We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyde Park Backpackers
Ranked #19 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Im a Japanese guy and staying at this hostel.
The location is very convenient. It is close to from Central Station and Museum Staion.
The kitchen and bathrooms are clean.
The room I am using is also clean and well-furnished.
Free wifi and free linen are available.
The owner is a very kind and friendly men. He sings very well with his guitar.
I am totally satisfied with this hostel.
If you are thinking about staying near Central Station, I strongly reccommend you choose this hostal :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ygy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 140 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We're currently staying at Hyde park backpackers and have been for the past 4 weeks. It's in a great location and everyone staying here are very friendly and welcoming. The utilities within the place are just what yoy need and there is no mad rush for the kitchen or bathrooms, like there would be in a backpackers. If you want cheap accomodation but don't want the hassle of a backpackers then this would be the perfect place for anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyc1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Myself and a friend have been staying at this hostel now for a month and its great. Friendly owner and perfect location to get around Sydney. The rooms are clean and there is a nice shared living area. I would recommend this hostel if you are looking for a place to relax in the evenings after enjoying Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

we are an italian couple we stayed to the hyde park backpackers for 5 days.is a very quiet place in a very good positions close to all the attractions in sydney....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Hi,

i often stay in Hyde park when i am in Sydney for work. Each time i have returned to HPB due to the good price, central location, quiet and comfortable lodgings and most notably the lack of loud drunken residents with little or no consideration for others which you would normally attach to budget Accomodation.

I have taken the time to get to know the owner and have found him to be a true gentleman and very accomadating who has gone out of his way to assist me and all others i have had the pleasure of meeting on my visits, he goes to great lengths to ensure guests are able to enjoy the property and ammenities provided and that the noiser Residents do not ruin the stay of other.

Reading some reviews i can imagine that this policy has upset some which can only explain why such nasty and unwarranted comments fill this board, i have no problem what so ever in recommending hyde to anyone and more than happy to provide details to validate. My parents are to visit in April and it is here i will be booking a place for their trip to Sydney.

Travelling Scotsman.

Room Tip: i have stayed in both double and single and would recommend both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This hostel is a great location, 5 minutes walk from central station. The owner is very welcoming and will entertain you by singing songs! I am staying in a double room with ensuite - it is clean and comfortable with a fridge, wifi internet, tv and dvd player. I would recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hostel is in the heart of Sydney and is next to central station and hyde park. You can reach everything very fast and a bus station is in front of the house.
We stayed in a double room and the price is reasonable.
The owner is a funny guy and managed everything on his own so you can't find a reception but if you need something you find him in the house and if not you can give him a call.
The place has some bathrooms, kitchen, lounge and laundry. So everything you need.
You have free wi-fi and normally it's very quiet and so it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Meriton Suites
#8 of 180 in Sydney
5,644 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 180 in Sydney
2,489 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#77 of 180 in Sydney
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,398 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 143 in Sydney
416 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Backpackers

Address: 90 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $27 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyde Park Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing