We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pot luck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have been to the Amora on many occasions, and it is rare to not have an issue. From non functioning air conditioning, noise from air con ducts on the top floor, issues with cards in the elevators or check in. Some rooms have a great view, many have a view directly into offices. The bathrooms are great and the beds very comfortable. Great to have free wi-fi too.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over darling harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dclancy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,697)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,113 - 7,119 of 8,697 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

They self rate 5 stars,really. Closer to very low 3star.
On arrival first room had following problems: filthy and worn carpet,peeling veneer on the night stand,paint on the cloth lined headboard,bottom of head board rotted out.bathroom tiles not very clean.tv cabinet water stained.
Went down to reception and requested another room. After a few minutes they
Second room not much better.carpet stained,worn and cigaret burns,sink was stopped up.
3rd room much better.
Duty manager was helpful.
This hotel opened for the Sydney Olympics 2000 still has original carpet, badly needed refurbishment.Don't take a chance on getting a decent room,go some where else.Very poor value for money
only reason gave it 3 stars was because of the helpful duty manager Karen.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NewZealandWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear NewZealandandWino,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest survey regarding your experience at the Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney. It is through such feedback that we can isolate issues and areas in need of attention.

However, I was disappointed to learn that you found the room to be old and dated. I would like to inform you that the hotel has started the refurbishment of its guest room and by mid-August we will have our first phase of brand new product ready for our guests. Should you wish to discuss the matter further please contact me at fom@sydney.amorahotels.com

On behalf of our entire team here at the Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, we thank you for your support and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Front Office Manager
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location for a 2 night stay before heading onto Gosford. Location! Location! Location! Attentive service, spacious clean facilities and scrumptious breakfast. Definitely recommended and a bargain of you can get it via Last Minute.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HolidayDraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Been staying at this place every time I am up in Sydney for business for the past couple of years. Great location, value and service! Quick check in and check out and staff are always friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GoMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The rooms furniture was worn out, the chair had stains and the cupboard housed a small TV that was way too high to be able to comfortably watch.
The window was so dirty that when the morning sun hit it you couldn't look out.
We also ordered news papers which didn't arrive.
The parking is very expensive!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniellesydney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great location in the heart of Sydney. The upgrade at check in was a nice surprise! Excellent service, quiet room, friendly staff and beautiful facilities made our stay extra special. Definitely recommended and deserves its 5 star rating. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank johnnrosemary_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good stay. Was only there for the bed and a shower. Good rooms, great location. Very reccomended, but cant speak for the food as I didnt eat anything. Friendly staff at the counter and entrances. I always like that for the qwearly traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,931 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $173 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing