We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Goulburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

Booked room on a wotif 5 star mystery deal. We were upgraded to a corner room on arrival. Checkin & checkout was very efficient. Room had views of the city and distant harbour views. Bed was very comfortable and room was exceptionally quiet. Location central and an easy walk to shopping, QVB, Circular Quay & The Rocks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissap333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,991
    2,706
    762
    210
    102
See reviews for
1,233
3,257
404
1,971
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed at Amora recently due to its very high rating (almost too high) on Tripadvisor. I honestly believe my stay at the old converted Sheraton could have been a lot better. For a five star hotel, the rooms seemed cramped and were very dated. The furnishings didn't match and there were holes in some of the curtains. The bathroom was very small with old thick towel rails which did nothing to the space. The marble was pink and seemed very dated, though clean. I had read in other reviews that newspapers were charged so I was too afraid to ask for one. Overall, I have stayed at both Crown Towers and Promenade (round the corner from the Amora) and Park Hyatt and they are definately superior. Do not be swayed by the #1 rating!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cboping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

We booked 2 nights via wotif.com with their mystery hotel deals and lucked out with the Jamison. The room was clean and comfy with all the amenities we could need and a huge comfy bed. The staff we're very friendly and attentive which considering we were paying below rack rate and booked on the net is a great sign of a quality hotel. The location in great for access to the Rocks and Circular Quay and the Sydney CBD plus it's a stones throw from Wynyard station for people wanting to use public transport. What a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

I spent a night at the Jamison as a "mystery hotel" deal on wotif.com which meant I paid a little less - about $70.00 less - than the standard rates. I'm glad I didn't pay the full rate (but I don't usually stay at corporate style hotels anyway and a hotel room over $250 has to offer something very special).

The hotel is very well located in the Sydney CBD, near Wynyard station, Circular Quay and shops. Staff were friendly and very helpful. I didn't use the restaurant or the public areas such as the bar or swimming pool so can only comment on the room. My room had a glimpse of the harbour, the bed was supremely comfortable, nice deco style bathroom. The decor of the room was a little odd, perhaps a slight nod to the deco era (1930s), it had a curious cupboard arrangement with lots of different compartments, not a bad idea but the exterior was clunky and awkward looking. The grey/green walls gave the room a rather cool institutional feel - I'm not sure but there was something not quite right with the interior design elements of the room. Other rooms are decorated differently by the looks of the hotel website. I may be a little fussy about this sort of thing, but it does make a difference.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

At first was put off by the negative reviews of this hotel. Purchased via a web deal and was pleasantly surprised. Good location, close to public transport and trains. The room was clean, a bit tired, lacked an LCD tv but we were on a break and didn,t use it often. The bed was very comfortable. Service was great. All up pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quietboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Amora was a lovely hotel which offered valet parking for $48/night or self parking for $38/night. Worked out expensive when staying for a few nights. The carpark not the easist to access either. If they did a parking/accomm package it would be better value. The room was wheelchair accessible with not much room to move. The door was hard to open especially if in a manual wheelchair. Trying to keep it open whilst getting through it, proved to be quite a challenge for my fiance, as it was very heavy. The toilet also needed to be lower to be user friendly when in a shower chair. The bed was a comfy king size and there was a pillow menu for you to order your desired pillows. Had a great sleep whilst there. The only thing was the location. At the top of a hill so hard work for manual wheelchair users!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeeeeeeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is the hotel my company uses for Sydney and it is a great hotel for both work and holiday. Food is great. Rooms are great. Service is excelent. If i was to be picky, the angle of the old tube television from the bed is not great. A nice new LCD mounted to the wall in front of the bed would be much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodenSpoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,286 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing