We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, cheap, central”

City Central Budget Accommodation
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Central Budget Accommodation
Ranked #83 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there one night, $25 for a 4p dorm room and so close to central st is cheap for me. Staff was friendly, free wifi in the small but cosy kitchen. Room not too big but equipped with tv, mirror, and a small fridge. Could use some more bathrooms, but all in all seemed like a nice and cosy hostel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank AnnaRode0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for City Central Budget Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

No air conditioning and my room was sooo hot & smelly all the day. It was not clean, of course I saw cockroaches. There were only 1 bathroom and 1 small toilet in this backpackers. People used to sit down on the stairs because there were only 6 chairs in common area. Internet was free but couldn't use in my room. No lift and all rooms are in upstairs.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

It's a small hostel, good location near central station and a lot of markets round the corner. You get free wifi and a free shuttle bus from the airport. If the shuttle bus is too busy, they give you the money for the train ticket (which is about 16 dollars!!!)
The kitchen is way too small and the rooms are very very hot and noisy from the street and surroundings. And only 2 showers (both with toilet) and 2 single toilets. No washing machine but a laundry service (about 8 dollars).
Because the kitchen is so small, you have a fridge in every room.
TV in every room but not a good signal quality.
Everything is very clean but a few small bugs are in the rooms. Not too bad...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InesGermany1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stay at the City Central Backpackers every time I go to Sydney. The first time I stayed there, friends stayed in the dorm rooms across the road and had a less than ideal experience (the lift smelled, not clean and so on). However, a friend and I stayed in the private rooms and were very pleased.

We were even more pleased on our recent trip to Sydney to find out that due to having closed their dorm building, they have been able to refurbish the 'nicer' building. The floors had been redone, there were new beds and mattresses in every room and it was just generally nicer. The staff were also more friendly.

The bathrooms leave a little to be desired, but you have to remember this is a backpackers, with shared bathrooms, and what you get is fantastic for the price.

The location is also great, only a few blocks from Central station, and located just a few minute walk from a shopping centre.

The backpackers also has free wifi and computers for use with free internet. There is a well equipped kitchen facility.

If you're after budget accommodation in Sydney then you can't go past this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Oh the experience I had here! Admittidly I have only stayed at about 3 hostels but wow, this place was disgusting. The place was more like a prison than a place to stay, it was filthy, stunk, there were cockroaches, no air conditioning meaning sleep was hot and mostly non-exsistant, even the toilet door was missing meaning you had to close the whole bathroom! It seemed to get a quick mop each day and that was it, hair balls in the corner, dead bugs on the floor. Seriously, I would not reccomend staying there!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trinabeans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knabberonii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#100 of 178 in Sydney
990 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#52 of 178 in Sydney
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
790 on George
#52 of 143 in Sydney
205 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 143 in Sydney
702 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Budget Accommodation

Address: 707 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $16 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing