed in apartments for most of our stay in Oz which were cheaper than this place and had a lot more amenities. By staying in apartments you often get free wifi, washing machine and dryer and a kitchen, so it is very cost effective.
The glebe YHA is pretty run down, the rooms are small and scruffy. The whole place needs a lot of money spent on it to justify the prices they charge. Only stay here if you're on your own or like having soiled boxer shorts in the corridor ( yes that's right someone, left soiled boxer shorts in the corridor). If your in a group, book an apartment. They're a lot more comfortable and cost effective.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Glebe is a great area for chilling out, with lovely cafes and bars offering fab Sunday brunch. The double room was average, extremely warm when it's hot outside. Nice roof terrace with views over the city. You can walk into Sydney or catch the overground metro.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickymakin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Clean, friendly, nice rooms, spacious. One of the best backpackers/hostels in Australia, as there are some dodgy ones, unfortunately.

Glebe is also an interesting location and it is not difficult to get downtown.

Overall a very good choice!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a really nice hostel. It's about a 10-20 minute (depending on rush hour traffic)bus to the city centre, there's a bus stop right outside the hostel. The area is really nice lots of places to eat and good pubs really quiet area which is great if you're working or exploring the city slowly. The staff are really friendly. We stayed in a twin room which had a wardrobe and sink which was great as you can't unpack your clothes in most hostels. There is a big kitchen with 8 hobs and loads of storage space for food, big lounge with film nights and a good friday night BBQ upstairs which is $5 or free if you're staying weekly. The bathrooms are good, the showers are hot and there's room in them to store your clothes without them getting wet. They do get a bit dirty towards the end of the day but that's probably because some guests don't care about the fact that other people need to use the bathrooms too! They get cleaned early in the morning and are spotless then. I don't really have any bad points, the internet is a bit pricey $39 for 7 days but I guess that's because it's Global Gossip, it isn't a reliable internet service either as it did cut out a lot. It's not the cheapest place to stay especially if you have your own room but after staying in a much cheaper hostel I would say you get what you pay for and it is a lot nicer than the cheaper hostels in Sydney! We could have had a 4 bed dorm at the YHA Sydney Central for the price we payed for a double room in Glebe. We stayed here for about 4 weeks and really miss it now!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It's in a suprisingly quiet area in Sydney, very chilled out and relaxed, a short bus ride from the centre of Sydney. With a barbeque on the roof overlooking a large proportion of the city, you feel very relaxed and peaceful with a bottle of beer while cooking some burgers. Down the road is one of the best Pizza places i've ever been, and I've been all around Italy! That was a few years ago so couldn't say what it's like now. The rooms were slightly small though but there was lockers for your bags. If your looking for work, they are extremely helpful with this as there are plenty of jobs available. Oh and the bean bags are immense, they are absolutely massive and you can mong out in them for ages, a true treat. I'd probably go back there just for the bean bags.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Glebe Point YHA in April 2012. It wasn't my first choice but it worked out fine. I had a nice sized twin room with a sink. It was clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom was just down the hall. The hostel is quiet and located in a pretty neighbourhood about 20 minutes from downtown via bus (30-40 minutes during rush hour). There are restaurants, coffee shops and food stores just down the street. The rooftop patio and eating area is great. The kitchen, dining room and tv lounge are fine (clean, well-equipped) but I found their basement location a little dark and depressing. The staff were very friendly and helpful - although one woman who worked at reception screwed up our hostel passes (she didnt charge credit cards accurately which we only discovered after we left) and made a reservation change and booking more complicated and confusing then it needed to be.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
2.1 mi away
Summer House Backpackers
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 150 in Sydney
122 reviews
1 mi away
Mad Monkey Backpackers on Broadway
2.3 mi away
Jackaroo Hostel
Jackaroo Hostel
#30 of 150 in Sydney
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Railway Square YHA
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 150 in Sydney
350 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#31 of 150 in Sydney
358 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zing Backpackers
Zing Backpackers
#38 of 150 in Sydney
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Point YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Point YHA

Address: 262 - 264 Glebe Point Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $26 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glebe Point YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glebe Point YHA is one of Sydney's most relaxed hostels and great for people on a working holiday. Choice of rooms and a lounge/tv room, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), rooftop BBQ area with city views, jobs and car sales noticeboards and tour desk. Glebe is Sydney's Bohemian leafy inner city area, known for its cafes, restaurants and pubs. Vibrant with students and artists alike, minutes from the city centre. Enjoy the village atmosphere while using the hostel as a perfect base to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Glebe Point YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glebe Point Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing