We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed and hardly a 5 star hotel............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Mssunshine12
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very disappointed and hardly a 5 star hotel............”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Me and my partner decided to treat ourselves to a special Christmas break at this so-called '5 star' hotel. Unfortunately, our experience was less than '5 star' and we didn't even make it through one night before we checked out.

The room itself was fairly sizeable but felt tired and lacked any real 'wow factor'. However, the bathroom was decent enough with an impressively deep bath. As we explored the rest of the room, we discovered a small, dated tv hidden inside a bulky wardrobe unit to the side of the bed. This meant if we wanted to watch it, we'd have to crook our necks to the side. As we were there for the whole weekend, it wasn't something we wanted to put up with. For a 5 star hotel, we expected a modern tv to be sensibly positioned toward the front of the bed! Not too much to ask really?

We went to reception and raised the issue with one of the staff who informed us that all of the rooms were set up this way and the only alternative was a disabled room. We checked this out but it was hardly an improvement plus it felt too clinical and very cold.

Subsequently the staff offered us a 1 bed suite but were told that we could only have it if we paid an upgrade fee of an extra $70 per night - on top of what we were paying already! An extra $70 just to have a decent tv in front of a bed????? We didn't think we were asking too much but they would not waive the upgrade fee and only offered to decrease the fee to $50 per night. We certainly didn't think it was worth the hassle and the extra fee. That was the best they can do apparently.........

As this was a special weekend for us both and we had high expectations for this '5-star- hotel we decided to check out and check into the Hilton which was down the road. If you can, do go to the Hilton as the service was amazing there! We got a free upgrade to a deluxe room as soon as we walked in and not to mention they have an LCD tv positioned in front of the bed. Result!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mssunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,000
    2,710
    763
    210
    103
See reviews for
1,236
3,264
404
1,974
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

While this hotel had some commendable facilities I would never classify it as five star. The television inside a cupboard (with one door broken) is an old Box Style Television straight from the nineties. The bed was rickety and very soft.....NOT recommended for honeymooners! A large bath located in a very nice upgraded bathroom was the redeeming feature. Overall the hotel was good for the price we paid from an online booking facility but many travellers would be disappointed if they booked expecting their rooms to be the standard of a true five star hotel. The lobby is lovely, the corridors quite nice and the location is fine, between Circular Quay/TheRocks/major shopping precinct. If we'd paid the ädvertised "Rack rate" we would have been demanding our money back but if you can secure a room sub $200 AUD it's probably a fair price for the standard of their basic rooms

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TW_Yachtgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

My fiance and I stayed on the 29th floor, December 18th and the entire building lost power. That's right- we had to climb 29 flights of stairs to get to our room/belongings/passports/etc. In addition, they don't have a back of generator, so after 4 hours with out any power there were NO LIGHTS IN THE EMERGENCY STAIRWELL. What on earth would they have done if there was a fire???!?! They placed glow sticks in the stairwells for lighting... We helped this poor elderly couple in their 70's trying to catch a plane carry their 4 bags down 15 flights of stairs....

To top it all off- they offered us NOTHING for compensation. Their response was "it's not our fault, other buildings lost power too". We had planned to stay 4 other nights there but quickly canceled our reservations and stayed at the Intercontinental (a lovely hotel with awesome customer service AND electricity).

p.s. They also screwed up our cancelation and charged us for the nights we had previously booked even though we checked out- we are now working with Amex to correct that... There is nothing good about this place- room views are blocked by other buildings, the rooms need to be updated, and the WORST customer serivce I have ever experienced. I can't tell you enough what a horrible experience it was.

STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveNTraveling0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Seaman, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, December 29, 2009
Dear LoveNTraveling0601

Thank you for your feedback and our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by the unfortunate events on the 19th of December, which were unfortunately beyond our control.

Rest assured that at all times the hotels fire safety systems were operational and additional patrols scheduled throughout the period of the outage.

We have endeavoured to contact and speak with all guests affected by this incident and apologise not to have reached you to date. Please feel free to contact the hotel via res@sydney.amorahotels.com.au to discuss compensation options.

Once again, our sincere apologies and I trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Sincerely

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

The service at the Jamison in Sydney was amazing. When we arrived, there was a blackout, but the staff were very accommodating and gave out free juice and water. We were given access to our room pretty much as soon as the system had rebooted. I asked for a VCR and guest services arranged for one to be set up in our hotel room free of charge. We were very impressed. However, for some reason we couldn't adjust the volume of our video. The hotel organised for some technicians to try and fix it, and when they couldn't, gave us a complimentary upgrade.

Although the televisions are a little old (not flatscreen), my partner and I thought the service and cleanliness more than made up for it.

We also tried out the pool and spa. It was lovely! The Jamison is also located in a very convenient location, it's pretty much right next to Wynyard station.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrieRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donzdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

A great hotel very close to The Rocks (Old Town), Circular Quay (ferries around the harbour) and the main shopping area in Pitt and George Street. Service was good, rooms large and well furnished.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ukgreytop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

The rooms were certainly 5-star quality with beautiful beds, a soaker tub, and the coolest closet/drawer system I've ever seen (there were tons of drawers that hid things you didn't expect, like the mini-bar, plates/glasses, the ironing board, and finally the closet that lit up when you opened it - very clever design!). There was even a "choose your own pillow" system where you could call the front desk and have a pillow delivered to your room that matched your preferred firmness. The lights in the bathroom were are little weird because they were slow to turn on/off, so I kept having to press them numerous times to get the desired outcome. The staff was awesome, particularly the concierge and doormen. Very helpful and very friendly. Fantastic location to all the sights, but off the typical tourist track of hotels. Very close to the Rocks and Opera house.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimen_hao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights on returning from a cruise, the room was spacious, we had a corner room on the 24th floor. We arrived at 9 am from the ship and the room was ready. The room was very clean with all amenties , tea, coffee, kettle, toaster not sure what they expected us to do with that as they was no knife or plates anyway we did not use the toaster.

The breakfast was not included in our rate so we went to the food court below and had a full monty for 8 Aus dollars. This was not open at the weekend but there are plent of cafes round circular Quay which is 5 minutes walk away.
Excellent location 10 minutes to opera House, 5 minutes to the Rocks( lots of places to eat and drink here) and 10 minutes walk to the main shopping areas of George street.
We used the buses and trains and the Concierge was very helpful on numerous occasions.
Great place to stay

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,294 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,152 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing