We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wanderful honey moon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel is very close to all the attractives place in Sydney. We where in honey moon and it was a wanderful and relaxing place to stay near down town. The swimming pool was nice, but the sauna too small. The breakfast was plenty of choices and the services very smart. All the staff very pretty in particular the concierger, but I don't remember the name

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delfina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,402 - 8,408 of 8,827 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

This was a great hotel in the heart of the CBD, within walking distance of the Rocks (5 mins), Circular Quay (10 mins) and shopping arcades on George Street (15 mins).

The hotel came as a pleasant surprise with attentive and efficient staff, very clean with a cozy spa facility and filling breakfast buffet.

Highly recommended

...plus, check out the Japanese restaurant 1 block from the hotel on Jamison Street. Good value plus they also offer take aways

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newbury2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Booked a twin room and arrived early. They let us crash in a king room until ours was ready. They apparently spelled my name wrong on the luggage and couldn't seem to find it when our room was ready. It didn't take that long to find, but the manager said he felt so bad he'd give us access to the club lounge for the five nights. The lounge was great with a decent breakfast, evening selections and drinks. That gesture saved us a ton of money in restaurant costs.

The room was fairly large with large windows at the end of a hallway on the 18th floor. It was very quiet all the time. Didn't notice traffic noise at all. Nice large bathroom. Comfortable beds.

I thought housekeeping was great. Never seemed intrusive and always efficient.

We used the pool and hot tub several times in the evenings after walking a lot during the day. Never anyone else there and the pool area is very nice, near the spa.

I really can't think of anything about the hotel to complain about. It's location is great. Very close to Wynyard Station.

We'd like to especially thank Goy for being so helpful and friendly in the lounge every day. She would ask us how our day had gone and if there was anything at all she could get for us.

Nothing could have beat how nice this hotel was especially knowing we had only paid $136 US / day through Expedia.

I'm thinking my luck with hotels lately has a lot to do with the research I've done using TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcmorse6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Stayed here for one night off a 'wot if 5 star mystery hotel'. The amora jamieson was very nice, however, i wouldnt go as far to say it was 5 stars. The location is right in the heart of sydney and the staff upgraded us to a corner room which was quite nice and spacey. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and large aswell.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chodoboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We arrived late at night for a 4 night stay, as our flight into Sydney had been delayed. We had booked a corner king room, but were only given a standard room.

The staff in general were good, but at checkout, the hotel tried to charge us for minibar usage - which was incorrect.

Our room was on the 14th Floor and had partial views of the harbour. Even on this floor, we found that the traffic noise was still noticeable.

The room itself was excellent, and the bed was very comfortable.

Despite the minor issues, we enjoyed the time we spent in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NXF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Just got back from sydney stayed at Amora for 4 nights. quick and easy check in and check out. Reception staff were friendly but nothing special. Door people were very friendly always opening doors and asking if we needed a cab or anything while leaving the hotel each time. Great location! Circular quay, darling harbour and CBD all within walking distance which was awesome. Room service was excellent, with good menu options. Gym facilites and pool and spa pool were excellent. Also had a facial at the spa there which was superb.
Think we stayed in a king Room this was great as well as the bathroom being huge! Bit disappointed with the tv in the room, quite small and in an awkward position. It was on the right side on the end of the bed but up high. You could change the angle but would of been nice if it was a flat screen hanging on the wall in fromt of the bed which we had at out previous 4 star hotel.
Nothing to complain about though, had a great stay and would defintaley go back again!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aishal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Amora is in a fabulous location - if you want to explore Sydney.
We were told the car park was full and we would have to pay for valet parking if we wanted to park there - given we were in the middle of Sydney we had little choice.

Reception staff were excellent and friendly. We were offered breakfast vouchers at 20% off which we took.
Went to the room, it looked great, unfortunately it smelt very badly of cigarettes. Having had a similar experience recently we couldn't be bothered to complain - we were pushed for time anyway, so we decided to put up with it.
Although the room was very nice, the smell wrecked it. After we'd been in there for a while we didn't notice the smell too much, but everytime we went back in it hit us.
The following day when we woke up we realised the damage - the bedding and everything else smelt so badly I was physically sick! So much for the cheap breakfast vouchers.My husband assured me the breakfast was great.
I filled in the complaints card with my comments and received a phone call telling me that I had been booked into a smoking room at my request. NO WAY! Somebody somewhere along the lines had stuffed up, I would rather sleep under a bridge than knowingly book a smoking room!!! I felt I had been fobbed off with the phone call - basically it was " tough, it's your fault" So, much as I liked the hotel, I'm not sure I would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FussyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
6,005 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $134 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing