We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't really properly rate!!!!!”
Review of City Resort Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Resort Hostel
Ranked #115 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't really properly rate!!!!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Right at this moment I have my husband with 3 teenagers walking around Sydney without accommodation.
We booked 2 rooms 6 months ago and the guy rang me yesterday to ask if he could put the group into 1 room and I stressed that that wasn’t possible as a man in a room with a girl that isn’t his daughter is not appropriate and we had stressed to her mother that she would not be sharing a room with him. The guy said that was fine.
Then as the group were about to book in today, I got a call to let me know they had only 1 room. They knew that yesterday.
I am so disgusted. Where did they think they were going to go or did they just think they could force us into using the 4 bed room so they could give our rooms to other groups.
So as you can see I cannot rate this hotel on the cleanliness, vibe, or anything else as they didn't even get to use it.
I presume though that people who are happy to cancell accomodation on people at the last minute wouldn't have much regard for much else.
Thankfully but for an extra $800 I was able to find a place for them to stay tonight.
Just remember to keep this in mind when booking at this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLuvsBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    7
    13
    107
See reviews for
10
39
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We didnt stay the whole time as the room did not have what was indicated on the website. It was suppose to be non smoking and people smoking in the corridors, it just smelt. Was not very nice..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom C, Manager at City Resort Hostel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi there, I'm apologise for the unpleasant experience at our hostel.

What were the things that were indicated on our website that weren't provided? If you would like to discuss further please contact me at my person email address: tom@cityresort.com.au. I take your feedback seriously and would love the opportunity to gain new insight.

Regarding the smoke in the corridors, I'm guessing that whoever was smoking on the front porch didn't close the door and the wind blew the smoke into the hostel because if there was someone smoking inside the building the fire alarm would have gone off. I don't smoke myself so I know how annoying the smell of smoke is and I'm sorry it contributed to your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Dungog, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I tried to book into a few other backpackers but as an Australian Citizen they were only for international travellers only, got referred to City Hostel, stayed 2 nights my first time. The staff are really friendly, the long term people staying there are really welcoming, you get invited to join lots of events and activities. Now i stay there once a week, when i'm in town for work, feel comfortable there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

One of the worst hostel I have ever been. In Germany but almost everywhere in Europe the hostels are very good and a low price. This hostel was not only very poor and dirty but was also expensive. And still we stayed two nights because this was having the best price-performance-ratio and it was close to the center of the city.
In Sydney driving is a nightmare and parking cost a lot. At the hostel I could park the rented car for quite a reasonable amount and we could walk in the whole city.
We have rent the only existing room with separate bathroom. It was very dirty, no towels were provided. It had nevertheless a large fridge and water boiler. Free WiFi was also at the reception but the signal was week and they shut down for night. I do not know why?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorant80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here expecting the worst, but it ended up being very reasonable for the price.

The room I stayed in was a single room with two beds. I'd actually ordered a double bed but you could just push them together easily enough.

There were no bugs anywhere in sight, the room and bedding was clean, and all the in-room facilities worked as advertised.

I do have to complain that the WIFI was a no-show, it has a range below that of the weakest access points, which means it's been intentionally turned down to prevent people using it in their rooms. I think a lot of people were banking on the WIFI working, because I counted almost 20 Android WIFI connections open at any given time.

The counter staff were not terribly competent, the first two people I talked to couldn't work the credit card machine so I stayed several nights before actually paying, and I was handed back my key deposit without ever actually paying one (score!) but they were very polite and friendly nonetheless.

Really, it is exactly what it says on the box. If you want to stay at the Hilton, fork out for it. For $55 a night, though, you can't really complain.

Room Tip: The kitchen is used pretty much all hours, so it's a bit noisier there. The main tip is make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Tilba
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Me and my other half stayed for two nights
The most annoy.ing issue we had was parking! We asked where to park and a lady said you can park out the back (this was on the second night we illegally parked the first night!) we parked our car out the back to find later in the night when we wanted to see a movie that our car was boxed in by the managers van! He abused us for not askin to park there (when we clearly did get permission) when we got back from the movie we decided to illegally park again to save the fuss with the angry manager! In the morning we checked out and got told they we wouldn't get our deposit back as we used there parking out the back for both days! This really angered us! We tollirated the smelly rooms, peeling paint and outside bathrooms without complain! We already paid way too much for this rundown place soo them taking our deposit for something we didn't even use just isn't right! IF YOU WANT TO BE TREATED LIKE YOUR NOTHING IN A CRUMMY RUN DOWN PRISSION I WOULD RECOMEND THIS HOSTEL... OTHERWISE JUST DON'T BOTHER

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluroYellowPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at City Resort Hostel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Guest, I sincerely apologise for the unpleasant stay you had with us in particular the parking arrangement. I don't know who abused you about the parking as it certainly wasn't myself and I just spoke to the owner of the building and he was out of town. If you could describe him I can try to narrow it down and speak to the person. If you could email me at tom@cityresort.com.au with your contact details, refund amount and either credit card details or Australian bank account details I will reimburse you.

Sincerely,

Thomas Cho.
City Resort Hostel.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is the only Hotel on Planet, where Rooms with en suite Shower has toilets outside.
Paints peeling off over the bed, no mirror over the sink (for shaving), and lots of other things.
Will take up the issue with my Credit Card company, if I do not receive a prompt response first from Easytobook

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.0 mi away
The Sydney Boulevard Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Sydney Hotel
East Sydney Hotel
#29 of 142 in Sydney
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sydney Star Backpackers
Sydney Star Backpackers
#77 of 142 in Sydney
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer House Backpackers
Summer House Backpackers
#16 of 142 in Sydney
114 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cambridge Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Resort Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Resort Hostel

Property: City Resort Hostel
Address: 103 - 105 Palmer St | Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — City Resort Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Resort Hostel is located away from the noisy streets of Kings Cross and the City but in walking distance to everything you need. We are just 7 minutes walk from the City and 15 minutes walk from the Opera House. City Resort Hostel provides clean, comfortable accommodation at a price you can easily afford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Resort Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sydney
City Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing