We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hostel! Even if its cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westend Backpackers
Ranked #108 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Do not stay at this hostel! Even if its cheap!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Cleanliness.. The drain in the shower was always clogged even after cleaners had been. Dead bugs were found on my bed and staff reassured me this wasnt a bed bug. However, I was later bitten. There was a dead cockroach on the stairs to the storage room. The tea towels in the kitchen were ALWAYS smelly and dirty.

Staff.. They were all nice and social. Staff did look at my bed, and said my bites werent bed bugs as the bites werent in rows. However, I later got bitten in rows. And all bites I think are likely to be bed bugs. However, after serveral complaints and bites I was moved to a different room, and given laundry money.

Security.. Security was always good at the front of the hostel. However, my cheese/bread/food in the fridge was stolen, and so was the food of many others.

Facilities.. Some of the cookers didnt work, which made cooking at peak time a nightmare.

Very cheap... however for reasons above I will not be going to a Nomads again. I would not reccommend, and I would advise any traveller to find alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaC112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    51
    51
    85
    206
See reviews for
22
67
162
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The best bit about this hostel is the location. Right in the middle of the main city so can't complain there. The family room is small and expensive for what it is but i suppose its the location you pay for. The staff were friendly but I feel they could have been more knowledgable about the local area. Good lounge and kitchen area but could of done with more kitchen equipment. Overall pretty happy with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam B, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi,

Great to hear from you and thank you for your comments.
Many of our staff members are new at present however they are all currently learning as much as they can re our beautiful Sydney.

We look forward to you returning soon

Kind Regards
The Nomads Westend Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've done a lot of travel in different places in the world and have a fair bit of experience with hostel. This one was not the best I stayed at. The room were too small for the amount of bed they had. We barely had space for our backpack. The bathroom was also fairly small and not the cleanest. I killed a few bug in there. Plus we had some issue with the bathroom door. one morning we needed 2 people to open and close the door to the bathroom one on each side of the sliding door. The location is great you can walk everywhere in sydney from there and that is why I picked that hostel in the first place. There is definitely some improvement to be done on the cleanliness and comfort in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I do frequent (once every couple months) trips to Sydney central, and being el-cheapo when it comes to backpacking I have learned to tolerate all manner of things (rooms that smell like feet, cockroaches etc.) just so I don't have to pay $150+ a night for a double room.

So imagine my surprise when I come across a room in the middle of the city that is clean, with a clean bathroom, that doesn't let all the traffic/drunk people noise come through the walls, and two-thirds of the price that I would normally pay for a cockroach infested hole!

I will definitely recommend the double room for those of you who are on a tight budget. The room is no-frills, but much, much better than other cheap accommodation in the area (and I've stayed in many of them!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at a lot of different hostels in Australia while backpacking and this was by far the worst! Me and my boyfriend stayed in a 6-bed dorm one night, and ended up sharing it with 8 guys that were sharing 4 beds by sleeping in shifts. The door to the toilet didn't work-you couldn't close it at all, the linen was already slept in, the room had no space at all and it smelled horrible. Don't stay here unless you have no other option, I would have preferred sleeping at Mc Donald's...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over new year for a few nights as it was one of the cheapest places in Sydney for the time of year. I was a bit unsure what I was letting myself in for after reading some of the reviews but it was really not that bad!

The hostel is located right in the centre of Sydney and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Yes, the lift is very slow but there are also stairs!

We stayed in a private double with en-suite which was cleaner than I had anticipated although could have done with new mattresses, sheets and carpets as the whole room just looked well worn!

We didn't use the kitchen but it looked ok. There were plenty of fridges to store coolbags although they were pretty full!

If I needed cheap accommodation in the centre of Sydney I would probably go back to Westend Backpackers as I am sure there are much worse hostels around the area. I will say though, if you don't mind spending an extra $50 per night, stay somewhere nicer!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Dirty, loud horrible hostel legs got bitten by bed bugs as the sheets had not been cleaned we stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm with ensuite and the door to the toilet completely came off so that you couldn't use the shower or toilet in private. Reception staff were useless and one night some random slept in the bed I had paid for and when I asked reception why this was they said that someone must have been in there when they shouldn't have been and that was all they said on the matter and didn't offer a resolve. There are far better hostels in sydney don't stay in this one it's scummy

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Maze Backpackers
#24 of 139 in Sydney
681 reviews
790 on George
#48 of 139 in Sydney
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Home Backpackers
Home Backpackers
#40 of 139 in Sydney
228 reviews
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#21 of 139 in Sydney
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Backpackers

Property: Westend Backpackers
Address: 412 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Westend Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westend Backpackers is located right in the center of the CBD, just a stone throw from Central Station and right in the hub of Sydney's' best restaurants, shops and Bars . We're also only a 15min walk from the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge! Our aim at Westend Backpackers is for you to have a brilliant time and to leave with a smile on your face and a bounce in your step. We have dorms of all sizes ranging from private rooms to our infamous 32 bed dorm "The Church", as well as excellent facilities and legendary staff whose job it is to ensure you have a wonderful time. We focus on providing you with more than just a bed with daily and nightly activities organised for you. There's never a dull moment during your time here , whether it's partying VIP style with us at multiple bars or enjoying a chilled movie night whilst stuffing your face with free popcorn in our tv lounge, there's only one thing you won't want to do while staying at Westend, and that's leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Westend Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing